PDA

View Full Version : Mast Height Solution

CapnScurvy
03-09-08, 01:08 PM
Several days ago I submitted a question regarding the Add-On as to whether it addressed the problem of correct mast height (Let's Butt Heads with an Add-On (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=132050)). As I suspected, it does not. I’m usually not one to criticize WITHOUT giving an alternative solution, so here is mine. It took me a couple of days to run my tests on all stock Japanese warships and most merchants, plus a couple of U.S. warships, 61 ship classes in all.

My tests have to include various ship positions (AoB) because the game does not calculate AoB within the Position Keeper to give correct adjusted range. I’m not an expert on the U.S. sub equipment of the day, but this would be a good question for the Devs. Why doesn’t the Position Keeper (PK) recalculate a ships range when it’s at different angles to the sub? For instance, at 1500 yards distance (center to center), the carrier Taiyo has a found range of 1482y at 90 degree AoB. At 25 degree AoB it shows a range of 1430y, about 50 yards difference. Besides setting the Gyro angles for the torpedos, why shouldn’t the PK adjust range to the same centered figure the sonar or the computer found range give you? This isn’t my real subject topic for this thread, but I will point out that’s why I have the manual “Ship Centered, Accuracy Fix” (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=126016) modification to refocus a range estimate to the center of a ship, not out at the masts that are rarely centered.

To provide greater accuracy of manual range finding using the masts, an average had

Rockin Robbins
03-09-08, 08:38 PM