PDA

View Full Version : That Sonar Guyand other pressing Q

snwcrsh
01-16-08, 09:24 AM
Hi all!

As you can see, I'm new here. And from what I've read (I skimmed through the first pages of this forum) it seems to be a nice community (not that this should surprise in a forum about a simulation as deep as SH3).

As for why I post, although I'm rather new to SH3 I read quite a lot already and will continue to do so. However there are some things I don't quite understand and maybe one of you guys can help.

Yes, that sonar guy, what's up with him. There is that third option for him (apart from "normal sweep" and "closest target") which is not titled and the SO dude doesnt reply on it either. Is this implemented?

Then I use SetKeys because I really like to use hotkeys for thinks like "Bear to Heading" or "Get Depth under Keel". However, I szumbled over other functions like order the Sonar Guy to perform a ping. Well, the command works but the sonar guy always says there is no target selected. no matter whether there is one selected in the periscope or he has one on the hydrophone.

Speaking of targets, what influences whether the type of ship is displayed in the hydrophone view, I couldnt quite figure it out. Sometimes it says "mercheant", sometimes it says "unknown" and sometimes the sonar guy doesnt seem to hear anything at all (no target displayed) even though i can clearly hear it...

And lastly... I'm slowly rising the realism level, the next step would be to disable that god's eye map. However, a question here: I notice that with the map, the ships are displayed once you are in PD and actually see the ship(s). Naturally. But at the same time the bearing lines from the sonar disappear. Why? It's useful even though you have the ships on the map because you can read the bearing immediately (with these overlay tools for the nav map).

The question here is: Will that happen in "No God's Eye" mode as well?