PDA

View Full Version : Absolutely absurd

5blade
05-09-07, 11:24 PM
I’m new to this sim but not to ship’s of WW2. I have NEVER even heard of any Japanese ship capable of making a consistent 38 Knot speed after sustaining two torpedo hits along with more than 15 deck gun hits. It was a destroyer for crying out loud!!! I AM NOT IMPRESSED with the level of “realism”. What is going on with this “simulation”? Also, what class of US Sub has EVER had TWO deck guns? After SH3 this one leaves MUCH to be desired. But really guys, this is ridiculous. BTW, I'm using the unmolested version of the game.

Off my soap box now. The graphics are VERY good, especially the night sea passages (brings back good memories).

Rick Martin
05-09-07, 11:34 PM
For 5blade: I agree there's some tweaking to be done. I made some comments earlier about SH4 gameplay but there are some fixes. As far as US subs with 2 deckguns. I believe US sub skippers were allowed more latitude than in most other navies. Seems there is a book out titled US Submarines in Action and another by the same people (Squadron/Signal publications) titled GATO submarines in action and in one of those I think I read that one or two skippers may have had another deckgun installed. I do know that the fleet boats were built so that a deckgun could be mounted fore or aft. Might be wrong about the 2 guns but I know they weren't built with 2 guns

U-Bones
05-09-07, 11:43 PM
I’m new to this sim but not to ship’s of WW2. I have NEVER even heard of any Japanese ship capable of making a consistent 38 Knot speed after sustaining two torpedo hits along with more than 15 deck gun hits. It was a destroyer for crying out loud!!! I AM NOT IMPRESSED with the level of “realism”. What is going on with this “simulation”? Also, what class of US Sub has EVER had TWO deck guns? After SH3 this one leaves MUCH to be desired. But really guys, this is ridiculous. BTW, I'm using the unmolested version of the game.