PDA

View Full Version : SH4 Won't Run!!

btg
05-02-07, 09:35 PM
I'm a newbie and ussually don't post as my questions are normally addressed in threads or figure them out on my own; however, experiencing following problem and no dice as far as solutions:

Ran clean install of SH4 and then installed patch v1.2. Game installed flawlessly. Problem is when I click the "Play" icon, nothing happens, disc drive running and apparently data being read, but nothing happens...no crash, no blue screen, no error message just a brief slight "flicker" of screen (barely noticeable) and then...nothing. I know SH4 may not be compatible with some disc drives, but don't think this is the problem. I have installed the game 2X already and experiencing same thing. A bit confused considering game apparently developed for Vista.

Forum is great and I appreciate any help/advice you can offer (besides contacting Ubisoft which is next option). Computer specs below for reference:

MB: Nforce 570SLI
CU: Intel Dual Core E6600 (2.4ghz)
Graphics: BFG 7950 GT/OC (512mb)
RAM: 4gb (4X1gb Corsair DDR2 sticks)
CD/DVD Drive: 16X/48X LiteOn DVD-Rom
(All drivers are up-to-date)

Thanks In Advance,
Brandon

Onkel Neal
05-02-07, 10:07 PM
Did you install the version of DX that game with the game, when prompted...?

Zantham
05-03-07, 11:09 AM
And does your mouse pointer change into a spinning CD for a few seconds?

FIREWALL
05-03-07, 11:16 AM
Try turning off your Norton or whatever you use. Besides the game runs better with background programs turned off anyways.

Remember to turn it back on after playing.

Bane
05-03-07, 11:38 AM
This happened to me once. I ended the process (sh4.exe) with Task Manager (ctrl+alt+del) and then tried running it again. It worked fine the second time.

7Enigma
05-03-07, 11:46 AM