PDA

View Full Version : Crash Depth Unrealistic?

Elphaba
04-13-07, 01:37 PM
Hi

I was on a Balao and I took her down to 450, and motored around at Flank speed, picked up a few leaks but nothing bad happened...

Went back to Periscope depth and back down again, and still nothing.

Shouldn't I have imploded way before then?

Tried it on a Porpoise too and it was exacly the same!

I'm a total noob, and I'm just about getting to grips with Silent Hunter 3 with GWX installed, and I did say that I'd sworn off SHIV until it was bug fixed, but heck, I never realised it was THIS bad. :(

Elphaba

squigian
04-13-07, 01:42 PM
Is that 450ft or 450m? Because a Balao could certainly go 450ft down; a Porpoise, however, should not be able to.

joea
04-13-07, 02:00 PM
Yup me thinks the OP confused metres and feet.

Elphaba
04-13-07, 02:03 PM
Hi again

Erm, I need to check, but I THINK it's imperial - so feet.

However, the 450 that I went to is the MAXIMUM that I could select on the dial - I couldn't go any lower if I wanted to... does that sound like feet then or meters?

Sorry about the confusion.

Elphaba

SKurj
04-13-07, 02:14 PM
I got to a little over 400ft in a porpoise, but never was able to surface, she imploded a few seconds after I gave the order to surface.

450ft... about 150yrds not really all that deep.

btaft
04-13-07, 03:54 PM
Just out of curiosity, are the depth ratings published for the different classes or are we just supposed to take out chances. I didn't see them listed anywhere

Sailor Steve
04-13-07, 04:37 PM
450ft... about 150yrds
Pretty close, almost kinda maybe.

CCIP
04-13-07, 05:43 PM
The max gauge doesn't mean max depth.

In a post-war accident, the Balao class USS chopper survived a dive to 1011 feet. Certainly an extreme that you shouldn't experience in game, but Balaos - as indeed most subs - should be capable of exceeding 1.5x their test depth. U-boats frequently exceeded their test depths (which were equivalent to US boats) by over twice.