PDA

View Full Version : Bad flight modeling for attacking aircraft

nattydread
03-27-07, 09:28 PM
I assume the maneuvers are modeled to imitate the flight paths of birds in game in order to help us confuse an attacking plane for a bird...but the abrupt manuevers, pull ups at such slow speeds is really inaccurate.

I'd like to see aircraft behavior less arcadish and more realistic...it espeically bugs me since Im a pilot and I see planes doing stuff that deadly enough to preclude the need for me to shoot at them...they gonna kill kill themselves.

The attack runs should be longer and climb to higher altitudes beofre they turn back for another pass. These are planes, not acrobatic kites.

Takao
03-27-07, 09:33 PM
It looks to me like its the same flight model from SHIII. Boy, I didn't think the Sunderlands and B-24s were that aerobatic. I have seen the Mavis doing aerobatics only the Zeros could do.

nattydread
03-27-07, 10:00 PM
yeah, it is most immersion destroying feature for me in game...but thats just me I guess

bunkerratt
03-27-07, 10:31 PM
ahhh..you mean the hk8 doing extra 300 moves...lmao..yeah it sucks...

Takao
03-27-07, 10:39 PM
For me, its a Mavis, the H6k. I wish it was an Emily, best flying boat during WW2! On second thought, I'm glad its not an Emily.

Hey, I'm happy I haven't encountered the flights of 16-20 flying boats/bombers like I did in SHIII. I had one screenie(long since deleted) that showed 18 Sunderlands attacking my diving U-boat.

stabiz
03-27-07, 10:58 PM
:huh:

Anachronous
03-27-07, 11:12 PM
Watching teh bombers fly sideways is kinda cool.

Surely they could smooth it out by adding some Rate of Climb type stat. So they arent like they are ragdolls on a rollercoaster.

Takao
03-27-07, 11:18 PM