PDA

View Full Version : This is wrong

STEED
01-25-07, 05:58 PM
Children in Britain are having their fingerprints taken at what some parents believe is an alarming rate.

I am not a parent so I wonder what you folks who are think of this? I do not like the way this is sold to the parents and what gives the school the right to go ahead and do this without parents consent.

Big Brother storms the playground (http://www.thefirstpost.co.uk/print.php?menuID=2&subID=1364)

Kapitan_Phillips
01-25-07, 06:08 PM
I'm a student and I dont mind it much. We recently had a CCTV camera installed in our Sixth Form common room, and there was an uproar from alot of people claiming that they're spying on us.

The thing I say to them is, 'Maybe its because we have two plasma screens, a projector, a pool table and a fussball table and no-one wants them to get nicked.'

We had two men walk into school randomly, go into the staff room, and steal a teachers wallet and keys in the middle of the school day. I dont exactly feel safe, knowing that someone could just walk in off of the street.

I'm not saying we should have barbed wire fencing, minefields and machinegun nests, but security in schools is definatley an issue and needs to be improved anyway.

Tchocky
01-25-07, 06:19 PM
kapitan_Phillips, I think there's a difference between 6th form CCTV , and fingerprinting kids in primary school. A huge difference. No way should this be tolerated.
Literacy should be a prime goal of education (the prime goal, if you ask me), but you dont needd to fingerprint and photograph 5-year old for that.

Yahoshua
01-25-07, 06:19 PM
Cameras will do that job.

Fingerprinting is a documentation of who you are.

Do you trust a government employee with all of your personal information at their whim?

I certainly don't.

edjcox
01-26-07, 12:10 AM
Fingerprints can be used to

Identify you and your remains...

Determinse if you were present at a Crime scene....