PDA

View Full Version : Snake In The Grass (Scapa)

Wonderbread
12-18-06, 05:29 PM
Hola Amigos,

I'm relatively new to the game and I'm my 5th patrol (Feb 1940) using SHIII commander and Grey Wolves Mod at 57% difficulty...anyway, my assigned patrol area was very close to Scapa. I finished up my 24 hours and decided to go somewhat near the entrance of scapa and see if I could snag me something special before I head back to Kiel.

After laying submerged for a day or two I began to notice the patrol tendencies of the destroyers guarding the entrance so I decided to get bold and make a couple night surface runs when I knew the coast was clear....

...long story short I end up just outside the port, silent running and anxiously raised my periscope to see........a troop carrier and a destroyer. BOO! :down: Not exactly what I was hoping to see after all the trouble.

So I decided to take up a spot near the shore and wait patiently for at least a cruiser to show up. I've been staying there for about 10 days now in silent running. I sit at periscope depth all day and replenish my oxygen at night.

I found somewhere online that says a cruiser will come on March 1st and that the Illustrious will come to dock on March 5th......its now March 11 and not a single ship has entered or left the harbor since Feb 27th.

Is that "Hunting Grounds" schedule that I found online not apply when you are using the greywolves or SHIII Commander mod?

If so, how long should I wait before I make my move....I mean, there cant be THAT many days without any action in Scapa....Patience is not my specialty, as you can probably tell. I need to take out a cruiser at least because I'm pretty sure that after I let the fish fly I probably wont make it out alive.

Thanks so much in advance for any replys!

bigboywooly
12-18-06, 05:36 PM
Hi and welcome to Subsim
That Hunting grounds schedule was written for the stock game so it has probably changed in GW
Sink the troop carrier and get out alive

_Seth_