PDA

View Full Version : Something frustrating - am I missing something?

phoenixworld
12-09-06, 06:19 AM
Hi all

Just got onto SH3 and think the simulation is wonderful.

I'm an ex submarine officer and find this frustrating:

In real life, when using the periscope in day to day use, or in an "attack", you are thinking totally in relative terms. ie, when you put up the periscope, you know where you're looking relative to the boat. The true bearing of what you're looking at is way less relevant than where it is relative to YOU. ie, is it on your port bow or starboard quarter?

In the daytime in real life, it's easy, but a little harder at night, but you still know which way you're looking by the various noises of pumps, etc

So, in the game when I put up the periscope, I find it hard to get a feel for where all the contacts are relative to my own ship's head, and hence can't get the picture. All the other stuff - ranging, ATB etc is all good. It's only early days yet, so am I missing something which will become apparent later?

if I could just get this bit, I'd enjoy it far more :shifty:

Cheers

Philip

Corsair
12-09-06, 06:36 AM
I am only a sailboat skipper ;), but as far as I know, the graduations inside the periscope and UZO give you the relative bearing. If you read for instance 320, it means it's looking 40° port from your heading. But maybe I misunderstood your problem...

_Seth_
12-09-06, 06:38 AM
Welcome to Subsim, mate! :up:
I guess this could be done, atleast the noise of diesels, pumps etc. in Stereo..
Someone here will know if this is possible, believe me!

again, Welcome!!

Argggg...Corsair beat me to it....:damn: :rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

Corsair
12-09-06, 06:40 AM
It's not often I can beat you...:rotfl:

Jimbuna
12-09-06, 06:41 AM
Welcome aboard phoenixworld :arrgh!:

I tend to use the compass overlay on either the nav or attack map...hope this is of some use to you :up:

AVGWarhawk
12-09-06, 07:04 AM