PDA

View Full Version : BDU Q?

K_Sea6
11-29-06, 02:36 PM
I just started playing again after a long hiatus and I have TGW1.1a downloaded along with commander 2.6. anyway I'm out on my second patrol when I get a distress call asking for fire assistanse at a paticular grid location I think it was something 40.38N 38.42W what ever it was there was no chart for me to pull and find grids so I googled the grid location and whatever it was put my right smack dab in the middle of Yemen, not even in water so my question is,

are the reports from bdu and other boats just fluff msg's for added atmosphere
or do they hold some sort of significantes and if they are significant

what would be the easiest way for someone to find a grid location for anyone who has tried this.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated .

Kerry

bigboywooly
11-29-06, 02:51 PM
Hi
The messages are historical uboat radio messages
Not sure how that one is in Yemen though

Try this for conversions

http://www.ubootwaffe.net/quadrant.cgi

mookiemookie
11-29-06, 03:11 PM
As bigboywooly stated, the messages are true to life and historic but they don't refer to anything going on the SH3 world. Like if you had a radio message where another U-boat was reporting a convoy in Grid BE blah blah, historically that was true but it won't be there in SH3.

So the short answer is yes, they're fluff. Pretty cool immersive fluff, but fluff nonetheless. :)

AVGWarhawk
11-29-06, 03:47 PM
Yes, fluff. Last patrol I got a radio message stating everything at Walmart will be 50% off for the entire day after Christmas. Weird but I checked the local papers anyway.:D

Jimbuna
11-29-06, 05:43 PM
Tis 'mind candy' only...more for game immersion :D

Albrecht Von Hesse
11-29-06, 06:16 PM
Yes, fluff. Last patrol I got a radio message stating everything at Walmart will be 50% off for the entire day after Christmas. Weird but I checked the local papers anyway.:D

You think that's bad?