SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2017, 01:53 AM   #1
Pepe le Moko
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 0
SHO Hydrophones detecting enemies before radar does

I have been using one of the single missions to test various mods combinations; i don't think it is a stock mission but one that came with RSRD, USS Flying Fish in 1942 where you are facing an IJN task force who just bombarded Henderson field.

Anyway I have played this mission a dozen times and usually the enemy task force gets detected by the radar first.

But with this new mod soup I am using now and that includes the OTC mod that I didn't use before, for some reason it is the hydrophone that detects the enemy task force at roughly a 10-11 nm range.

I made sure the radar is switched on, set for max range and on continuous sweeps and enemy blips do appear on the radar screen when I go to the station, but it is the hydro that detects the enemy ships first.

Is this normal?


1_TriggerMaru_Overhaul_2-5
1_TMO_25_small_patch
RSRDC_TMO_V502
RSRDC_V5xx_Patch1
1.5_Optical Targeting Correction 031312 for RSRDCv502
1.5_OTC_Realistic Scopes for 16 to 9 RSRDCv502
Improved Ship Physics 2.6_TMO_RSRDC_OTC
Improved Stock Environment_v3_TMO&RFB
#2 ISE Realistic Colors
TMO Smoke Mod
Less Plankton 1.2
Bigger Better Protractors

Last edited by Pepe le Moko; 10-29-2017 at 11:34 PM.
Pepe le Moko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 08:12 AM   #2
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 2,917
Downloads: 196
Uploads: 0


Default

You could try backing the ISP off, and see if there is a difference, but we encounter the same thing in FotRSU. Not an "all the time" kind of thing, but the sonar, especially in the open water areas, will pick-up sometimes way before the radar, given the right circumstances, such as a submerged sub doing Ahead 1/3 (or slower).
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 07:08 AM   #3
Pepe le Moko
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 0
Default

Okay thanks for the reply, I am going to remove ISP. I am not sure it affects sensor range but I have had four japanese ships I was tracking on sonar sink in heavy seas and I have a hunch this mod might have caused this incident.
Pepe le Moko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2017, 06:48 PM   #4
Delfi
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 31
Downloads: 53
Uploads: 0
Default

I would think that would not be uncommon due to sound travelling faster through water and not being subject to the curvature of the earth like radar. Sound can travel very far in the ocean.
Delfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim