SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

I need forum nicknames for: Pavel Sar____, Sascha Rie____, so I can upgrade your account. PM me. -- Neal Stevens

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2012, 01:41 PM   #1
Obltn Strand
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 336
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default Two though ones

Question 1

Is it possible by editing some files to change type IIa to type IIb. This means text only.

Question 2

How to edit career files to change base. This is to simulate transfer patrol. Like flotilla's home base is at Lorient but I wan't to leave from Kiel or Wilhelmshaven?
__________________
Himmel, sukeltakaa!
Obltn Strand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10,095
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obltn Strand View Post
Question 1

Is it possible by editing some files to change type IIa to type IIb. This means text only.

Question 2

How to edit career files to change base. This is to simulate transfer patrol. Like flotilla's home base is at Lorient but I wan't to leave from Kiel or Wilhelmshaven?
When are you starting the game ? Is possible to alter flotilla cfg file so you start in Kiel
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 03:41 PM   #3
Obltn Strand
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 336
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboywooly View Post
When are you starting the game ? Is possible to alter flotilla cfg file so you start in Kiel
Could do the trick.

However Carees.cfg and Carees_0.cfg files has CrtBase= and CrtPort= lines and Patrols.cfg and Patrols_0.cfg files StartLocation= and EndLocation= lines. After = comes three numbers which possibly indicate a port. These should be a key to change departure port. I just currently don't have time to field test every change. I'm hoping someone else toyed around with career files.
__________________
Himmel, sukeltakaa!
Obltn Strand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 04:17 PM   #4
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10,095
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Default

So are you attempting to start a new career in a given year in Kiel then relocate to Lorient to simulate a new boat work up ? ie not starting in 39 but sometime after August 40

Or ????

If yes to my question then the careers files do not matter as not in play yet
Altering the Flotilla cfg to start where ever you want is simple enough to do - I did it to add Konigsberg into GWX3 as a start point

Flotilla2=904
TO2=940
NbStartingDate2=7
NbDate2=7
Emblem2=data/Emblems/SubEmblems/Flotillas/7th flotilla.tga
NbBases2=4
Base2_0=765;Königsberg
Date2_0_0=1939
Month2_0_0=7
Date2_0_1=1939
Month2_0_1=8
DeparturePointLong2_0=2446551.000000
DeparturePointLat2_0=6560480.000000
Heading2_0=335.051331
Base2_1=750;Kiel
Date2_1_0=1939
Month2_1_0=9
Date2_1_1=1940
Month2_1_1=8

You just need the start date/flotilla you intend starting to correctly alter that flotillas information.


And IIRC the ingame text showing TypeIIA is hardcoded somewhere as you use a IIB but the game insists on showing it as a TypeIIA

Unless someone has managed to fix that without me noticing
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 04:23 AM   #5
Obltn Strand
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 336
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboywooly View Post
So are you attempting to start a new career in a given year in Kiel then relocate to Lorient to simulate a new boat work up ? ie not starting in 39 but sometime after August 40

Or ????

If yes to my question then the careers files do not matter as not in play yet
Altering the Flotilla cfg to start where ever you want is simple enough to do - I did it to add Konigsberg into GWX3 as a start point
Usually it's mid career change.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboywooly View Post
Flotilla2=904
TO2=940
NbStartingDate2=7
NbDate2=7
Emblem2=data/Emblems/SubEmblems/Flotillas/7th flotilla.tga
NbBases2=4
Base2_0=765;Königsberg
Date2_0_0=1939
Month2_0_0=7
Date2_0_1=1939
Month2_0_1=8
DeparturePointLong2_0=2446551.000000
DeparturePointLat2_0=6560480.000000
Heading2_0=335.051331
Base2_1=750;Kiel
Date2_1_0=1939
Month2_1_0=9
Date2_1_1=1940
Month2_1_1=8

You just need the start date/flotilla you intend starting to correctly alter that flotillas information.
I think I'am begining to see your way.
- I change flotilla and submarine
- Copy original flotilla.cfg and change dates from it so I start from Kiel/Wilhelmshaven
- Game one patrol and dock to french ports
- Return flotilla.cfg to it's original form.

Correct?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboywooly View Post
And IIRC the ingame text showing TypeIIA is hardcoded somewhere as you use a IIB but the game insists on showing it as a TypeIIA

Unless someone has managed to fix that without me noticing
Yes I have only managed to fool SH3 Commander to show type IIa as b.
__________________
Himmel, sukeltakaa!
Obltn Strand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:18 AM   #6
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10,095
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Default

Well if a new career yeah just change the month the flotilla moves to France

Lets say you start the game Nov 40 in Kiel 2nd Flotilla ( if you want to move to Lorient )

Flotilla1=903 <------Denotes 2nd flotilla as defined SilentHunterIII\data\Menu\en_menu
TO1=941
NbStartingDate1=6
NbDate1=6
Emblem1=data/Emblems/SubEmblems/Flotillas/2nd flotilla.tga
NbBases1=2 <------ Shows number of bases flotilla has, has to change if add further base
Base1_0=752;Wilhelmshaven <----- 752=Wilhelmshaven as defined SilentHunterIII\data\Menu\en_menu
Date1_0_0=1939 <----- Year game starts
Month1_0_0=8 <------Month game starts
Date1_0_1=1940 <-----Year flotilla makes move
Month1_0_1=8 <------Month flotilla makes move
DeparturePointLong1_0=976375.000000 <---Start coordinates Wilhelmshaven
DeparturePointLat1_0=6422169.000000 <---- Start coordinates Wilhelmshaven
Heading1_0=97.1805 <---- Start heading Wilhelmshaven
Base1_1=753;Lorient <-----New port moving to
Date1_1_0=1940
Month1_1_0=9
Date1_1_1=1944
Month1_1_1=8
DeparturePointLong1_1=-399068.000000
DeparturePointLat1_1=5729721.000000
Heading1_1=135.000000
NbUboats1=2
Uboat1_0=1
Uboat1_1=2

Date10=1939
Month10=8
Starting10=Yes
TypeSub10=1; VIIB <---- Starting sub in 2nd flotilla
VersionSub10=0
iNbName10=3
Name100=U-45
-----------------
Date11=1940
Month11=10
Starting11=Yes
TypeSub11=2; IX <----Sub available if start on or after Oct 1940
VersionSub11=0; B
iNbName11=3

So you would need to change to look like

Flotilla1=903
TO1=941
NbStartingDate1=6
NbDate1=6
Emblem1=data/Emblems/SubEmblems/Flotillas/2nd flotilla.tga
NbBases1=2
Base1_0=750;Kiel <----Kiel Flotilla number
Date1_0_0=1939
Month1_0_0=8
Date1_0_1=1940
Month1_0_1=11
DeparturePointLong1_0=1218542.000000 <---Kiels coordinates
DeparturePointLat1_0=6519934.000000 <---Kiels coordinates
Heading1_0=40.173100 <---Kiels start heading
Base1_1=753;Lorient
Date1_1_0=1940
Month1_1_0=12 <---- month flotilla moves
Date1_1_1=1944
Month1_1_1=8
DeparturePointLong1_1=-399068.000000
DeparturePointLat1_1=5729721.000000
Heading1_1=135.000000
NbUboats1=2
Uboat1_0=1
Uboat1_1=2

Date10=1939
Month10=8
Starting10=Yes
TypeSub10=0; 11A <---will start with IIA now
VersionSub10=0
iNbName10=3
------------
Date11=1940
Month11=12 <--- If starting game December 40 onwards you will start with a IX as denoted below
Starting11=Yes
TypeSub11=2; IX
VersionSub11=0; B


So by the above changes in yellow now if you start 2nd flotilla in Nov 40 you will be sent on patrol and as long as at sea at start December you will receive a message "Base has changed to Lorient"

To be on the safe side to patrol grid area should really be changed so you get a grid just off Lorient - Takes approx 20 days to get to BF17 at ahead one third ( 12000KM range )

Nov1110=BF17
Nov1111=BF88
Nov1112=BF41
Nov1113=BF42
Nov1114=BF14

Dec1110=AM02
Dec1111=BE32
Dec1112=AM51
Dec1113=BE39
Dec1114=AM27
-----------------
Nov1120=BF17
Nov1121=BF88
Nov1122=BF41
Nov1123=BF42
Nov1124=BF14

Dec1120=BE33
Dec1121=AM52
Dec1122=AM26
Dec1123=BE38
Dec1124=AM25 ( All the above are new grids based on type2 hunting grounds when first moved to France )
---------------

Not sure how long you plan on using a type2 for but you will have to change more grids to suit the longer you use it ( unless you pay no attention to those ) Historically the 1st Flot lost all its Type2s by Dec 40 when were equipped with VIIC.
Of course historically the 2nd used IXs and 7a's to start with anyway

Soyou can change any item above you like to suit - flotilla,uboat,ports

Oh and before you start career change to renown line

PlayerStartRenown10=500

To something much higher so you can indeed purchase a new boat - something like

PlayerStartRenown10=30000

Hope havent forgotten anything
Best to make yourself a JSGME compatable mod with the Flotilla cfg in so you dont mess with the original.
That way can have as many diff ones as you like then
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:26 AM   #7
Obltn Strand
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 336
Downloads: 90
Uploads: 0
Default

My intention is not to sail type IIa around British Isles. Questions were separate.

What I usually do is I start my career with type II either a or d. After few patrols I change to type VII or sometimes to IX. Now with 2nd and 7th flotillas which move to french ports around mid -40 it's too late. My new submarine is transfered already. 1st flotilla moves year later so it usually solves my problem using type VII.
Quote:
Flotilla1=903 <------Denotes 2nd flotilla as defined SilentHunterIII\data\Menu\en_menu
TO1=941
NbStartingDate1=6
NbDate1=6
Emblem1=data/Emblems/SubEmblems/Flotillas/2nd flotilla.tga
NbBases1=2 <------ Shows number of bases flotilla has, has to change if add further base
Base1_0=752;Wilhelmshaven <----- 752=Wilhelmshaven as defined SilentHunterIII\data\Menu\en_menu
Date1_0_0=1939 <----- Year game starts
Month1_0_0=8 <------Month game starts
Date1_0_1=1940 <-----Year flotilla makes move
Month1_0_1=8 <------Month flotilla makes move
DeparturePointLong1_0=976375.000000 <---Start coordinates Wilhelmshaven
DeparturePointLat1_0=6422169.000000 <---- Start coordinates Wilhelmshaven
Heading1_0=97.1805 <---- Start heading Wilhelmshaven
Base1_1=753;Lorient <-----New port moving to
Date1_1_0=1940
Month1_1_0=9
Date1_1_1=1944
Month1_1_1=8
DeparturePointLong1_1=-399068.000000
DeparturePointLat1_1=5729721.000000
Heading1_1=135.000000
NbUboats1=2
Uboat1_0=1
Uboat1_1=2

Date10=1939
Month10=8
Starting10=Yes
TypeSub10=1; VIIB <---- Starting sub in 2nd flotilla
VersionSub10=0
iNbName10=3
Name100=U-45
-----------------
Date11=1940
Month11=10
Starting11=Yes
TypeSub11=2; IX <----Sub available if start on or after Oct 1940
VersionSub11=0; B
iNbName11=3

So you would need to change to look like

Flotilla1=903
TO1=941
NbStartingDate1=6
NbDate1=6
Emblem1=data/Emblems/SubEmblems/Flotillas/2nd flotilla.tga
NbBases1=2
Base1_0=750;Kiel <----Kiel Flotilla number
Date1_0_0=1939
Month1_0_0=8
Date1_0_1=1940
Month1_0_1=11
DeparturePointLong1_0=1218542.000000 <---Kiels coordinates
DeparturePointLat1_0=6519934.000000 <---Kiels coordinates
Heading1_0=40.173100 <---Kiels start heading
Base1_1=753;Lorient
Date1_1_0=1940
Month1_1_0=12 <---- month flotilla moves
Date1_1_1=1944
Month1_1_1=8
DeparturePointLong1_1=-399068.000000
DeparturePointLat1_1=5729721.000000
Heading1_1=135.000000
NbUboats1=2
Uboat1_0=1
Uboat1_1=2

Date10=1939
Month10=8
Starting10=Yes
TypeSub10=0; 11A <---will start with IIA now
VersionSub10=0
iNbName10=3
------------
Date11=1940
Month11=12 <--- If starting game December 40 onwards you will start with a IX as denoted below
Starting11=Yes
TypeSub11=2; IX
VersionSub11=0; B
So this is for if wan't to start a new career and do transfer patrol?

How about if have done few patrols with type II. Then change to 2nd flotilla and to type IX after mid -40. Now my new home port is Lorient and that's where my new sub is parked. What files I need to edit to make my new sub start from either Kiel or Wilhelmshaven?
__________________
Himmel, sukeltakaa!
Obltn Strand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2014 Subsim