SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2012, 04:08 PM   #61
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,456
Downloads: 162
Uploads: 28


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webster View Post
if trevally or someone else wouldnt mind, i would love it if they could do a new version of the mod making "how to" type of info found on post 1 of my thread. it would be great since its mostly old data and since im not modding sh5 i dont know what is good info or useless info there or what new info is needed.

it is long overdue for someone to make some very basic simple instructions for mission making, mod making, and using mods, as well as what tools and technics to use as well as where to find or access them.
Hi Webster
Yes - I will have a go at this

It will take a long while to finish (the more I think about it the bigger the job gets), but im sure there are many here who can correct me and help out with tutorials and suggestions
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 06:26 PM   #62
ReallyDedPoet
Canadian Wolf
 
ReallyDedPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The one and only East Coast
Posts: 10,483
Downloads: 891
Uploads: 5


Default

Nice Trevally
ReallyDedPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:20 PM   #63
Damo
Commander
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Forever stuck in Data folder...
Posts: 474
Downloads: 210
Uploads: 0
Default

Congrats Trevally! Well deserved.

Was just thinking, as I know with stickies it's a space issue at the top of the forum, whether the Mission Making guide really belongs in the Mods forum or whether it should be moved to the basic SH5 forum. After all, the mission maker is a game feature and doesn't really fall under the mod category. Just a suggestion as I see the merit in keeping Websters thread and keeping this as it's own separate thread. I think newcomers are more likely to read a few shorter posts than one long multi-subject 'wall of text'.

Regards,
Damo.
__________________

The owl and the pussycat went to sea in a beautiful pea-green boat.
It only took one T1 eel to convince that boat not to float.
Damo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:53 PM   #64
Webster
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 6,219
Downloads: 259
Uploads: 55


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damo View Post
Congrats Trevally! Well deserved.

Was just thinking, as I know with stickies it's a space issue at the top of the forum, whether the Mission Making guide really belongs in the Mods forum or whether it should be moved to the basic SH5 forum. After all, the mission maker is a game feature and doesn't really fall under the mod category. Just a suggestion as I see the merit in keeping Websters thread and keeping this as it's own separate thread. I think newcomers are more likely to read a few shorter posts than one long multi-subject 'wall of text'.

Regards,
Damo.
i tend to dissagree, creating a mission (if done right) can be hard work and is adding a lot to the game just like mods do. yes its not a mod but it serves the same purpose and requires the same dedication to detail that mods do.

as to the sticky situation, it can be cleaned up later as trevally gets things situated so i see the 2 or 3 threads he will make can replace at least 4 or 5 of the ones there now
__________________
.
My Mods.~~/~~ (GFO) Game Fixes Only Mod.~~/~~ Mod Soup Fix
Webster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 08:34 AM   #65
Punch
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 29
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

As a rookie having a hard time finding and deciding which patches to use .........Is there anywhere someone has combined a load of stable patches into one file that can be used as a kind of filter by JSGME as in IL_2 ??
Punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:34 AM   #66
Punch
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 29
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Tried matching Travelly's mods but when I try a campaign I have no movement controls
Mouse view works but W.D.S.A keys do nothing ............
Suppose just a process of elimination as to which mod is causing it ?
Punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 01:00 PM   #67
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,456
Downloads: 162
Uploads: 28


Default

@ Punch = welcome to subsim

If you are looking to follow my mod list - you should start by reading the mod authors instructions in post one with each of their threads

Stormfly's sounds is the one that changed your keys
Now you need to use the arrow keys instead of wsad
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 01:24 PM   #68
Punch
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 29
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanx m8 ............One other thing is your mod list in install order ?
Punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 01:37 PM   #69
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,456
Downloads: 162
Uploads: 28


Default

Yes - install in order that I have them and allow overwrite.
Make sure that you check each one has a data folder inside the mod folder. This shows the mod is ready to install with JSGME
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 03:10 PM   #70
Punch
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 29
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Uninstalled everything ...........Think I need to start again , Think I'm to used to JSGME for IL_2 where all my mods are in one file and enabled in one go, lol
Punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 03:48 PM   #71
GeneralLawson
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 23
Downloads: 58
Uploads: 0
Default

Where would SteelViking's or NauticalWolf's interior mod fit in with this? And which one would be better to use?
GeneralLawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 04:49 PM   #72
Punch
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 29
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Tried again and now cant even get game to launch ...............dont understand where to put some folders and files so have to stick to stock game I guess

e.g. the NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith , Do I put Dials in the root folder of game ? then the readme says "select appropriate 'Dials.dds' and place in 'MODS\NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith\data\Menu\G ui'. " which ok done that . but then says " If there is a folder inside called 'TDC' then you have to copy the files in that folder to 'MODS\NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith\data\Menu\G ui\TDC'. There is a folder in there called TDC so copied files in there but is it not saying copy those files to the same location ?????
Punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 05:26 PM   #73
Punch
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 29
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

As soon as I enable NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith My game fails to launch ...............
Punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 06:48 PM   #74
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,456
Downloads: 162
Uploads: 28


Default

Hi Punch

Put JSGME in you ubi/SH5 folder and run it.
That will made a folder called MODS in your SH5 folder.
Open TDWs NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith and look inside it.
Look for folder called MODS and in there you will find a folder called NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith.
Copy this folder and paste it in the MODS foldet that was made when you ran JSGME.
Now run JSGME and install NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith.

__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:56 PM   #75
Punch
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 29
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevally. View Post
Hi Punch

Put JSGME in you ubi/SH5 folder and run it.
That will made a folder called MODS in your SH5 folder.
Open TDWs NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith and look inside it.
Look for folder called MODS and in there you will find a folder called NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith.
Copy this folder and paste it in the MODS foldet that was made when you ran JSGME.
Now run JSGME and install NewUIs_TDC_6_9_0_ByTheDarkWraith.

That's what I've done Trevally but as soon as I launch game the red bar goes around half way then just get a black screen and have to ctrl, alt del to see SH5 is not responding
Punch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim