SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2011, 03:07 PM   #31
Jaguar
Officer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Pampas
Posts: 239
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevepine View Post
Can someone explain what real navigation actually does or removes... I have not used it so far ( thinking it would makes things super difficult ) and does it just install as normal with JGSME ?
noob question I know!
Real navigation is indeed a tough nutt to crack. Stoianm has some very educative tutorials here:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...181538&page=13

can´t recommend it enough
Jaguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:11 PM   #32
StarTrekMike
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Made in Vermont
Posts: 181
Downloads: 137
Uploads: 0
Default

All I really want to know is what this adds.

can we get a list of sorts?

The only reason I ask is because I don't want to start another new game without knowing all the details.

Mike
__________________
I think we lost em...hey whats that pinging sound?
StarTrekMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:18 PM   #33
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,456
Downloads: 162
Uploads: 28


Default

It removes most of the info from your mav map. No:-
uboat
ships
hydro bearings etc.
So as you cant see where you are - there is also no waypoint setting.

There is :-
land
radio reports
nav fixes (this tells you where you are within an error radius)
super marks (for making notes).

It is a bit scary when you first try but well worth the effort.
See some of Soianm's vids.

You can install and uninstall any time.

There are also scripts to help. See harbour pilot and my auto scripts.
They make it easier by auto adding nav fixes etc
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:43 PM   #34
Dignan
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 704
Downloads: 231
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBeast View Post
CREDIT:
BIGREG - Raise/Lower Rod and Round Radio Antenna
Does this allow us to lower that radio rod that sticks out of teh water at periscope depth?
Dignan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:51 PM   #35
sirbum69
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 177
Downloads: 98
Uploads: 0
Default

anyone know if this can be added while out to see, or should i wait until i reach port again...Really dont want to start all over again lol...Ive done that so many times in the last week, because of crashes and corrupt saves
sirbum69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:57 PM   #36
Jaguar
Officer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Pampas
Posts: 239
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirbum69 View Post
anyone know if this can be added while out to see, or should i wait until i reach port again...Really dont want to start all over again lol...Ive done that so many times in the last week, because of crashes and corrupt saves
As a rule of thumb, the best way to install this kind of mod is when in bunker. You don´t have to start a new campaign, AFAIK only icebergs mod requires that. This is why I´m not going to see them in the near future.
Jaguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 07:49 PM   #37
TheBeast
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paradise, CA
Posts: 1,530
Downloads: 516
Uploads: 23


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dignan View Post
Does this allow us to lower that radio rod that sticks out of teh water at periscope depth?
No, but we can lower it if you like. it is very easy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirbum69 View Post
anyone know if this can be added while out to see, or should i wait until i reach port again...Really dont want to start all over again lol...Ive done that so many times in the last week, because of crashes and corrupt saves
This MOD does not require new campaign. You can load while at sea or in port.
__________________
Fear me! I am, TheBeastBelow

SHIV-MediaFire | SHV-MediaFire
TheBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 07:55 PM   #38
sirbum69
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 177
Downloads: 98
Uploads: 0
Default

thansk now if i can just get rid of the dam dreaded, there seems to be a problem with the connection to server please restart game crap...

God i swear this game hates me.....Other wise nice mod...
sirbum69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 08:19 PM   #39
Dignan
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 704
Downloads: 231
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBeast View Post
No, but we can lower it if you like. it is very easy.
That would be wonderful. Could you tell us how to lower it or edit it out completely? Is it in the uboat.sim file?
__________________
Dignan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:06 AM   #40
TheBeast
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paradise, CA
Posts: 1,530
Downloads: 516
Uploads: 23


Default

Made some Minor changes that I should have had to start with last year.

Uploaded new UBoot_Sensors.sim that keeps the Rod Radio Antenna from Extending.

See Post #1 for more information.

__________________
Fear me! I am, TheBeastBelow

SHIV-MediaFire | SHV-MediaFire
TheBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:08 AM   #41
stoianm
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 2,776
Downloads: 833
Uploads: 11
Default

nice
stoianm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:22 AM   #42
TheBeast
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paradise, CA
Posts: 1,530
Downloads: 516
Uploads: 23


Default

QUESTION:
Is it possible to have Balkan Gerat and KDB Hydrophone at same time?
Were any boats ever really configured this way?

Although they Balkan Gerat can function while surfaced because the Hydrophone Head is on the keel of the boat. It does have a very distinct disadvantage. As Destroyers close on you, Sonar loses contact when they get close. A cone of silence above the UBoat where it can not hear. The GHG hydrophone also has this issue but a smaller cone of silence. This adds some difficulty when trying to avoid Depth Charges.

The KDB Hydrophone head does not function while surfaced. The Hydrophone Head is on the Deck towards the Bow of the boat, so you must be submerged at least 8 meters before it starts working.
The good thing is you do not lose contacts as they pass over you.
__________________
Fear me! I am, TheBeastBelow

SHIV-MediaFire | SHV-MediaFire

Last edited by TheBeast; 04-06-2011 at 08:44 AM.
TheBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:27 AM   #43
stoianm
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 2,776
Downloads: 833
Uploads: 11
Default

Even if is posible i not like to have both because is not immersive...
stoianm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 09:36 AM   #44
Dignan
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 704
Downloads: 231
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBeast View Post
Made some Minor changes that I should have had to start with last year.

Uploaded new UBoot_Sensors.sim that keeps the Rod Radio Antenna from Extending.

See Post #1 for more information.

Glorious! You are my savior.

Anyone had compatibility issues with this and NewUIs, IRAI or FXfix?
__________________
Dignan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 12:59 PM   #45
Jaguar
Officer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Pampas
Posts: 239
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

Just installed the mod with stoianm renow costs zero. I´m still in 1940 (Type VII/C) but every item is available: decoys, RWR and so on. Is it supposed to be that way or did I do something wrong?
Jaguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim