SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Old 01-08-11, 08:32 AM   #1
commandosolo2009
Grey Wolf

Downloads: 132
Uploads: 0
Default A question about crew efficiency and station efficiency

Heeloooo kaleuns of the Navy!!!

I wanted to know how efficiency is calculated for station efficiency, and for crew (shift efficiency). What I mean is, how are the numbers atop the compartment calculated, and index next to I, II and III shifts calculated. I think the index is by dividing the total efficiency of the active shift, over the number of people in the shift. Am I wrong?

Thanks
commandosolo2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 08:52 AM   #2
WernherVonTrapp
Admiral

Downloads: 105

That is the $64,000.00 question. It has been (mostly) a mystery to me since I started playing this sim. I think I'll take the "sounds good to me" appraoch here. The thing here is, the crew's (of any given compartment) efficiency rating is affected by other factors such as Fatigue, Health, etc. I think their Experience levels as well as their ratings for a particular job will also affect their efficency in their assigned compartments, as does their rank. These are variables that are not constant and will change during the course of a patrol/career. Although a general understanding of the process seems to be accepted, I haven't (to my knowledge) seen anything to indicate that it's been definitely nailed-down.
"What is truth?"
-Pontius Pilate

Last edited by WernherVonTrapp; 01-08-11 at 09:08 AM.
WernherVonTrapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 11:17 AM   #3
Armistead
Rear Admiral

Downloads: 364

We had a long discussion over this months ago, I'll see if I can find the thread.