Click here to access the Helosim website
SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

BUYING GAMES, BOOKS, ELECTRONICS, and STUFF
THROUGH THIS LINK SUPPORTS SUBSIM, THANKS!

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Helosim.com and Flight Sims

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2010, 05:01 PM   #1
Lionclaw
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,058
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default DCS Kamov Ka-50 Black Shark Procedures

Kamov Ka-50 quick start up procedure.


[Wall Panel]

Batteries 1&2 ON


[Left Panel]

Rotor Brake OFF
K-041 ON


[Right Front Panel]


ABRIS ON


[Wall Panel]

Fuel Pumps FWD & AFT ON, external pumps as required if carrying wingtanks.
Fuel QTY ON
INTCOM ON
VHF-2 ON
Standby S A I ON
Fire Supressing System OPER


[Rear Panel]

Power plant, hydraulics, EKRAN self test systems OPER
INU HEAT ON
INU ON

[Left Front Panel]

Press MASTER CAUTION push-light twice (2x) to initiate EKRAN self-test

ENGINE START UP
------------------

[Wall Panel]

APU fuel shutoff valve OPEN


[Left Panel]

Start ( Button: Home )

After "START VLV" light extinguished and APU running

Set engine selector to LH (Button: e)


[Wall Panel]

Left engine fuel shutoff valve OPEN
Left engine Electronic Engine Governor (EEG) ON


[Left Panel]

Start

Engine at 2000 RPM or more then
Left engine fuel cut off OPEN

After engine is running and START VLV light is extinguished, set engine selector to RH.

Repeat for right engine.


AFTER ENGINE STARTUP
------------------------

Throttle to Auto (Button: 2x Pageup)


[Left Panel]

Shut down APU ( Button: END )


[Wall Panel]


When APU completely shut down then:
APU fuel shutoff valve CLOSED

Generators ON
IFF ON
NAV systems power ON
VHF-1 ON
DL ON
VHF TLK ON
SA-TLF ON
Ejecting System Power ( 3 switches ! ) ON
Weapons control systems ON
NAV master mode OPER
NAV Datalink power ON
Datalink Mastermode set to desired mode
ID set to your ID ( 4 aircraft in one flight 1, 2, 3, 4) Each pilot with unique number!
Autopilot channels ON


[Rear Panel]

UV-26 ON
L-140 ON


[Wall Panel], [Overhead Panel]

Lights as required


[Overhead Panel]

Rotor anti ice as required.
Engine anti ice/ or Dust protection as required.
Pitot heat as required.

Wall Panel





Left Panel



Rear Panel

Last edited by Lionclaw; 05-26-2010 at 11:33 AM. Reason: Redone checklist
Lionclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 05:30 PM   #2
Dowly
.
 
Dowly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 23,895
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0


Default

I think we could use this thread for all kinds of stuff about DCS. Useful hotkeys, tutorials etc.

While watching a track you can speed/slow/reset the time with LCtrl+Z/LAlt+Z/LShift+Z

We had talk about the helo repair/respawn today, the key is RCtrl+RShift+TAB
Dowly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 05:35 PM   #3
Task Force
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPACE!!!!
Posts: 10,148
Downloads: 85
Uploads: 0
Default

well, one I had plenty of experience with today would be

Lwin + Home, for auto start.
__________________


Task Force industries "Taking control of the world, one mind at a time"
Task Force is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 07:32 AM   #4
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Checklist is good, but all the panning around between the panels is confusing. To simplify, you can go front, right, rear;

Turn on batteries and/or ground power. First basic step.

Front:
(left) K-041
(right) Abris

Right:
Comms (all radio switches except last one)
Fuel gage
Fire suppression
Standby SAI

Rear:
INU power and heat
Ekran self test

Then back to front to push the blinking light, and continue with APU/engine start.


* and something missing is closing the APU valve after shutting it down and powering NAV system (both wall panel).
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 07:51 AM   #5
Oberon
Lucky Jack
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 26,378
Downloads: 61
Uploads: 20


Default

Be sure to find the button for rotor ejection and tape something over it...you don't want to make the same mistake I have on EECH...
Oberon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:17 AM   #6
Dowly
.
 
Dowly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 23,895
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0


Default

Replacing an existing Ka50 skin using JSGME

Right, this is the easiest way for adding own skins to the game. First of all, install JSGME to the Ka-50 root folder just as you would do it in Silent Hunter, remember to run it once to get the MODS folder.


Next, you have to decide which skin to replace, so go to ka-50/scripts/database/helicopters and open the ka50.lua with your favorite text editor. The skins are listed at the top of the file. Let's say you want to replace the New Year 2009 skin, what you need to do is remember the number in the end of the line, 23 in this case.


Now, with knowing which skin to replace, you must go to Ka-50/Bazar/World/Shapes and open the Ka50.skins file with your favorite text editor. Inside you'll see sections of code that leads to different .BMP files. In the beginning of each section, you see a value number 0, 0.1, 0.2 etc. Ok, you propably guess what to do next, yup; scroll down until you find value of 2.3 which is for the New Year 2009 skin.


Now, all you must do is rename your custom skin files to resemble these.

For example, one of my custom skin files is called:
KA-50-Dowly-PAINT1-DEF-01.bmp

I would rename it to:
KA-50-PAINT1-1NY.bmp

KA-50-Dowly-PAINT1-DEF-02.bmp

to

KA-50-PAINT1-2NY.bmp

and so on.

After renaming all your files copy your skin files to MODS/nameofyourskinmod/bazar/temptextures

If you've done everything correctly, you have now replaced the New Year 2009 skin with your own awesome skin.

Notes:

- If you are using the official template, you might be missing few files, I think paint 3 is one, but I think that's for some small parts. Using this method of installing skins, every skin file the game doesn't find from Temptextures, is loaded from the .cdds files.

- I haven't tried to replace the skin I mentioned, only the standard skin, but I don't see why this wouldn't work.

- Damn, that Jim Carrey movie was right, only now I realised I picked skin number 23.
Dowly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:28 AM   #7
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Separate system I'd like to touch on. It's part of the start procedure, but requires proper setup, instead of just turning it on:

The main benefit from setting this is getting numbered icons on the Abris display, showing you the position of flight members.

First power the system by setting the 2nd switch on the top to "ON", and make sure "Data link radio equipment" and "Data link VHF radio equipment" radio switches are on. Is all part of normal start-up, so shouldn't have to worry about it.

I'd suggest the first chopper in the selection screen sets his "ID-NO" to 1, second chopper in screen sets to 2, etc. There's only 4 numbers, so chopper 5 sets to 1 again. Grouping is controlled by the radio-frequency of VHF2, which you can set on the left panel.

"DATA" knob controls send/receive mode. Set to "COM" for flightlead (#1) or "WINGMAN" for other flightmembers (#2-4).
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.

Last edited by Arclight; 06-09-2010 at 07:25 AM.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:47 AM   #8
SgtPotato
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your ocean, sinking your ships
Posts: 721
Downloads: 96
Uploads: 0
Default

I easily forgot about the next step when I try to manual start myself.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
SgtPotato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 10:15 AM   #9
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default Disecting the weapons sytem 101

In the manual, they give you these checklists for each and every possible procedure; firing gun from static mount, firing gun while tracking, firing gun from static with ranging, etc.

Imho a better way is to learn the different functions of the system, and mix and match what you need on the fly. I think knowing the system makes it easier to use it, as compared to remembering 15 different checklists.


Basic thing is to enable "master arm", nothing will work without it.


To bring up targeting reticle for gun or rockets (static fire), simply select the hardpoint (rockets) or enable cannon. Note that the cannon overrides other weapons: you can switch to cannon with any other other weapon selected, but you'll need to disable it again before you can fire anything else.

The problem here is you're "firing from the hip": the reticle is only accurate for a particular range, so you'll need to eyeball the actual range and estimate proper leed/elevation. Need experience (or some spare ammo) to get this right.


A slightly more advanced method is to include ranging; the only extra tool you need for this is the laser, and set the Shkval mode to "GS" (switch next to laser) . Enable the laser, maneuver to place the reticle on the target and push the "lock target" button. A countdown of a few seconds will appear in the HUD, after which the reticle will jump. It now displays a proper impact point for the selected weapon, based on the range that you entered. Grants you much better accuracy and takes out the guesswork from "firing from the hip", though you should still leed moving targets. Note though that if you're moving at high speed, the range will have shortened in those few seconds.



You'll get the highest degree of accuracy with auto-tracking. It is also the most complex. Works for the cannon and Vikhrs.

In addition to the laser, you need to operate the Shkval. First, press the "uncage" button. The display comes alive and a reticle pops up on the HUD to indicate where it's pointing. Now pan it over your target and press the lock button. The bracket should start to jitter a bit, indicating the system is actively analyzing and tracking. If you have the laser active, a range will display at the bottom as well (if not, activate laser and press "target lock" again. You might realise now that the "lock" button doubles as rangefinder button).

If you have the cannon active, you'll notice a large bracket displaying in the HUD. It indicates the maximum area the gun can traverse. Make sure the target is within this limit before opening fire.

With Vikhrs selected, a reticle will display on the HUD, which will drop down to the same elevation as the target; the launcher is automatically depressed to line up the shot, but it can't swing side to side, so you'll need to turn the helicopter to line up the reticle with the Shkval reticle before firing.


In all modes, you'll notice the "firing authorised" indicator in the HUD and Shkval display; it looks like a "C". Without this, weapons will not fire. Firing is authorised when conditions are met; target is not too close, not too far and within launch window. You can override this by flipping a switch, allowing you to fire a weapon whenever you wish (American style).

Set to "MAN".


There are also 4 modes you can use to improve targeting and make your life a little easier.

"AUTO TURN" makes the helo turn to where the Shkval is pointing, basically lining up shots with Vikhr automatically, though you might need a little rudder input to counter wind.

"MOV GND TGT" should be enabled when targeting moving vehicles. As far as I know, it only tells the cannon to lead the target, though it might have some impact on Vikhr too.

"A/A" should be used against airtargets. It sets a proximity fuse on the Vikhr, increasing the odds of damaging a target when the missile misses direct impact.

"A/A H O" is basically the same as the previous, but the fuse is set to go off earlier. This should be used for airtargets that are coming at you.

Some other things to note on this panel: the radio selector knob should be set to "GRND CREW" if you wish to refuel or rearm. You can just open the cockpit door and shout when the engines/APU are not running, but otherwise you'll have to use the radio (make sure it's on, too).

The "HMS" switch controls the helmet mounted sight. Flip it, and a reticle flips down in sight. You can turn your head to look around and line up targets. When lined up, press the "uncage" button, and the Shkval will uncage and automatically slew to wherever you were looking. Can be used to quickly line up targets, especially with "AUTO TURN" engaged (beats the painfully slow panning in most cases).

The "AT" / "GS" toggle is used to control the Shkval mode. "AT" means auto-tracking, which is the default mode. "GS" means gunsight, and it activates, slews and locks the display to the reticle displayed in the HUD. You can use it to get a close up view of what you're engaging with rockets or cannon, but imho it doesn't offer an improvement in accuracy over the reticle in the HUD, and the field of view is so narrow that it is rather cumbersome to target with. Good for ID-ing targets though, but if you're close enough to deploy cannon or rockets effectively, you probably made up your mind about whether or not it should be killed. Note that it must be set to "GS" to use rangefinding when firing without auto-tracking (locking the Shkval on target).


There's a function called "targeting mode reset". It's used to reset the weapons system, caging the Shkval, disabling any selected modes and deselecting hardpoints. It returns the HUD to default mode, which is much better when you're moving about (if the HUD does not return to normal after using this, you have the cannon active; as stated before, cannon overrides anything else, including the reset command). Default mapping is backspace.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.

Last edited by Arclight; 05-27-2010 at 09:02 AM.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 10:28 AM   #10
Lionclaw
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,058
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

First post updated redone checklist.
Lionclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 10:49 AM   #11
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Forgot to push the blinking light after Ekran switch.

Something to note; open the engine cutoff valves (red levers on left) when the engines reach (over) 2000 RPM, and close the APU when it is fully spooled down (2nd indicator light turns off).
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 11:34 AM   #12
Lionclaw
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,058
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Updated yet again. Thanks Arclight.
Lionclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 01:22 PM   #13
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Wow, I don't get thanked a lot for being a smartass.


Install procedure: do NOT install in "program files" folder under Vista/Win7.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 03:47 PM   #14
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

A visual aid; my start-up procedure. It doesn't adhere to any checklist, at least not strictly, except my own mental one. You shouldn't try to copy it, just get a feel for what needs to be on, and perhaps what needs to be on/off in the 3 stages during start-up (pre engine-start, engine start-up, post engine-start).

Thank YT for the quality, though it seems good enough for its purpose. High quality would literally take me all day to compress the video and upload it (2GB for 5 mins video is a little excessive anyway, right?).

__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 08:59 AM   #15
Arclight
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of windmills, tulips, wooden shoes and cheese. Lots of cheese.
Posts: 8,467
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 10
Default

Right, made a mistake in the weapons section; to use rangefinding without auto-tracking, you need to set Skvahl to "GS" mode. Will edit that.
__________________

Contritium praecedit superbia.
Arclight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim