SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2010, 06:54 PM   #46
FIREWALL
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CATALINA IS. SO . CAL USA
Posts: 10,111
Downloads: 511
Uploads: 0
Default

[QUOTE=Neal Stevens

but please don't clutter the thread with discussion. thanks!


[SIZE=3]Just incase you guys missed that. [/SIZE]
FIREWALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 11:46 PM   #47
Orffen
Watch
 
Orffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Downloads: 142
Uploads: 0
Default

F5 will toggle the deck gun crew, F6 toggles the flak crew, and F7 will toggle action stations. Handy for when you're running decks awash and the deck gun decides it wants to give your position away to that convoy.

EDIT: Was running 1.0; the F1 keymap help was updated for 1.01 it seems. F8 is now silent running.
__________________


Last edited by Orffen; 03-05-2010 at 10:07 AM.
Orffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 03:10 AM   #48
Dowly
.
 
Dowly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 23,435
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orffen View Post
F5-F12 are supposed to toggle abilities, but F7 doesn't seem to do anything on the VII-A. Is there a way to see which abilities are assigned to those keys?
F1 help screen should show what abilities the buttons activate.
__________________
Dowly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 08:32 AM   #49
LeonTheNorse
Nub
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Where do i find the 5 ships i need to sink on the northern patrol route?

This form the first chapter of the campaign, the mission is called blockade of Germany.

I saw someone else asked before here where is the air carrier in that mission.

Well i meet one in the English channel, When i had sunk that i got sink one air carrier complete.
Then i found one more right afterward hehe i came from Portsmouth.

What i mean what ships should i sink to complete sink 5 ships along the northern patrol line?
LeonTheNorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 08:41 AM   #50
quadraspleen
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 28
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeevz View Post
Of course the manu... I mean, pamphlet doesn't relay this very well.
WTF? That's the manual? I thought that was a crib-sheet for a mini-game LOL
__________________
Enough is too little...too much is enough...
quadraspleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 09:21 AM   #51
jlederer
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 63
Downloads: 47
Uploads: 0
Default What does "Battlestations" do, exactly?

In SHIV it "increased overall efficiency" and you could see on the crew screen that everbody was out of their bunks whether they needed sleep or not, etc. - I'm not sure I can tell what it does in SHV, don't recall seeing more crewmen standing around, and I'd like to know *how much* extra efficiency I'm getting in exchange for *how much* loss of efficiency at some point in the future.
jlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 10:01 AM   #52
Orffen
Watch
 
Orffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Downloads: 142
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dowly View Post
F1 help screen should show what abilities the buttons activate.
Indeed. My autopatcher didn't patch (or give me an option to) and I was still running 1.0 which didn't show that.

Running 1.01 now though
__________________

Orffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 11:09 AM   #53
dagamecat
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 25
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Again, sorry if this has been asked before, but how do I order to return to the plotted course? It's driving me nuts.
dagamecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 11:38 AM   #54
kylania
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,522
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dagamecat View Post
Again, sorry if this has been asked before, but how do I order to return to the plotted course? It's driving me nuts.
Currently you'll need to use a mod or manually edit your commands.cfg to reenable that command. Apparently during development and testing no one ever needed to return to course.
__________________

kylania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 11:43 AM   #55
dagamecat
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 25
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Heh, thanks, you just posted just in time before I ran aground. There's no way I was re-plotting that course through the Kiel canal.

Installed ddrgn's advanced shift key commands, works fine.
dagamecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 12:33 PM   #56
MattDizzle
Medic
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 165
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default

To return to course:
Try pressing the numberpad "." or "/" key, im at "work" now so i cant verify, one is return to course the other is "Make my viewpoint the new heading"

To lower obervation periscope: Press shift+ insert on the keypad above the arrow keys, i had trouble with this too... Wish they didnt auto-raise when you went to the periscope station.

My only problem is there doesnt seem to be any kind of compass, the guys call out "Airplane spotted - 278" and i dont have the numbers on the binoc view anymore. I know 27X means left about 90 degrees, but i would rather have a compass to verify. Also airplanes dont show up on the map anymore, while ships still do. And the game runs like dog****. And im not in a Type IIB
MattDizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 01:14 PM   #57
SteamWake
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,224
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dowly View Post
F1 help screen should show what abilities the buttons activate.
I've been meaning to ask in my game at least F5 through F8 are 'greyed out' on the key map and seem to not do anything.
__________________
Follow the progress of Mr. Mulligan : http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=147648
SteamWake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 01:16 PM   #58
SteamWake
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,224
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDizzle View Post
"Airplane spotted - 278"
Those are relative calls with your boats bow being 0/360 278 would be almost directly off your port side.

But yea a compass please.
__________________
Follow the progress of Mr. Mulligan : http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=147648
SteamWake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 01:23 PM   #59
Orffen
Watch
 
Orffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Downloads: 142
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteamWake View Post
I've been meaning to ask in my game at least F5 through F8 are 'greyed out' on the key map and seem to not do anything.
Make sure you're running version 1.1. I had to manually patch it and after that the keymap updated.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=162843
__________________

Orffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 02:13 PM   #60
von_Trepka
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi guys, How do I ping depth under keel? Or cant I do so, in this "not-going-to-be-released-unfinished" game?
von_Trepka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim