SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2010, 04:51 PM   #31
Nisgeis
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,889
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 11
Default

I saw people complaining about not being able to tell what date it was. If you let the mouse hover over the clock, the date will appear as a tool tip.
__________________
--------------------------------
This space left intentionally blank.
Nisgeis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:51 PM   #32
reaper7
sim2reality
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: AM 82
Posts: 2,278
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickenbacker View Post
Did you actually select a mission? You have to actually sit through the "briefing" (I'd skip it, at least after the first time, it'll be the same for a while) and THEN click on a mission (round german cross icons on the map), hit "request mission" in the window that pops up, and then close the map. After that, if you talk to the guy again and select "start patrol", you should have a mission icon on the map.



The icons are not showing up on the map to select.
reaper7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:57 PM   #33
Heretic
Commodore
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 617
Downloads: 222
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper7 View Post

The icons are not showing up on the map to select.
The icons should show up just off the eastern and south-western coasts of Great Britain.
Heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:57 PM   #34
Nisgeis
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,889
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 11
Default

The mission icons will be around England, Reaper.
__________________
--------------------------------
This space left intentionally blank.
Nisgeis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:59 PM   #35
sergei
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,788
Downloads: 405
Uploads: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper7 View Post
The icons are not showing up on the map to select.
Try scrolling to the left.
The missions are along the Eastern Coast of Britain, and in the Western approaches.
You won't see 'em from there.

EDIT: Beaten to it!
__________________

A variety of mods for SH4 and 5

'It is pleasant, when the sea is high and the winds are dashing the waves about, to watch from the shores the struggles of another'

'You just keep thinking Butch. That's what you're good at'



sergei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:01 PM   #36
reaper7
sim2reality
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: AM 82
Posts: 2,278
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 32
Default

Have looked all around the map. No Icons!!!!

reaper7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:06 PM   #37
sergei
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,788
Downloads: 405
Uploads: 29
Default

Sorry reaper7, I didn't realise.
That is odd. I haven't seen that before I'm afraid.
Sorry mate
__________________

A variety of mods for SH4 and 5

'It is pleasant, when the sea is high and the winds are dashing the waves about, to watch from the shores the struggles of another'

'You just keep thinking Butch. That's what you're good at'



sergei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:15 PM   #38
reaper7
sim2reality
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: AM 82
Posts: 2,278
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sergei View Post
Sorry reaper7, I didn't realise.
That is odd. I haven't seen that before I'm afraid.
Sorry mate

Maybe best to resart career. At least its only the training, but had 8 kills already.
reaper7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:54 PM   #39
Incandescent
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0
Default Deck Gun/Flak Question.

Greetings,

I did a search and did not see this posted or responded, etc.

I have been able to send crews to the Deck Guns and Flak, but I can't figure out how to tell the to Fire At Will, or better yet, man the guns myself.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.
Incandescent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:54 PM   #40
tracker
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: co,durham. uk
Posts: 74
Downloads: 176
Uploads: 0
Default no watch crew /ob prei stuck

just started the game sank 4 in training sent to keil set off to kiel surfaced lost my watch crew and cannot lower thr obsevation peri ,cannot remember using it ,having fun with ladders
hand book not even good for wedging open a door .
ps looking forward to the first mods for it
tracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:57 PM   #41
reaper7
sim2reality
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: AM 82
Posts: 2,278
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 32
Default

Just an Update.

Restarted a new campaign, option came up to skip training (Selected yes). Mission's now show up.
reaper7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 06:19 PM   #42
Heretic
Commodore
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 617
Downloads: 222
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incandescent View Post
Greetings,

I did a search and did not see this posted or responded, etc.

I have been able to send crews to the Deck Guns and Flak, but I can't figure out how to tell the to Fire At Will, or better yet, man the guns myself.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.
Not sure about ordering 'fire at will' but to man the gun yourself, you need to walk up to the gun and click on it. There are ladders at either side of the conning tower.
Heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 06:40 PM   #43
jlederer
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 63
Downloads: 47
Uploads: 0
Default Fire at will

You can get the deck gun to fire by focusing on the target in the binoculars and pressing the space bar to "lock it" for gunnery action. I don't know how you are supposed to know that :-)
jlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 06:41 PM   #44
remowilliams
Loader
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 90
Downloads: 16
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incandescent View Post
I have been able to send crews to the Deck Guns and Flak, but I can't figure out how to tell the to Fire At Will
Once the deck gun is manned using your binocs and locking the target (space) should get the crew firing. You'll see a little deck gun icon to the left in your binocs indicating that the target should be fired upon.
remowilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 06:44 PM   #45
Incandescent
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0
Default

You can get the deck gun to fire by focusing on the target in the binoculars and pressing the space bar to "lock it" for gunnery action. I don't know how you are supposed to know that :-)

That has been the case since SH-II.
I was talking about up to IV, the watch officer could command fire at will or cease fire. I can't find anyway to do that. On another note, I had my guys manned on the first mission, had the ships in range and locked to fire upon...nothing happened, no firing as if they were under the Cease fire command which is the default with the last 3 versions.

I did not try to actually walk to the guns...
There is no quick way to get there, I actually have to walk to them every time I want to man them?
Incandescent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim