SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

I need forum nicknames for: Pavel Sar____, Sascha Rie____, so I can upgrade your account. PM me. -- Neal Stevens

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2010, 01:02 AM   #1
Neal Stevens
Born to Run Silent
 
Neal Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 14,267
Downloads: 257
Uploads: 162
Lightbulb Silent Hunter 5 Tactics & Tips - "How do I?" & FAQ! READ IF YOU ARE STUCK

I've been seeing a lot of good info about the in various threads, ie, where to check the fuel and battery levels, how to change realism settings before a campaign mission, how to use the deck gun optics.

If you see any good FAQ and info about the game please post here. It won't hurt if we have some duplicates, but please don't clutter the thread with discussion. thanks! We'll get us some real good FAQ going.

If you are having trouble getting started in the campaign, here is a walkthrough of mission on and getting a new mission.

Silent Hunter V Campaign Intro & Tips
Includes Docking, Dropping off Spies, Wearing ladies shoes and more!


If you don't have the game, I suggest not reading this if you like to discover these things yourself.

Q: How to use deck gun optics?
From Mookie: Upper left hand corner of the deck gun view. There's a button for the optic view.


How to aim torpedoes discussion.


Problem 1: Sometimes the player can remain stuck between collision boxes and cannot move anymore
Workaround: By pressing SHIFT+U player will be repositioned in the command room (or bridge) of the submarine. Is handy for getting off the deck gun when under fire but isn't very realistic.


Problem: I have the following issues with my ATI 4870 card: No water is rendered in-game or in the museum. Tooltip text is rendered on a white background, making it almost impossible to read. My view is frozen when I try to move through the sub, and I cannot look around when I have the right mouse button pressed down. My video card drivers are up to date, and I've tried a variety of graphics settings. So, how do I fix this?

Solution: That's not a graphics card issue - that's a corrupted install. Reinstalling did the trick for him, should work for you.
Yep, it did. I also disabled my AVG antivirus software during the reinstall, and now (so far) all is good.


From Mookie:
CCIP's Command Keys mod - really helps ease the transition for SH3/SH4 vets: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=162661

Hit the ESC key while you're in the sub pen and you can change all of your realism settings before setting out on patrol. Once you have a target locked in your peri/UZO view, you can turn the TDC on/off by just telling your IWO to do so.

Anecdotal evidence suggests that the shadows are big FPS killers. I've turned my down and I did notice an improvement.

New TDC tips: The TDC in the traditional sense is gone....meaning that you won't be turning dials (I know, I know...a step backwards). He's going to say "I see a unidentified freighter on bearing 45, range 2000 meters travelling 10 knots with an angle on bow of 35 starboard."
You have to click the underlined items and fill them in with ID book, stadimeter and AOB readings or you can hand input them by clicking on the number and entering new numbers.



When you install the game, you get a choice of German or English voices. To switch, you need to reinstall or you can add them manually from the game disc.
SilentHunter 5\data\LngGameData\Voices\German\data\movies
SilentHunter 5\data\LngGameData\Voices\German\data\sound
Just copy them over to the right location.


Returning to home port: Always check where your small blue port symbol is. That's where you are supposed to go home. I also returned to Kiel and then the next mission began out of Wilhelmshaven. I guess Doenitz moved my sub while I was in the bar.


If you are returning to port after finishing a patrol, and you cannot get the "Dock" icon to appear, so you can end patrol, hit SHIFT Z and toggle the UI and it will appear.

It may be necessary to toggle the interface with Shift Z to get the anchor icon to appear. Here is a demonstration, the anchor never appeared until I was completely in the pen I hit Shift Z and it appeared.
__________________

My jobs all seem to have sub/naval related titles. I've been a hotel manager on duty (MOD), a middle school substitute teacher (SUB), and now I steer TANKERS over the road.

Last edited by Neal Stevens; 03-22-2010 at 08:54 AM.
Neal Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:07 AM   #2
thruster
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 139
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

i would be interested to know if damaged ships actually slow from the convoy speed to eventually lag behind and out of the escort screen??
thruster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:25 AM   #3
sergei
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,798
Downloads: 405
Uploads: 29
Default

In bunker before patrol, hit 'Esc' to bring up realism options.

Fuel and battery levels are well hidden! Hit J to bring up torpedo screen. Then navigate to the Subsystems Tab. There you will find fuel, battery, CO2, compressed air levels and hull integrity.
__________________

A variety of mods for SH4 and 5

'It is pleasant, when the sea is high and the winds are dashing the waves about, to watch from the shores the struggles of another'

'You just keep thinking Butch. That's what you're good at'




Last edited by sergei; 03-03-2010 at 09:01 AM.
sergei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:09 AM   #4
shawnyp420
Loader
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 86
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default Status Report

Press enter on the keyboard to get a Status Report.
shawnyp420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:31 AM   #5
BlackSpot
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Shropshire UK
Posts: 266
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Deckgun sight is in the top left corner of the screen. Just click to use
BlackSpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 10:32 AM   #6
Dowly
ʇǝǝןɟ ɔıɟıɔɐd ɔuıc
 
Dowly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 21,697
Downloads: 15
Uploads: 0


Default

Ordering crew to man the deck/flak gun costs one (1) morale point for the watch officer.

Also, loading a saved game will reset everyone's morale to zero (0), so better get that special meal ability for the cook! 2x
__________________
Dowly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:40 PM   #7
Heretic
Commodore
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 647
Downloads: 208
Uploads: 2
Default

Turning off online saves.

It's not in any of the game screens. You have to click the little gear icon in the upper right of the Uplay launcher that comes up before the game.
Heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:43 PM   #8
Heretic
Commodore
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 647
Downloads: 208
Uploads: 2
Default

Travel Mode.

The icon on the right of the Time Compression panel turns on Travel Mode. With this active, T/C does not get reduced for shallow water, proximity to land, or nearby ships. Useful when going through safe areas like the Kiel Canal.
Heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:16 PM   #9
Frederf
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 883
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 1
Default

There's a Kiel Canal?
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:36 PM   #10
malkuth74
Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 502
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Default

Can't End your Patrol Mission? Gone back to your base and can't dock anymore. Well you have been resigned to a new base.

Open up the nav map and look for a symbol on one of the other Naval bases that looks like a Submarine. This is now your new base... So you have to land there.

Yes it would of been nice if BDU told you this.... But you know sometimes things happen.
__________________

malkuth74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 10:24 PM   #11
Highbury
Gooner
 
Highbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,192
Downloads: 156
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederf View Post
There's a Kiel Canal?
Yeah, it is actually in the stock game this time. We traded our compass, gramophone, radio and depth sounding equipment for it

Seriously though it looks pretty good but the locks are a bit tight for the AI, which just like in stock SH3 and 4, likes to run aground and blow up alot.
Highbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 10:12 AM   #12
kptn_kaiserhof
XO
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 420
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default

hey dowly whats next: more soup jokes
kptn_kaiserhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 11:16 AM   #13
Jeevz
Medic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
Default

Pressing Enter (on the keyboard not numpad) brings up the Sub Systems window so you can quickly check Fuel, Battery, CO2 and Compressed Air.

I've been seeing a lot of complaints about multiple clicks to see this info when it's really just one button away. Of course the manu... I mean, pamphlet doesn't relay this very well.
__________________
Commence to Jigglin


Jeevz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:56 PM   #14
SteamWake
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,946
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeevz View Post
Pressing Enter (on the keyboard not numpad) brings up the Sub Systems window so you can quickly check Fuel, Battery, CO2 and Compressed Air.

I've been seeing a lot of complaints about multiple clicks to see this info when it's really just one button away. Of course the manu... I mean, pamphlet doesn't relay this very well.
I'm sorry that doesent qualify as 'quickly checking' in my book. Quickly checking would be glancing at a tool bar at the bottom of the screen at an indicator not having to step through a series of menus.
__________________
Follow the progress of Mr. Mulligan : http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=147648
SteamWake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 01:09 PM   #15
Sub Commander
Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 54
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default Im a nub

Well im a nub when it comes down to manual torpedo fire, but even if i have everything off, and realism = 0% i still have to manually input data or the watch officer says: Unknown contact, fire on my bearing. (I cant find German voices on my disk anywhere please help me!)
Sub Commander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2014 Subsim