SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2010, 06:16 AM   #46
Decoman
Frogman
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 305
Downloads: 24
Uploads: 0
Default

I can't imagine that the crew would have a flag flying, except perhaps near harbours? (I have no idea, I don't know much about flags)

Idea for flags : Using alpha channel to create a worn out flag. Don't know how good the wear and tear will look, trying out some different resolution sizes might offer some variants. Perhaps even low res ones will look ok.

Hotkey support for turning on a flag in the wintergarden would be nice. If no animation can't be made, a fade in effect would look a bit better than a flag just popping up.

Maybe the German uboats had other kinds of flags as well?
Decoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:05 PM   #47
phlazza
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default thanks

Thanks etheberge, maybe yesterday I wasn't totally registered yet... because I have clicked today on the link and downloaded the file in few seconds.
Thanks
phlazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 07:07 PM   #48
wcl19830505
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

thanks
wcl19830505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 07:09 PM   #49
gbws
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

thanks
gbws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 09:44 AM   #50
Jovianmoon
Nub
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 6
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default Accurate German Flags

Looks great. I wish I could use it. Tried it with JGSME. Doesn't work. Looks like I'm stuck with politically correct markings. Oh well... thanks anyway.
Jovianmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 11:22 AM   #51
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 49,299
Downloads: 601
Uploads: 246


Default

WELCOME ABOARD!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovianmoon View Post
Looks great. I wish I could use it. Tried it with JGSME. Doesn't work. Looks like I'm stuck with politically correct markings. Oh well... thanks anyway.
Exactly which folder did you put into JSGME? It has to be done precisely or else it won't work. If you tried to put the first folder (the one with the zipper on it) JSGME can't read it. You need to take out the next folder (with exactly the same name but no zipper) and install that one.
__________________
"The way to get things done is not to mind who gets the credit for doing them."
-Benjamin Jowett, British theologian and classicist (1817-1893)


Sailor Steve is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:35 AM   #52
Jovianmoon
Nub
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 6
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
WELCOME ABOARD!

Exactly which folder did you put into JSGME? It has to be done precisely or else it won't work. If you tried to put the first folder (the one with the zipper on it) JSGME can't read it. You need to take out the next folder (with exactly the same name but no zipper) and install that one.
Thanks for the welcome Steve!

I decided to see if I had made a mistake with installing the mod, but now I can't launch the game at all. "Ubisoft Game Launcher: Error code 2".

I've had enough and uninstalled this game. I'll be quite satisfied to continue playing SH3 and 4. I objected to this whole "must be online to play" nonsense in the first place. I only relented and bought SH5 because it was on xmas special for $13.00. The disc will make an attractive coaster, however...

Thanks anyway. You might see me surface again in the SH3/SH4 forums.

Cheers me shiverin' maties.
Jovianmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 06:56 AM   #53
flostt
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 384
Downloads: 84
Uploads: 0
Default

jovianmoon, the online requirement has been removed....

see here : http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=189245
__________________
Von den 40'000 deutschen U-Boot-Männern des Zweiten Weltkrieges kehrten 30'000 nicht zurück...
40’000 German sailors served on U-boats during World War II – 30’000 never returned home...
flostt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 05:31 PM   #54
jrescalante
Watch
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 21
Downloads: 54
Uploads: 0
Default Stoianm Tutorials

Greetings Jovianmoon,

You may want want to watch some of Stoianm's tutorials. He has one on loading MODs. Not sure if it's listed in this thread, but you can also search for his channel on youtube if it isn't. Here's the link to the thread. Navigate to the first post in the thread.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=181538
jrescalante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:51 AM   #55
Jovianmoon
Nub
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 6
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flostt View Post
jovianmoon, the online requirement has been removed....

see here : http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=189245
Thanks flostt! I noticed the sticky when I just logged in.

I may be persuaded to give it another go... maybe
Jovianmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:56 AM   #56
Jovianmoon
Nub
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 6
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrescalante View Post
Greetings Jovianmoon,

You may want want to watch some of Stoianm's tutorials. He has one on loading MODs. Not sure if it's listed in this thread, but you can also search for his channel on youtube if it isn't. Here's the link to the thread. Navigate to the first post in the thread.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=181538
Thanks jrescalante, I'll have a look on youtube. Although, I've never had a problem with JSGME mod installs for SH3 and 4. Hell, including GWX, my SH3 is more mod than stock game...

See you on the high seas.
Jovianmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:33 AM   #57
bareklongboe
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Downloads: 7
Uploads: 0
Default Awesome

This mod is awesome and is a must have for authenticity.
bareklongboe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:33 PM   #58
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,990
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 9


Default Ctds

I installed this mod, but then the game started to CTD when the menu loaded, and I had to reinstall the game. Any idea how I can install the mod without ctds?
__________________
U-569 makes the contact and lead them, U-94 scores a kill in the dark! U-124 sinking four in two approaches, 406 suffers failure on launch again!
- From Wolfpack by Sabaton.


Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:55 PM   #59
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,093
Downloads: 682
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermat47 View Post
I installed this mod, but then the game started to CTD when the menu loaded, and I had to reinstall the game. Any idea how I can install the mod without ctds?
Hi Cybermat47,

honestly I cannot see how this mod could scrap the game: I've checked it, and it contains just a few textures. Besides this, it is an old and quite popular mod: if it had such a side effect, many would have complained before you.

My suggestion is to redownload it, just in case some of its files were corrupted during your first download, and to enable it again using JSGME.
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:24 PM   #60
GT182
Ocean Warrior
 
GT182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Castle of Delaware
Posts: 3,230
Downloads: 658
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Decoman View Post
I can't imagine that the crew would have a flag flying, except perhaps near harbours? (I have no idea, I don't know much about flags)
My same thought. There's no way I'd want a flag flying while I'm surfaced in enemy waters. A certain set distance from a Friendly or Home port would be ok. Just so they know who in hell you are due to strict radio silence orders. If you're surrenduring, that's a different story; and a white flag is needed.

Can anyone change this mod so a flag doesn't fly until a set distance from a German port? Say 10 to 20 KMs.

Or even a port in some Friendly countriy? The crew and I might want to sneak off to So. America and retire early.
__________________
Gary

No Borders, No Language, No Culture =s No Country

I'm a Deplorable, and proud of it.
GT182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
accurate , flag , flags , german , swastika

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim