SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2010, 08:07 PM   #1
Bilge_Rat
Skipper
 
Bilge_Rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: standing watch...
Posts: 3,191
Downloads: 280
Uploads: 0
Default share your online/DRM experience

I was wondering if anyone with the game (and internet of course) had any problem playing the game.

In my case, I played about 6+ hours over the past 2 days and had no problems.

The game starts quickly and I had zero interruptions in play.
__________________
Bilge_Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:14 PM   #2
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 9
Default

pretty painless for me so far, but i still dont like it.

Will be secrectly on the lookout for ways to "remove" it, just for principle.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:16 PM   #3
CCIP
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Waterloo, Canada
Posts: 8,947
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilge_Rat View Post
I was wondering if anyone with the game (and internet of course) had any problem playing the game.

In my case, I played about 6+ hours over the past 2 days and had no problems.

The game starts quickly and I had zero interruptions in play.
About same. The worst so far is that it just HAS to remind me that it's there every time I start the game.

No connection drops, no problems.

The leaderboard feature, about the only "benefit" of the system, is absolutely ridiculous though. It is full of hackers with billions of tons sunk and very blatant "cracked" account names. So much for "copy protection" working I hope they crack down on that, at the very least. It's making it all look like a joke.

I hope the DRM goes away but honestly, on a scale of 1 to 10, it's been 0 as far as having any effect of my experience with the game.
__________________

There are only forty people in the world and five of them are hamburgers.
-Don Van Vliet
(aka Captain Beefheart)
CCIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:25 PM   #4
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 9
Default

LOL yeah i saw that too, but those names are the names you choose for you career i think.

I chose something stupid (and different than my account name), and that "stupid" name showed up on that screen.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:27 PM   #5
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 9
Default

How do you switch careers?

I started one to play around with, and another "serious" one. But i can't figure out how to load my initial one. It only shows my current one in the load screens.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:33 PM   #6
Méo
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lévis, QC
Posts: 1,189
Downloads: 219
Uploads: 0
Default

No problem neither with OSP.

No problem with saving/loading delay.

OSP appart, it's not really about bugs or stability. The game seems to be missing some very important features, maybe I did not explore enough...
Méo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:50 PM   #7
thruster
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 139
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

well, its nice to hear that its not causing much grief so far.

whilst i havnt yet bought the game, my internet connection went thru a typical fail ALL of yesterday. so had i bought it, it would have been useless to me...

so lets get this straight; i have a day off work, i sit down and go "tops, lets go hunting" with my new TypeV11 uboat i just theoretically bought. can i? NO.

typical scenario. sucks to be me, huh.
thruster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 09:11 PM   #8
FIREWALL
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CATALINA IS. SO . CAL USA
Posts: 10,111
Downloads: 511
Uploads: 0
Default

For the short time I messed around with it I didn't have any problems.

So Far...
FIREWALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:02 PM   #9
DMB3428
Watch
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

no problems here, game seems to load up pretty fast...
DMB3428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:12 PM   #10
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 9
Default

Just had to wait almost a minute at the launcher for my online saves to get "syncrhonized" before launching.

I grew impatient waiting and then hit the settings button in the launcher and turned that feature off.. then lauched the game right away. Silly, i'm only playing from 1 PC, why the hell would i want to store my saves online?

Ironically it still gave me a syncrhonization message upon entering the main menu.

bleh.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:14 PM   #11
Elder-Pirate
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Morris, Illinois USA
Posts: 1,090
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Curious to know, are you ( any of you with new SHV ) running your Anti-Virus in the background? That and maybe a few other online necessary programs running?

Mainly any Anti-Virus is known to goof up your game one way or the other. In fact most games tell you do not run Anti-Virus when installing nor playing.

Meanwhile I'm playing SHIV behind closed doors ( offline hiding from UBI ) with about 75% process shut down in the background.

Scuse me here comes a Japanese oil tanker, gotta run.......er dive.


Good luck Captains.
__________________
Elder-Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:36 PM   #12
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 9
Default

Another problem:

Twice now, it has autosaved on me while using the hydrophone. And both times it kicked me out of the station.

No biggie i say, i just try to re-man the station.. but it wont let me. I keep clicking, walking around in circles and clicking on it again and again. Nothing happens. So i hit ESC then go back, and finally it lets me back in.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:35 AM   #13
Méo
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lévis, QC
Posts: 1,189
Downloads: 219
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elder-Pirate View Post
Curious to know, are you ( any of you with new SHV ) running your Anti-Virus in the background?
Yes, ESET Anti-Virus, no problem so far.

Few bugs but nothing close to SH4 on release (except for the crew on bridge, they don't report contacts). But it seems like there are other types of problems, few things missing.. kinda annoying. Maybe it's just me, time to adapt, I don't know. (don't take it too seriously, only my first impressions).

And my computer is getting really old.

Last edited by Méo; 03-01-2010 at 12:47 AM.
Méo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 02:46 AM   #14
russ555
Watch
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

I have never had any problems with any anti virus program effecting games other than AVG once had a false positive on a World of Warcraft file but i just ignored it.

I think that they just say to disable anti virus software as a way of covering themselves.
russ555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:27 AM   #15
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 9
Default

Connection problems today.

Both times i started the game i get "Failed to syncrhonize saved games". Even though i have it setup to not do that.

And both times when trying to load my last save the game says this immediately after the long load screen:

"The game experiences connection problems. Please wait until the game can resume. You can exit to main menu by pusing OK."

I push OK, and get dumped back to main menu. Try again and it loads.


I'm not a fan.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim