SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2010, 10:05 PM   #31
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

The game freezes my PC.

Game will run fine for awhile, but sooner or later the computer will freeze and i hear screeching out of the speakers. Doesn't happen in other games play (which are actually more graphic intense as well).

Maybe it doesn't like my ol' Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:08 PM   #32
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

When talking to that guy in the sub-pen to choose & plan your next mission.. you can plot out your course in that same screen. But when you enter the sub, the plot is gone.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:09 PM   #33
Webster
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 6,219
Downloads: 259
Uploads: 55


Default

might be a sound card driver issue that didnt show up until now
__________________
.
My Mods.~~/~~ (GFO) Game Fixes Only Mod.~~/~~ Mod Soup Fix
Webster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:10 PM   #34
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webster View Post
might be a sound card driver issue that didnt show up until now
I may switch to my onboard SoundMAX HD, if this keeps up.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:10 PM   #35
ThePinkSubmarine
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona - No Ocean Here!
Posts: 42
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

What are you running under the hood in your PC? This almost sounds to me like it could be just as much the graphic card's fault as it could be an actual 'bug' in the game...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Soviet_Warlord View Post

Water tiling! A graphics bug that might be a limitation of the game engine, but should never have been permitted to remain in SH5. And I'm seeing it a lot. Clear patterns in ocean waves when seen from certain angles is an immersion-killer that looks dreadful. The water in SH5 would be very good without this problem.
ThePinkSubmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:11 PM   #36
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 20,178
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
The game freezes my PC.

Game will run fine for awhile, but sooner or later the computer will freeze and i hear screeching out of the speakers. Doesn't happen in other games play (which are actually more graphic intense as well).

Maybe it doesn't like my ol' Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS.
Not that I have the game but try turning sound off within the game from the game options and play, just to test!
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:14 PM   #37
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

I just switched to my SoundMax... and am also going to be running speedFan on the next try to make sure nothing is overheating.

will report.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:27 PM   #38
Méo
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lévis, QC
Posts: 1,160
Downloads: 219
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober View Post
Sub on rails . The sub should move up and down like the sub in my signature video . This would really bring the immersion up to a new level.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dowly View Post
This. It's starting to be pretty unforgivable that they keep ignoring this.
From what I've experienced so far. this problem is particularly true in very bad weather.

In relatively calm seas, the boat behaviour is a bit better than SH3.

Still, I agree with you, this very little improvement is far from being enough, and I can hardly understand why they failed at it.
Méo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:38 PM   #39
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

Forgot to add:

Periscope doesn't follow a target that is locked.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:20 PM   #40
Iron Budokan
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,780
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The General View Post
So crew cant die in SH5? Is that confirmed by somebody who's actually played the game??
It wouldn't be surprising the SubPG Crew with those cheesy biographies can't be killed, but kind of a bummer someone else on the boat can't kick the bucket. Just some random guy. Then again, if they did, I guess the Dev team would have to show the corpse lying in his bunk or something, since there are only 27 guys on the boat to begin with, iirc?

Immortal crew. Nice. Can they at least be wounded?
__________________
"You will take on England wherever you find her ships, and you will break her power at sea." --Iron Coffins, Herbert A. Werner

http://kennethmarkhoover.com
Iron Budokan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:34 PM   #41
ddrgn
Korvettenkapitän
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 918
Downloads: 362
Uploads: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
Forgot to add:

Periscope doesn't follow a target that is locked.
Thats not realistic. And you dont want that anyways, sometimes you want to lead the shots, now you can change the bearing simple and easy... You can also hold a target now without having to stay locked on, you can look and identify other boats while keeping your soltuions for another.

I have already added the toggle PK lock key via the commands.cfg. I can lock that, but i hardly us it because I am able to compensate the solution manually via the proper math (like a real captain would).

The game is forcing you to be a real captian now. So for some saying the immersion is lacking is showing how poorly you understand the role of a captain and the uboat as a whole.
ddrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:51 PM   #42
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

yes i know its realistic that the scope can't lock on something, but i always viewed it as a helper to keep the scope on the ship of interest while you do other things.

It's a bit of a pain trying to identify the ship or use the stadimeter when the ship is moving across my scope.

couple that with not being able to use the arrow keys to rotate the scope anymore and im getting a headache. I move my mouse over to do some plotting on the mini-map then have to jump back to the scope to turn it.. fiddle with the torpedos.. then have to jump back to the scope and turn it a few degrees.. rinse and repeat.

trying to adjust.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 11:57 PM   #43
quad5
Soundman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 147
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 0
Default



This mast on originals was not!
quad5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:02 AM   #44
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
I just switched to my SoundMax... and am also going to be running speedFan on the next try to make sure nothing is overheating.

will report.
Played for more than an hour without a freeze. Longest stint yet.

Seems the soundcard switch did it so far. hopefully it holds up.
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:03 AM   #45
capthelm
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 522
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
Forgot to add:

Periscope doesn't follow a target that is locked.

i think it might be like sh4 , if the periscope goes under water from highwaves the scope does break lock.

possibly same for sh5
__________________

"One torpedo ... one ship"
my SH5 lighting mod http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkM5k8SXpWo
my SH5 audio mod http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIN5RHeL8B8
capthelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim