SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2010, 05:58 PM   #61
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default Planesmen

I've given some thought to the issue of no planesmen being present except at GQ, and I think I've found a good solution:



In regards to the image above, I've removed six slots from Hogan's Alley and added six slots to the control room (the last two columns). The idea is that, the player can now move two men from each bridge watch to man the dive planes and the rest as described in the manual.

Thoughts, comments?
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 07:51 PM   #62
Nbjackso
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Posts: 175
Downloads: 444
Uploads: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeFF View Post
I've given some thought to the issue of no planesmen being present except at GQ, and I think I've found a good solution. . . I've removed six slots from Hogan's Alley and added six slots to the control room (the last two columns). The idea is that, the player can now move two men from each bridge watch to man the dive planes and the rest as described in the manual.

Thoughts, comments?
Regarding the crew in the CR, I have always thought the sailors manning the switchboard and the ballast manifold were never necessary. Why not use their spots for the planesmen. However, now that the switchboard looks like it does something, maybe have one planesman manning the depth controls and leave the guy at the switchboard during normal steaming ops. I must insist that during GQ all stations be manned. (I just love a crowded sub).
__________________


Just get me within 1000 yards,
and I'll d
o the rest
Nbjackso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:05 PM   #63
Bubblehead1980
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida and Louisiana
Posts: 4,543
Downloads: 359
Uploads: 18
Default

Personally I like the idea, need two slots open for dive planes.In stock I remember gar/tambors would have one sailor sitting at dive planes when placed in slots, looked damn silly, very important station that needs to be manned.I always move most of my deck watch into the control room when I dive anyway.Sure it can be a pain but from everything I read the control room was not fully manned on each watch, the OOD and lookouts slid down the ladder and took out.Chief on watch prob began the process by opening vents and all.

Even in current RFB, only diving officer and helm station stays manned, when I dive, order dive and quickly place the deck watch inside, move the OOD to the conning tower.Sounds picky but just how I have always operated, gives something to do since all one has to do in dive is hit the D key.
Bubblehead1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:16 PM   #64
Gato76
Planesman
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 192
Downloads: 81
Uploads: 0
Default

Great job RFB team a big improvement over the previous version,I think i found an issue with the Terusuki escorts,their dead charges rack in the back of the ship are missing, so they just hover all over unable to attack,this happen in campaign mode march 1943 , a bug maybe ?
Gato76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:37 PM   #65
Carotio
Mr. Bad Wolf
 
Carotio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aabenraa, Denmark
Posts: 1,474
Downloads: 47
Uploads: 0


Default

@LukeFF and all

RFB2.0 is now ready from SHMF too:
http://www.silenthuntermods.com/foru...php?board=35.0

And you may add this link to the front post.
__________________

Download my mods from SHMF
Follow my photography here
taler dansk, speak English, spreche Deutsch, parle fraais, forstår svenska/norsk, comprendo castellano
Carotio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:22 AM   #66
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carotio View Post
@LukeFF and all

RFB2.0 is now ready from SHMF too:
http://www.silenthuntermods.com/foru...php?board=35.0

And you may add this link to the front post.
Thanks!
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:22 AM   #67
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gato76 View Post
Great job RFB team a big improvement over the previous version,I think i found an issue with the Terusuki escorts,their dead charges rack in the back of the ship are missing, so they just hover all over unable to attack,this happen in campaign mode march 1943 , a bug maybe ?
Are you using any mods other than RFB?
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:25 AM   #68
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nbjackso View Post
Regarding the crew in the CR, I have always thought the sailors manning the switchboard and the ballast manifold were never necessary. Why not use their spots for the planesmen. However, now that the switchboard looks like it does something, maybe have one planesman manning the depth controls and leave the guy at the switchboard during normal steaming ops. I must insist that during GQ all stations be manned. (I just love a crowded sub).
The thing is that there was always a man at the switchboard (typically an Electricians' Mate) and at the ballast controls (typically a Machinist's Mate or Fireman). The Kriegsmarine used a similar setup as well, except that they didn't have a separate EM rating.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:38 AM   #69
HMCS
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Squaresville, daddy-O.
Posts: 394
Downloads: 186
Uploads: 0
Default

I just finished a patrol in the E. China sea in December - I noticed that there was fog/mist pretty much every day, even though the weather was given as clear. I found that the radar operator, even when there are clearly blips to be seen, couldn't report anything.

Pretty much impossible to target anything even though the ship is clearly silhouetted. This also makes convoy attacks nigh on suicidal.
__________________
"Turning enemy ships into marine habitat since 1986!"

Mods Loaded:TMO 2.2, RSRDC, MaxOptics, Strategic Map Symbols, Stop The Shouting
OR:
RFB, RSRDC, Maxoptics, SCAF, Strategic Map Symbols and the sanity-saving "stop the shouting".
HMCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:40 AM   #70
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubblehead1980 View Post
Personally I like the idea, need two slots open for dive planes.In stock I remember gar/tambors would have one sailor sitting at dive planes when placed in slots, looked damn silly, very important station that needs to be manned.I always move most of my deck watch into the control room when I dive anyway.Sure it can be a pain but from everything I read the control room was not fully manned on each watch, the OOD and lookouts slid down the ladder and took out.Chief on watch prob began the process by opening vents and all.
That's pretty much how it worked in reality. From all of my research, this is how I gather the conning tower and control room watches worked:
  • Sonar: the WCA sonar unit was typically not manned while on the surface, unless the CO ordered otherwise. When submerged, one man would man the right-hand set of controls. At GQ, a second man would man the left-hand set of controls.
  • Radar: SJ radar was manned on the surface only or at radar depth.
  • The Junior Officer of the Deck (JOOD) was stationed either in the conning tower or on the bridge while surfaced. Upon submerging the JOOD would assume the role of diving officer and move to the control room, and the OOD would take his place in the conning tower.
  • The helmsman typically steered the boat from the conning tower. From what I can gather, the steering station in the control room was used only in emergencies.
  • The chief petty officer of the watch was typically either CPO or 1st class machinist whose watch station was at the Xmas tree in the control room.
  • As described above, there was an EM at the switchboard and either a machinist or fireman at the ballast controls.
  • The dive planes were manned by the lookouts when either (a) the boat was submerged or (b) the boat was at GQ.
Note that I did not mention anything about the navigator. Contrary to what SH4's interiors show, there was not a chart desk in the control room, at least in the Gato and later boats.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 06:38 AM   #71
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,154
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 2


Default

Are you sure about that Luke? I recall having seen pictures of Balaos with the navigation table clearly present, with a glass surface and illuminated below. Was that an after-war addition, when subs spent more time underwater?

See this: http://www.maritime.org/tour/cr.php?pano=fl

Isn't the charts table what is next to the green table with a rounded porthole (I think that green table is the Gyrocompass)?

In any case, where was the assitant officer that made the plot on a maneuvering board based on the captain's range/bearing estimations as called by the guy who readed the scope bearing vernier/stadimeter? I think he was in the CT, but where?
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 11:04 AM   #72
Gato76
Planesman
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 192
Downloads: 81
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeFF View Post
Are you using any mods other than RFB?
Only RFB
Gato76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:48 PM   #73
Sone7
Torpedoman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 116
Downloads: 132
Uploads: 0
Default

I keep getting CTDs; german campaign from OM, didn't happen earlier (before RFB 2.0).

Same place (CG82), same time (night 28 Sept '41, campaign Sept '41, moving to Salamis as first patrol objective) and circumstances - large convoy heading north escorted by +/- 4 corvettes (one of them is the only vessel spotted by the crew).
mods:
RFB 2.0
RSRDC v575 + 5xx patch
OM v705 + v720 patch
RUIM (both enlisted ranks & awards)

I have no idea what the reason might be, no difference if I'm inside the boat or on the bridge; seems to CTD just about 30 seconds after I load the game.

edit:
I've left the convoy and since that everything's fine. Must've been the escort... I hope you manage to find the solution, still though, RFB shows a piece of good work you've done, thank you!!!

Last edited by Sone7; 01-03-2010 at 01:52 PM.
Sone7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:12 PM   #74
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,154
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 2


Default

OK, I returned my Sargo sub to base, loaded RFB 2.0 (Previously running 1.52 with some tweaks) and have checked the radar mod. It seems to work correctly except for the bearing indicator The true course dial (A repeater of the main ship's Gyrocompass) is stuck, and only the relative bearings dial is rotating. I think that in the instructions from my mod a fix was indicated, but I will check the RFB files directly ASAP.

Other than that, I also miss being able to knock down the masts in the Sampans but not the contact icons, as I play without map updates.

The new interior textures and rounded indcators are great, looking forward to see more subs implemented, as I usually play with P, Sargos and S-Class, only rarely with Tambor/Gato/Balao/Tench
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 03:35 PM   #75
BGrey
Watch
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 0
Default

I loaded up RFB 2 and started a new campaign with no issues until I went to sea, the interior of the sub never really loaded and most of the UI buttons were just white boxes. I lagged a ton and CTD once i tried to click something.

RFB_2.0
RFB_2.0_Patch1
RSRDC_RFB_V575
RSRDC_V5xx_Patch1
OpsMonsun_V705
OMv705_to_V720

Turned off OM and had no problems until I went up to the bridge while outside pearl and I almost instantly CTD (this had been happening with 1.52 as well though and only happens around ports).

Last edited by BGrey; 01-03-2010 at 03:59 PM.
BGrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim