SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 U-Boat Missions Add On
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2008, 02:23 AM   #61
Ragtag
Commodore
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 620
Downloads: 159
Uploads: 0
Default

There are a few bugs reported here that i have never seen or managed to produce.
Try do a clean install. First SH4 then addon... no patches between. This way one can be sure there are no files left from mods or similar problems that may have occured.
__________________

Intel I7-4930K CPU.
16Gb Kingston Beast 2400MHz
Rampage IV Formula MB
EVGA GTX980 SLI
Fortron 1000W PSU.
Asus ROG Swift LCD
Ragtag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 03:30 AM   #62
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Type IX does 22 knots on the surface in a quick mission. The real thing could do only 19.2. Even after editing this in S3D I still was making 22 knots.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:33 AM   #63
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

More on the speed thing. This seems really screwed up. In the Type IX, tell the CE to set speed to, say, 15 knots, and the boat will run at 17. Tell the CE to set speed to 10 knots, he will acknowledge 10 knots, but the game sets it to 12.

Something here is just not right. I did not have any crewmen with special abilities to increase the submarine's speed. This problem does not exist with the American boats I have tried out.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:40 AM   #64
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

On another note, I just realized something with the voice acting: all of the crew models move their lips as if they were speaking in German, no matter if German or English crew voices are used. I guess this explains why it looks like the American crewmen make a guppy impression sometimes when they speak.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:44 AM   #65
Raptor1
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stavka
Posts: 8,216
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0


Default

That just seems wrong, they didn't implement German voices but the animations are German? Someone in Ubi has spent too much underwater without surfacing...
Raptor1 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:46 AM   #66
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor1
That just seems wrong, they didn't implement German voices but the animations are German? Someone in Ubi has spent too much underwater without surfacing...
Yep, all of the lip movments are in German, even for the American crews.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:48 AM   #67
Raptor1
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stavka
Posts: 8,216
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0


Default

It's like they wanted to implement the German voices,
but decided being lazy halfway through and
not even fixing what they broke...

Like the Snorkel!
Raptor1 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 05:51 AM   #68
Captain von Keldunk
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 21
KDB Hydrophone head bug

Hello
KDB hydrophone head 90deg off vertical and in wrong place


:rotfl:
__________________
SH
Captain von Keldunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 06:23 AM   #69
AOTD_MadMax
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bremen/Germany
Posts: 752
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 1
Default

This Addon is an big bug !

The german cruiser "Deutschland" comes without any sound and it seems that they have stolen this unit from Gerome, who modded this unit.
Reason : They forgott the DSD.file of this unit.

I play 1.4 cause it is better.

In my eyes the producers of this addon are noobs, bloddy noobs.
The modders from this community got more knowledge as this nooby UBI-team.

Greets

Maddy
__________________
AOTD is gone, iam the last survivor ........
AOTD_MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 06:28 AM   #70
elanaiba
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 1,052
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AOTD_MadMax
The german cruiser "Deutschland" comes without any sound and it seems that they have stolen this unit from Gerome, who modded this unit.
Sir, that is a straight accusation. And the cruiser was made by our artists.
__________________
With strength I burn...

elanaiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 06:41 AM   #71
AOTD_MadMax
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bremen/Germany
Posts: 752
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 1
Default

Explain this :

Unit-folder of "Deutschland" called : NCA_Deutschland
Some files of this ship called NBC_GrafSpee_xxx and other files called NCA_Deutschland_xxx.

Normaly all files of an unit got same names. Why this unit an some other units of this addon got different name-files ?
Did your team didnt know where everyone is working on ?

This filename-structure is an example for this addon. In German we say " das ist absoluter Kuddelmuddel ".

The most modders here from this community didnt earn any money for their work and they produce much more better things as i ever seen from UBI and this modders didnt use kashmir for their work.
They work with small selfmade-tools.
Give them your kashmir-tool and you will see that SH4 grows up to an big nice subsim without this stupid bugs.


MFG

AOTD|MadMax
__________________
AOTD is gone, iam the last survivor ........

Last edited by AOTD_MadMax; 03-02-2008 at 06:54 AM.
AOTD_MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 06:53 AM   #72
elanaiba
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 1,052
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 3
Default

The artist thought the ship as a battlecruiser -> NBC which is what it was designed as.

When I created the folder to put the ship in the game I used the real Kriegsmarine classification from 1940, of Heavy Cruiser -> CA -> NCA

I didn't change the dat file name since I wanted the artists not to be confused (too much). Also since the Graf Spee was long gone by the time the U-boat campaign starts, I thought it was more appropriate to use the class name of "Deustschland".

Sorry if this mixup of file names is disturbing to you.
A) it doesn't affect you as a player. The game takes place not in file explorer but in 3D graphics.
B) its not a proof that we stole the model from anyone, which of course we did NOT!

Again, i would be more careful before launching accusation like that in an open forum.
__________________
With strength I burn...

elanaiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 06:57 AM   #73
Penelope_Grey
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,893
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

This must qualify as a bit of a bug.
__________________

I SURVIVED THE FIRST EVER SUBSIM WEREWOLF HUNT - and... I actually won the game for the humans too!
Penelope_Grey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 07:05 AM   #74
sober
Ace of the deep .
 
sober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,099
Downloads: 892
Uploads: 73


Default

Maybe we could have a thread titled Bugs fixed by modders . Modding is half the fun isnt it
sober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 07:08 AM   #75
AOTD_MadMax
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bremen/Germany
Posts: 752
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 1
Default

Hmm,

why did any artist of your team work out the Graf Spee for an szenario in Pacific ?
Didnt they know that the Spee was gone in december 1939 ?
Your explanation of this "Kuddelmuddel" doesnt make any sense to me ! Sorry for that.
I take a look to the 3Dmoddel and to the number of polygons of this unit.
After this i will see clearer.

Greets

AOTD|MadMax
__________________
AOTD is gone, iam the last survivor ........
AOTD_MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim