SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 U-Boat Missions Add On
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2008, 01:40 AM   #46
CCIP
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Waterloo, Canada
Posts: 8,947
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 2


Default

Actually the radar seems to turn off fine after you turn off the constant sweep. Or just turning off the sweep seems to have the same effect, even.
__________________

There are only forty people in the world and five of them are hamburgers.
-Don Van Vliet
(aka Captain Beefheart)
CCIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 01:41 AM   #47
ktrboston
Gunner
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: quincy, ma
Posts: 100
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnspot
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerritJ9
Has anybody located where to alter torpedo depth and speed settings when playing the IXD2 in V1.5? I haven't! I hope the devs haven't forgotten this........
Yep, I hope I'm not going blind...I don't see any way to adjust the fish either; in addition, the attack map doesn't seem to have a key anymore (i.e. can't find it). It's talked about in the revamped help pages, but it is no longer listed among the stations with a key.

I see those gauges just fine both speed and depth on the attack map
__________________
Kapitan Clauus on a 5 day shakedown patrol. New crew, new Kapitan waiting for results.

Using GWX 3.0
ktrboston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 01:43 AM   #48
ktrboston
Gunner
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: quincy, ma
Posts: 100
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCIP
Actually the radar seems to turn off fine after you turn off the constant sweep. Or just turning off the sweep seems to have the same effect, even.
thanks that seemed to do the trick but this might be a dumb quesiton wont the enemy see your radar signature if it is always on?
__________________
Kapitan Clauus on a 5 day shakedown patrol. New crew, new Kapitan waiting for results.

Using GWX 3.0
ktrboston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 01:59 AM   #49
Burnspot
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktrboston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnspot
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerritJ9
Has anybody located where to alter torpedo depth and speed settings when playing the IXD2 in V1.5? I haven't! I hope the devs haven't forgotten this........
Yep, I hope I'm not going blind...I don't see any way to adjust the fish either; in addition, the attack map doesn't seem to have a key anymore (i.e. can't find it). It's talked about in the revamped help pages, but it is no longer listed among the stations with a key.
I see those gauges just fine both speed and depth on the attack map
I don't see any way to get to the attack map anymore (and therefore the fish guages); it's not listed in the key commands. Perhaps it's just the IXD2.
Burnspot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 02:27 AM   #50
Thunder
Soundman
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: cape Town
Posts: 141
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 0
Default

No shortcut key that i know of but if you are in your periscope view there are 10 square buttons at the bottom, button 7 is the attack map view, in there are the speed and depth settings.Hope it helps.
Thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 04:02 AM   #51
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Other than the lack of german voices, these audio files stand out as "odd," as they're all spoken in english

-Relieve the watch
-Secure from battlestations
-Passing thermal layer (never even have heard of U-boats having such a device)
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 06:57 AM   #52
Toltol
Nub
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

I really like the addon especially since I don't like the "normal" pacific theatre represented in SH4. However I've noticed a few bugs:

- Light flaks on IX completely useless due to false / bad positioned crosshairs, i.d. the guns shoot at the middle of the screen, but the crosshairs are not centered. This also means that the AI never hits with these guns. 37mm flaks work alright, 20mm quad seems broken aswell.

- Opening torpedotubes only works for a single tube, i.d. if you are preparing a fan shot you cannot open all the required tubes.

- Some specials seem broken, e.g. Torpedo-Specialist (or Expert) is supposed to give you a small boost to the torp speed in general, yet that boost is way too high or gets applied in a wrong way (time to target for a 2 mile distance run under 10 seconds...).

- Flak stations and deck gun stations can be manned even in storms (quite handy ).

- 20mm flaks in general have very low ammunition (~200).

- Typ XVIII sub seems rather weak due to low speed and insufficient fuel reserves - while the walther device enables superfast submerged speed it only has very limited fuel. Surface speed and normal submerged speed are lower compared to the IX which is horrible since you have to travel so long distances.

There are a couple of other minor ones aswell, but the above are the most annoying for me.
Toltol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 07:51 AM   #53
Frenssen
Sparky
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 155
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

The hydrophone detects ships from a long distance while the boat is surfaced.

Last edited by Frenssen; 03-01-2008 at 08:28 AM.
Frenssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:13 AM   #54
capthelm
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 522
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
Default

since i fixed my audio drivers its been good for me, again...few quirks here and there.., my first time i was in a panic this cant be on a top system?


..these drivers can be a real pain in the ass.. at times.
__________________

"One torpedo ... one ship"
my SH5 lighting mod http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkM5k8SXpWo
my SH5 audio mod http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIN5RHeL8B8
capthelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:13 AM   #55
Paajtor
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Dutch mountains
Posts: 1,501
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toltol

- Opening torpedotubes only works for a single tube, i.d. if you are preparing a fan shot you cannot open all the required tubes.
Try if you can go into the conning-tower.
In SH3, you can go there and manually flip the open-tube switches, of the tubes you want to open.
__________________



Paajtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 05:26 PM   #56
Paajtor
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Dutch mountains
Posts: 1,501
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 1
Default

Not sure if it's a bug, but I found no way to get a weather-report, in an umoddified 1.5-game...in an American career.
__________________



Paajtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 05:43 PM   #57
Raptor22ADF
Watch
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Near Loch Mich
Posts: 26
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

New American mission; saved whilst setting options, crew, guns & sensors; and then again in port. Sailed out of Pearl, saved, exit to Windows to perform RL (real life) chores.

Relaunched, reloaded, and ... ... "Passing Thermal Layer" every few seconds.
__________________

Ensign, why is every third ping a knocking noise?
Raptor22ADF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 09:20 PM   #58
badaboom
Weps
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 353
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

Hmmm I can't get the Hydrophone to show up even with realistic sensors checked,anyone else?


******EDIT************Thanks LukeFF,The free camera mod for ROW was the problem.

Last edited by badaboom; 03-02-2008 at 01:00 PM.
badaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:16 AM   #59
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badaboom
Hmmm I can't get the Hydrophone to show up even with realistic sensors checked,anyone else?
Nope. Mods installed?
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:17 AM   #60
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toltol
- Typ XVIII sub seems rather weak due to low speed and insufficient fuel reserves - while the walther device enables superfast submerged speed it only has very limited fuel. Surface speed and normal submerged speed are lower compared to the IX which is horrible since you have to travel so long distances.
The XVIII was projected to have only a 3000-nautical mile endurance on diesels, and that's what the game models it as. Can always be tweaked with S3D if you want to make it like a Type XXI.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim