SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 U-Boat Missions Add On
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2008, 05:44 PM   #31
Yoram777
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kingdom of the Netherlands
Posts: 73
Downloads: 60
Uploads: 2
Default crew bug

First I have to say that this add-on is a must have for a SH4 player and especially the new sub upgrade system is much better than the original one.

Besides the standard SH4 flaws, the only seriously annoying thing is the American voices on German subs
But I simply use the SH3 + GWX2 voices as a temporary solution.

But German crews sure are strange, apparently they're extremely good at holding their breath so looks like I have that crew bug as well, but it only happened for the first time near the end of my first mission, and I dind't save while submerged so I guess it just happens randomly..

Yoram777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 05:53 PM   #32
Ragtag
Commodore
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 620
Downloads: 159
Uploads: 0
Default

The transparant "bug" isnt a bug i think. Maybe a graphicsengine limitation just as the lights from the lighttowers shining through objects. I guess they would have fixed it if they could. The way to get rid of the transparent thing is to turn off volumetric fog.
__________________

Intel I7-4930K CPU.
16Gb Kingston Beast 2400MHz
Rampage IV Formula MB
EVGA GTX980 SLI
Fortron 1000W PSU.
Asus ROG Swift LCD
Ragtag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:07 PM   #33
GerritJ9
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 389
Downloads: 47
Uploads: 6
Default

Has anybody located where to alter torpedo depth and speed settings when playing the IXD2 in V1.5? I haven't! I hope the devs haven't forgotten this........
__________________
Quamvis Patiens Acris

My SH3/SH4 mods: http://www.gamefront.com/files/user/GerritJ9
GerritJ9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:12 PM   #34
Navarre
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 101
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragtag
The way to get rid of the transparent thing is to turn off volumetric fog.
No, only a turn off enviromental filter cure this bug.

The bug is the result of an incorrect programming of the Z-order during the render process. I develop 3D entertainemnt applications for years and this is a typical beginner mistake in the use of pixel-shader with render engines.
Navarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:24 PM   #35
FIREWALL
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CATALINA IS. SO . CAL USA
Posts: 10,111
Downloads: 511
Uploads: 0
Default

I have saved plenty of times underwater with no problems.

But I let 'em get in the ****ing boat first.:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
__________________
RIP FIREWALL

I Play GWX. Silent Hunter Who ???
FIREWALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:12 PM   #36
Jake Nukem
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
Default

I think i may have encountered a bug, dunno why it happens but after a certain time under water teh CO2 levels just keep going up and dont refresh even after you surface, its really annoying because i can't make it back to base with the levels i have now.

Anyone else have this problem?
Jake Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:16 PM   #37
CCIP
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Waterloo, Canada
Posts: 8,947
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 2


Default

Another person reported this CO2 thing. I have not seen it yet.
I HAVE, however, seen compressed air spontaneously run out after ordering a crash dive. It only seems to happen when crash diving, normal dives don't affect it. However it charges back up when you surface.
With that though, I have noticed a positive feature: it seems like compressed air is actually used by the boat while manuevering now instead of being a basically useless stat.

And weird. Today I reloaded the save game from yesterday where my crew wasn't leaving the conning tower, and they now go in properly again when I dive. Go figure!
__________________

There are only forty people in the world and five of them are hamburgers.
-Don Van Vliet
(aka Captain Beefheart)
CCIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:23 PM   #38
Jake Nukem
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
Default

Well, i saved and loaded and it looks like that fixed the problem, might do some further testing...
Jake Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:32 PM   #39
Kapitan_Phillips
Silent Hunter
 
Kapitan_Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gallifrey
Posts: 3,909
Downloads: 164
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake Nukem
Well, i saved and loaded and it looks like that fixed the problem, might do some further testing...
I shall have to investiage. Welcome aboard, by the way. And nice username :rotfl:
__________________
Well, here's another nice mess you've gotten me into.
Kapitan_Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:52 PM   #40
kiwi_2005
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Aeoteroa
Posts: 7,392
Downloads: 223
Uploads: 1
Default

One thing i have found in the last two patrols is there are a lack of escorts in the convoys, ive come across many small convoys with 5 or 6 ships and its been easy pickings - no escorts, one did have a small tug boat with a measly gun, no fear of getting depth chraged. Playing with everything enabled except external view and manual targetting. Its still 1943 and a piece of cake - 71000 tons after two patrols Of course i can't miss with auto targetting...
__________________
RIP kiwi_2005



Those who can't laugh at themselves leave the job to others.



kiwi_2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:56 PM   #41
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi_2005
One thing i have found in the last two patrols is there are a lack of escorts in the convoys, ive come across many small convoys with 5 or 6 ships and its been easy pickings - no escorts, one did have a small tug boat with a measly gun, no fear of getting depth chraged. Playing with everything enabled except external view and manual targetting. Its still 1943 and a piece of cake - 71000 tons after two patrols Of course i can't miss with auto targetting...
Escort protection for shipping in the Indian Ocean was at first greatly lacking, because the British just didn't expect the U-boats to show up there. It was until later that the situation changed.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:59 PM   #42
stabiz
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,225
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Default

Unfortunately, i have the crew-on-bridge-while-underwater-problem myself, and my first patrol ended in tears as my co2-levels went banzai while surfaced, and my men died.

Tried a new patrol now, and found that the crew leaves the bridge (and come back when I surface) if I DONT save the game and reload OR alt+tab. Finished an entire patrol from Penang and back with lots of lurking about looking for the Allies, and no problemos. (Besides my expensive Falke torpedo going boom approx 400 metres from my boat)

PS: I still get the old stuttering if I let the game run on both cpu cores, but if I limit it to one, it runs like butter. The game looks awesome, runs great and that IXD2 is one beautiful 3D model. Hooray!
__________________
stabiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 12:20 AM   #43
CCIP
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Waterloo, Canada
Posts: 8,947
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 2


Default

Another small thing I found - the engine sound positioning is backwards when in the interior of the boat. The sounds are coming from the fore of the boat when the engines are aft of the command room. The bow wake sound, conversely, is coming from the aft.
__________________

There are only forty people in the world and five of them are hamburgers.
-Don Van Vliet
(aka Captain Beefheart)
CCIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 01:10 AM   #44
Burnspot
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GerritJ9
Has anybody located where to alter torpedo depth and speed settings when playing the IXD2 in V1.5? I haven't! I hope the devs haven't forgotten this........
Yep, I hope I'm not going blind...I don't see any way to adjust the fish either; in addition, the attack map doesn't seem to have a key anymore (i.e. can't find it). It's talked about in the revamped help pages, but it is no longer listed among the stations with a key.
Burnspot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 01:38 AM   #45
ktrboston
Gunner
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: quincy, ma
Posts: 100
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default Radar bug??

I too have noticed the watch crew enjoying a swim down in the deep depths but I also noticed the radar automatically turn on after you have shut it off. Really don't want to give my position up that easilly. Also it comes on after you surface.
I think its possible the radar turns on from high seas or bad weather. It would seem logical if it does turn on immediately when you surface. Has anyone else notice this. I have noticed it during time compression and at normal time-compression.
__________________
Kapitan Clauus on a 5 day shakedown patrol. New crew, new Kapitan waiting for results.

Using GWX 3.0
ktrboston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim