Click here to access the Helosim website
SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
BUYING GAMES, BOOKS, ELECTRONICS, and STUFF THROUGH THIS LINK SUPPORTS SUBSIM, THANKS!

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Helosim.com and Flight Sims

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2007, 03:33 PM   #1
Skybird
One Who Soars
 
Skybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,332
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0


Default Level-D 767 flightplan converter?

Owners of the Level-D 767 certainly know that the FMC cannot read flightplans constructed with FS9 or a tool like for example FS Commander. However, every once in a while I check and search and ask if maybe meanwhile a converter tool has been developed by somebody? For wilco 767 and FS2002, at least Navigator 4.5 was capable to produce 767-compatible flightplans. It does not work with Level-D's 767 for FS2004, and I do not use Navigator anymore anyway, but FS Commander 7.7.

as the Beta-team for 767 admitted, in real world flightplans usually get uploaded to the FMC, are only rarely are typed in by hand. I consider it to be a minor... irritation. At least it is no fun.

So give me a converter, please.
__________________
What distinguishes capitalism from communism? In communism, companies first get nationalized and then ruined, in capitalism they get first ruined and then nationalized. - (Vaclav Klaus)
Skybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 06:06 AM   #2
Seeadler
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern Germany
Posts: 3,078
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 0


Default

AFAIK one of the updates for FS Commander include exporting to Level-D format.
__________________
--
Vapor-ware is always easier to sell because there's no limit what it can do!
Seeadler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 06:14 AM   #3
Skybird
One Who Soars
 
Skybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,332
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0


Default

Grrrr... I need to check that, Im running FSC 7.7, but have missed so far there is 767 compatability.
__________________
What distinguishes capitalism from communism? In communism, companies first get nationalized and then ruined, in capitalism they get first ruined and then nationalized. - (Vaclav Klaus)
Skybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 06:25 AM   #4
Skybird
One Who Soars
 
Skybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,332
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0


Default

Damn, 40 years old and I'm already senile - big and centred there are the tick boxes for the various addon planes in the save as-dialogue...

One more question like this and I'll think about burying myself.
__________________
What distinguishes capitalism from communism? In communism, companies first get nationalized and then ruined, in capitalism they get first ruined and then nationalized. - (Vaclav Klaus)
Skybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 02:10 PM   #5
Linton
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,997
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

As someone who does this for a living, a lot of us still input the flight plan manually into the fmc.I have no experience of the sim version but in real life I do it like this:
1 Input city pair
2 Input rwy and sid
3 From end of sid line select on the left at the last point
This should bring up a different page and on the left should be a via/to input box.Enter airway and waypoint.
This should bring up in the legs page all the points on that airway to the point you have selected.
4 line select again from the last point with another airway waypoint combo
5 Input a runway and star
6 The route should be complete without anyt discos.
This is only about 1/5 of what we do as you also have winds weights and constraints etc to load.
If anybody wants any more info pm me.
Linton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 03:25 PM   #6
Skybird
One Who Soars
 
Skybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,332
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks Linton, I know how to do it, and it is exactly the procedure you described, but only a part of the whole FMC preparation. It's just - I'm lazy, you know... Over the months and years I have heared from pilots both things: that their airline wants them to do it manually, and that they are just uploding the flight route. I wonder what the criterion is.

You fly a 767? Good to know, if I ever have questions!

If you are interested I could try to put up the FMC-part of the manual so that you can compare what is in the sim, and what not, Would be interesting to hear from a real 767 flyer where the sim is correct, and where it is different. But several 767 flyers have been part of the programming team, so...
__________________
What distinguishes capitalism from communism? In communism, companies first get nationalized and then ruined, in capitalism they get first ruined and then nationalized. - (Vaclav Klaus)
Skybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 08:27 AM   #7
Linton
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,997
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Didn't fly the 76 but did a couple of months on the 75.I have an fmc manual somewhere in the loft for it.
Linton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 08:34 AM   #8
Skybird
One Who Soars
 
Skybird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 25,332
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linton
Didn't fly the 76 but did a couple of months on the 75.I have an fmc manual somewhere in the loft for it.
I hope so, else you should be kicked out of cockpit immediately!

Anyhow, i meant the FMc manual for the sim, not the real thing. Here is the manual for the Level-D B767, version FS2004.

http://www.leveldsim.com/files/Level-D67-Manual.exe

FMC page 69-123.

They have reworked the manual completely for FSX, though.

as a 757 flyer, shouldn't you have a valid type rating for the 767 as well, then?
__________________
What distinguishes capitalism from communism? In communism, companies first get nationalized and then ruined, in capitalism they get first ruined and then nationalized. - (Vaclav Klaus)
Skybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 02:39 PM   #9
Linton
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,997
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

The rating in the licence is B757/767.The conversion course was for the 757 only and if you fly the 767 you do a differences course.It is the same with the Airbus family as well A300 also gets you A310,and A320 gets you A318-A321.A manual for the real Honneywell fmc can be bought from here:http://www.afeonline.com/shop/index.php?cPath=38_295 and it covers almost all the Boeings.
I also have the checkride guide and can recommend it.
Linton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2014 Subsim