SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 12:49 PM   #151
Meridian
Frogman
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 294
Downloads: 580
Uploads: 0
Default

Nice work RB, Hope you manage to get a fully working version of this released, I'd definitely use it.

Thanks for putting in the time to do this.

__________________
SH3 Album SH4 Album

SABERTOOTH P67, Intel Core i7 2600K, GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2048mb, 16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3, 8xWD 2TB, Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty.
Meridian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 01:01 PM   #152
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,994
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

well tried telling DirectX to use the desktop resolution and got the access violation again. They use some convoluted, self modifying and appears to be some stack executing code throughout this whole program. It'll give you a headache in no time
But since we have the res fix mod which effectively does what I'm needing done I tried it and it works!! Now I don't see anything stretching or squashed images but maybe I'm not familiar with what I should be looking for. Here's some screenshots with my fix with the res fix mod (both of which are set to 1600 X 900 resolution) set to windowed mode. Everything appears normal to me (I have an nVidia card also if that matters):










so what am I missing here? If someone using an ATI card and is familiar with the problems of the widescreen mod would like to test this PM me.
I'm going to try this in fullscreen mode and take some snapshots of it now. I have a 30" LCD widescreen monitor and with screen resolution set to 1600 X 900 I would think I would see some 'problems' like has been mentioned but I don't see anything.

ok,fullscreen shots:










EDIT: did a little experiment just to ensure the res fix mod wasn't masking anything. I kept my desktop screen resolution to 1600 X 900 but told the res fix mod's cfg file that the resolution was 800 X 600. Result: I was unable to move the mouse cursor any farther than 800 X 600 pixels on screen and everything still appeared normal. So my 'fix' does work and it needs to work in conjunction with the res fix mod to work correctly.

Last edited by TheDarkWraith; 03-27-2009 at 01:22 PM.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 01:40 PM   #153
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,994
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

ok did some more testing to see what exactly I accomplished. Results:

- my fix removed, res fix mod disabled, windowed mode - result: windowed game @ 1024 X 768
- my fix removed, res fix mod enabled @ 1600 X 900, windowed mode - result: windowed game @ 1024 X 768
- my fix removed, res fix mod disabled, fullscreen mode - result: fullscreen game in 1024 X 768. I can't see evidence of any problems in appearance.
- my fix removed, res fix mod enabled @ 1600 X 900, fullscreen mode - result: fullscreen game in 1600 X 900 resolution. I can't see evidence of any problems in appearance.

By enabling my fix all it does (from what I can see) is enable you to play windowed mode in any screen resolution you wish. Since it needs the res fix mod to work correctly you have crisp graphics from the higher screen resolutions in windowed mode.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 01:56 PM   #154
Fincuan
Admiral
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Suomi, sauna, puukko, perkele
Posts: 2,346
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Nice work

But: Those screenies of yours, they look stretched to me. Circles as ovals and fat-ass crewmembers with shoulders wider than Schwarzenegger's are a clear indication of that.

If you want further variables for the tests try a program called D3DWindower. It allows you to run quite a few "locked" DX games, such as SH3 and Navy Field, in custom-sized windows.
Fincuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 02:07 PM   #155
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,994
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

honestly I don't see any circles as ovals. I guess I just don't know what I'm looking for or are so used to the way I've been seeing it for so long that I'm oblivious to the obvious.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 05:00 PM   #156
rcjonessnp175
Weps
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Panzer barracks, Germany
Posts: 363
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Hey Racerboy, must say great job brother, im currently using the widescreen fix for my 52 inch sammy at 1920 x 1080 all works well for me, if u get this latest addition going wow even better but great work

Jonesy
__________________


The mother ship,Coolermaster HAF, I7 intel overclock 4ghz, , 6gb mem, 5870 crossfire, soundblaster Xfi titanium , Oh and 52 inch samsung 750 120hz. 7.1 onkyo 1200 wattss system
rcjonessnp175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 05:07 PM   #157
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,994
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjonessnp175 View Post
Hey Racerboy, must say great job brother, im currently using the widescreen fix for my 52 inch sammy at 1920 x 1080 all works well for me, if u get this latest addition going wow even better but great work

Jonesy
First of all I'm trying to help the authors of this mod out since they asked me so I'm just looking at other ways to implement/add/modify to their idea. Currently I'm not so sure that the path I have chosen really does anything useful other than allowing you to run windowed in any screen resolution you want (which is cool in it's own way). There's more work and investigating to do so you never know what can happen/come about.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 05:28 PM   #158
rcjonessnp175
Weps
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Panzer barracks, Germany
Posts: 363
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Would any of the nvidia control panel settings contribute, like all the different Scaling options, probaly not since like u said dealing with fooling or telling directx to do something.
__________________


The mother ship,Coolermaster HAF, I7 intel overclock 4ghz, , 6gb mem, 5870 crossfire, soundblaster Xfi titanium , Oh and 52 inch samsung 750 120hz. 7.1 onkyo 1200 wattss system
rcjonessnp175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 11:36 PM   #159
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi RB,

Thanks again to look at this.

At first, your pics seems really stretched, not in real WS aspect (16/10 or 16/9). They are just elonged in its horizontal axis, so the circles are ovaled. But the possibily to have any resolution when playing the game windowed is already also a step ahead.

To we have a real WS aspect we can use two approachs: the first and the better is the one that just add more image in the horizontal axis without streeching anything, also called hor +, used in some modern games - this way we will not have any problem with menus, dials, etc - they probably will be already in their normal aspect even the game running at a real WS aspect.

The second way, used also by a lot of modern games, is to just make the image minor in it´s vertical axis, also called vert - , but a reposition of the menus and dials will be needed here.

The original WS mod on the first post makes a mix approach, but have the sunhalo problem. If we can´t fix the sun halo problem then I have hope that the second way (vert -) could be done messing with Directx codes/access from the game. Something in the line that you are looking at.
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 08:53 PM   #160
Cdr84
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 36
Downloads: 88
Uploads: 0
Default

I have been waiting for this for so long.

I have donated for the GWX 3.0 dl link and can now play the game again.

Is anymore work going to be done?

It would be such a pity if it were left so close to being what it could be.

If only I had the skills...

Thanks much Rubini.

Cdr
Cdr84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:40 PM   #161
DrCR
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Is this the latest version? Just checking.

Enjoyed SH2 way back in the day, and now planning on trying SH3 at long last. Pulling down GWX Gold currently and now looking at this. Any other must-haves?

Thanks,
DrCR

__________________
Gigabyte P35, E8200 Wolfdale, MSI 8800GT, 2x2GB Mushking DDR2-800
LG 24" 1920x1200 S-PVA

Quote from the OP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubini View Post
January, 21 2009
Wide Screen mod for SH3 open pre beta V1.0
======================================
Mod by Rubini.
======================================
Compatible with GWX 2.1/3.0


...

Links:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/jngzyn...een_SH3_V1.rar
http://rapidshare.com/files/18732044...een_SH3_V1.rar
DrCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 01:32 AM   #162
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 20,897
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

This mod works with nvidia cards only though.
Welcome to Subsim.
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:55 AM   #163
ivanDurak
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kherson, Ukraine
Posts: 21
Downloads: 98
Uploads: 0
Default

What about ATI cards?
ivanDurak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 06:49 AM   #164
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 20,897
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

ATI cards do not work!
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 11:32 AM   #165
difool2
Commander
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 452
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default Sun/moon squashed vertically

System specs:

Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 GHz
GeForce 9800 GT
4 gigs RAM
Monitor 1680 x 1050

While the gauges are squashed horizontally (which I know the mod doesn't fix yet), I get the opposite problem with the outside 3D world-there images are squeezed vertically-the sun and moon are ovals, with a vertical major axis-likewise my crew are all skinnier than normal. I am currently driving a type XXI, for what that's worth. I ran the res fix first (confirmed that I set the resolution to the above values in the "d3d9" file before running the res fix, and then I installed this mod). Did I do something wrong?
difool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim