SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sonalysts Combat Sims > Sub Command, Fleet Command, & Jane's 688(I)
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2016, 09:09 AM   #1
Elphaba
Neptune's daughter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 169
Downloads: 131
Uploads: 0
Default Sonar Help for Seawolf Mission 'Arctic Hide & Seek'

Hi

So I'm trying to get into this game more seriously (no sonar autocrew), but on the Seawolf mission mentioned above, I can't find either of then enemy subs EVER, unless I have Show Truth on and basically get right on top of them.

Now I know they're stealthy, and that's the point, but even with autocrew turned on, I get no signals visible on the waterfall, and despite trying to use the Narrowband in favour of the Broadband (as per youtube tutorials) I can't see any freq lines, no matter how slowly I drag the cursor

If I leave it to autocrew, I never get any contacts.

Please, can someone shed some light on where I'm going wrong?

It's an un-modded install (from steam) except for the DX8 .dll fix

Thanks
Elphaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 09:37 AM   #2
FPSchazly
The One and Only
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 554
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elphaba View Post
Hi

So I'm trying to get into this game more seriously (no sonar autocrew), but on the Seawolf mission mentioned above, I can't find either of then enemy subs EVER, unless I have Show Truth on and basically get right on top of them.

Now I know they're stealthy, and that's the point, but even with autocrew turned on, I get no signals visible on the waterfall, and despite trying to use the Narrowband in favour of the Broadband (as per youtube tutorials) I can't see any freq lines, no matter how slowly I drag the cursor

If I leave it to autocrew, I never get any contacts.

Please, can someone shed some light on where I'm going wrong?

It's an un-modded install (from steam) except for the DX8 .dll fix

Thanks
1) What platforms are you up against?

2) What sensors are you using?

3) How close are you having to get before you see them on your sonar (verified by Show Truth)?

4) How deep are you?

5) How much of the towed array is deployed, if you're using it?

6) WHICH towed are you using? This is important. The starboard towed array (TB-26?) is more sensitive than the port towed array (TB-16). (Starboard is usually the default one so you're probably fine here but it needs to be asked)
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber! Also your Cold Waters sonarman

**NEW** 688(I) Hunter/Killer Playthrough
Cold Waters Playthrough
All Dangerous Waters Videos

This is my fault, but it's pronounced F-P-S chazly
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 01:20 PM   #3
Elphaba
Neptune's daughter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 169
Downloads: 131
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FPSchazly View Post
1) What platforms are you up against?

2) What sensors are you using?

3) How close are you having to get before you see them on your sonar (verified by Show Truth)?

4) How deep are you?

5) How much of the towed array is deployed, if you're using it?

6) WHICH towed are you using? This is important. The starboard towed array (TB-26?) is more sensitive than the port towed array (TB-16). (Starboard is usually the default one so you're probably fine here but it needs to be asked)
Hi.

Wow, I was watching your videos on youtube last night - I feel like I'm talking to someone famous! lol.

Thanks for responding so quickly. Here are the answers to your questions.

1. I believe in the mission it's an Akula 1 and a Typhoon
2. Narrow and Broadband from the Starboard towed array and spherical arrays.
3. If I cheat and use Show Truth then I might get a thin line on the broadband within 2 nm.
4.The targets are around 150ft, but because of the ice, I'm around 300. the SSP shows no layers. (manually launched at 100ft)
5. All of it.
6. Stbd only.

I can sit and replay this mission over and over and never find either sub unless I cheat. And I really don't get any enjoyment from this sim if I have to cheat.

Thanks again for taking the time to try and help.
Elphaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 02:05 PM   #4
FPSchazly
The One and Only
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 554
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elphaba View Post
Hi.

Wow, I was watching your videos on youtube last night - I feel like I'm talking to someone famous! lol.

Thanks for responding so quickly. Here are the answers to your questions.

1. I believe in the mission it's an Akula 1 and a Typhoon
2. Narrow and Broadband from the Starboard towed array and spherical arrays.
3. If I cheat and use Show Truth then I might get a thin line on the broadband within 2 nm.
4.The targets are around 150ft, but because of the ice, I'm around 300. the SSP shows no layers. (manually launched at 100ft)
5. All of it.
6. Stbd only.

I can sit and replay this mission over and over and never find either sub unless I cheat. And I really don't get any enjoyment from this sim if I have to cheat.

Thanks again for taking the time to try and help.
Haha, aww shucks

I remember this mission now. Isn't the Typhoon trying to hide out at one of two polynyas? If they're not trying to be found then, yeah, it's going to be hard to find them. I tried this mission somewhat recently and I believe the Typhoon hit an iceburg and I got the mission complete

This mission is a doozy. I would try other missions to get your manual sonar up to snuff, honestly. 4000 yards (2 nm) is so close in. You might have to go active in this situations. If nothing else to freak them out and get them to launch so you at least have a bearing to snapshot on.
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber! Also your Cold Waters sonarman

**NEW** 688(I) Hunter/Killer Playthrough
Cold Waters Playthrough
All Dangerous Waters Videos

This is my fault, but it's pronounced F-P-S chazly
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim