SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 07-12-14, 04:26 AM   #1
Captain25
Swabbie

Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default How to intercept?

Hello,

I am a newbie to SHIII, i want to intercept ships.
How do i do it? I did already watch the guide on this forum but can still not manage to incercept ships.

thanks in advance
Captain25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-14, 06:38 AM   #2
Zosimus
XO

Downloads: 3

First of all, some transmissions in the game are transmissions that were made historically. There is no guarantee that there will be ships of the type transmitted. You should look for small boxes that show ships around you. Clicking on these boxes will show the approximate course, speed, and time that the sighting was made.

Second, your job is to find and sink merchant ships not two destroyers. Avoid destroyers.

Third, the destroyers in question are several days from your position. Look for something a little closer.

Finally, assuming that you find a merchant ship in an adjacent zone and want to calculate an intercept course use the procedure at http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=88961
Zosimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-14, 06:58 AM   #3
Captain25
Swabbie

Downloads: 18

Hello, thanks i finally managed to find a convoy.
But now i am following this tutorial to calculate a interception course.

At step 5 at the moment but i am stuck at this point. Can someone please help me out.

Captain25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-14, 08:44 AM   #4
Andrewsdad
Machinist's Mate

Downloads: 80

This thread has all the info you need to plot an intercept. Good Hunting !!!
Salute !!
AD

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=198953
Andrewsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-14, 09:40 AM   #5
maillemaker
Sea Lord

Downloads: 75

Hi Captain25!