SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2017, 06:27 AM   #1
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,092
Downloads: 682
Uploads: 9


Default Question for the naval design experts

How accurate are Wargaming's (World of Warship) ship models?

I ask so because...

https://p3dm.ru/xfsearch/World+of+Warships/
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 10:49 AM   #2
Niume
Commodore
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania Marijampole reg. Lithuania is near Poland if you din't know
Posts: 626
Downloads: 246
Uploads: 0
Default

well I am not expert or anything but I think they are pretty accurate. But scaling could be wrong.
__________________
Niume is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:19 PM   #3
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,092
Downloads: 682
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niume View Post
well I am not expert or anything but I think they are pretty accurate. But scaling could be wrong.
Scaling is not an issue, as long as all the parts have the correct proportions

I don't know how long they will keep ripping WoW models, but in the last few weeks that I have been checking pack3d downloads, they have been updating the list of available ships with some regularity.
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 03:25 PM   #4
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Icon7

This one would be perfect for harbours !

https://p3dm.ru/files/avio/other_avi...g-goliath.html
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:16 PM   #5
the_frog
XO
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 434
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello,

the WoW models are all acurate, including equipment and weapon details. That comes at the cost of a very high poly count. Also, the texturing (all details have individual texture files) is not ideal for SH3 purposes.

Worse, some of the hulls and details are distorted. Especially guns have often bended barrels, deformed muzzles etc. Considering the overall high quality of the models, I think these defects result from the exporting process.

Many of the hulls, however, are well done and may serve as templates or starting point for new SH3 models. I do not think we should spend too much time on re-working the models for SH3; building them from scratch is likely an easier task for an experienced 3D geek.

One group of models is an exeption -- those created as background decoration for scenarios, such as Operation Dynamo. These models are fairly well done, with reasonable poly counts and often one single texture file. The Goliath tug is an example, the naval trawler/drifter is another. Also Medway Queen, Lorina, and some of the smaller boats look fine.

The model that caught my attention was the HMAS Vampire. I have been thinking of re-doing the V&W destroyers since a while and so I had closer look. The model ist accurate but I realised that it is an Admiralty V leader and not one of the more standard Admiralty Vs and Ws. So, it is not the best representative of that group of destroyers (which anyway was pretty diverse). So, I decided to try what can be done during some brief evening sessions:


... not too bad for a few hours of work ...

@kendras: The HMS Warspite has models of the 45ft motor pinnace and the 45ft fast motorboat. You may consider to use them for the KGV; the textures are individual but may require colour adjustment. There is also a model of the 35ft fast motorboat but I like the one I did better

Sorry for the long text, including the shameless self-advertising

Cheers
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:19 AM   #6
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
One group of models is an exeption -- those created as background decoration for scenarios, such as Operation Dynamo. These models are fairly well done, with reasonable poly counts and often one single texture file. The Goliath tug is an example

@kendras: The HMS Warspite has models of the 45ft motor pinnace and the 45ft fast motorboat. You may consider to use them for the KGV; the textures are individual but may require colour adjustment.
So, I may try to import these models for SH3.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 11:43 AM   #7
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

When I add the newly imported Goliath tugboat in a mission, SH3 is stuck on the launching screen, and I have to kill the program to go out. Could you say me what's wrong ? Here is the imported unit :

https://www.mediafire.com/file/y6qia...0tug%20boat.7z
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 12:55 PM   #8
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,092
Downloads: 682
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
This one would be perfect for harbours !

https://p3dm.ru/files/avio/other_avi...g-goliath.html
...or for a WWI mod, since she served in the US navy from 1918 to 1919 as
escort/rescue tug and patrol vessel

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USS_Goliah_(SP-1494)

Apparently, Goliah had three sisters, all built by Dialogue & Co of Camden between 1907 and 1908:
Hercules, Ontario and Western.
It is my understanding that their design is all but uncommon for a tugboat of their period, so I suppose we could import the model in game as a more generic "old US tugboat", "old oceangoing tug" or something along these lines.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
the WoW models are all acurate, including equipment and weapon details. That comes at the cost of a very high poly count. Also, the texturing (all details have individual texture files) is not ideal for SH3 purposes.

...

Many of the hulls, however, are well done and may serve as templates or starting point for new SH3 models. I do not think we should spend too much time on re-working the models for SH3; building them from scratch is likely an easier task for an experienced 3D geek.
Good to know, thanks.

Indeed, it is difficult finding free 3D meshes that fit perfectly all the cracteristics of the ideal SH model but, as you said, those models canbe used as templates to speed up the modelling process. As an amateur 3D modeller, I often spend more time looking for pictures and construction plans or (when I don't find them) trying to figure out shapes and proportions, than in actual modelling lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
Worse, some of the hulls and details are distorted. Especially guns have often bended barrels, deformed muzzles etc. Considering the overall high quality of the models, I think these defects result from the exporting process.
Really? I didn't notice that, but I must admit that I have only downloaded those models ans added them to my personal collection without having a closer look to them in a 3D editor.

Distortions like the ones you are describing often happen when models are ripped from memory. I can be wrong, but I think that WoW and WoT have their own model editors, capable of reading/writing game files, so the bent/deformed elements could actually be part of damage models

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
One group of models is an exeption -- those created as background decoration for scenarios, such as Operation Dynamo. These models are fairly well done, with reasonable poly counts and often one single texture file. The Goliath tug is an example, the naval trawler/drifter is another. Also Medway Queen, Lorina, and some of the smaller boats look fine.


Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
The model that caught my attention was the HMAS Vampire. I have been thinking of re-doing the V&W destroyers since a while and so I had closer look. The model ist accurate but I realised that it is an Admiralty V leader and not one of the more standard Admiralty Vs and Ws. So, it is not the best representative of that group of destroyers (which anyway was pretty diverse). So, I decided to try what can be done during some brief evening sessions:

... not too bad for a few hours of work ...
Looks promising. What sub-class(es) are you planning to model?

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
Sorry for the long text, including the shameless self-advertising
No need to say sorry. The time reading your messages is always well spent
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 03:29 PM   #9
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
@kendras: The HMS Warspite has models of the 45ft motor pinnace and the 45ft fast motorboat. You may consider to use them for the KGV
The 45ft fast boats don't seem to be accurate. Here a comparison between SH5 KGV + WoW fast boats, and a very detailed 3D model :

Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 03:38 PM   #10
the_frog
XO
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 434
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
...or for a WWI mod, since she served in the US navy from 1918 to 1919 as escort/rescue tug and patrol vessel
... all the equipment and the deckhouse point at a pre-WWI vessel. For the WWII time, the deckhouse might be re-modelled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
As an amateur 3D modeller, I often spend more time looking for pictures and construction plans or (when I don't find them) trying to figure out shapes and proportions, than in actual modelling lol.
Correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
... I must admit that I have only downloaded those models ans added them to my personal collection without having a closer look to them in a 3D editor.
... another 3D model collector. I am not the only one ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
... so the bent/deformed elements could actually be part of damage models
Yes, that's likely the cause. Many of the smaller guns seem to have of parts of the respective damage models.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Looks promising. What sub-class(es) are you planning to model?
The model is based on plans of Vidette and Vega as in 1918, with the 1920/30 changes to the bridge. So, it's the Admiralty V class in the fleet destroyer version (after the 1920/30s changes, the W class was almost identical). The model may also represent the 'modified' W class with the original boiler and funnel arrangement. It does neither respresent any of the Thornycroft specials nor the modified W class with reversed boiler layout.
The model is intended to replace the SH3 model. Let's sse, I probably will prepare WAIR and Long Range Excorts versions. The WAIRs I like best of all V&Ws .
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 03:48 PM   #11
the_frog
XO
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 434
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
The 45ft fast boats don't seem to be accurate. Here a comparison between SH5 KGV + WoW fast boats, and a very detailed 3D model :

The model of the 45ft fast motorboat is prefectly correct; the one on the right picture is a 45ft motor/diesel picket boat
Those picket boats were often used on modern British capital ships as Admiral's barge. Usually, only one was carried, along two 45ft fast motorboats. Many model plans on the market do not include the 45ft fast motorboat but only the 45ft motor picket boat.


Edit: The 45ft fast motor boat and picket boat shared the same hull. So, creating a model of the picket boat based on the motorboat model is possible ;-)

Last edited by the_frog; 11-02-2017 at 04:06 PM.
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 04:08 PM   #12
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

I have a question about Wings3D : would it be possible to resize several objects while keeping their relative position to each others, without being forced to do 3 different actions : combine them, resize and separate them again ?

And also : would it be possible to resize a model, while keeping centered on the origin (0) point ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 04:25 PM   #13
the_frog
XO
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 434
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
I have a question about Wings3D : would it be possible to resize several objects while keeping their relative position to each others, without being forced to do 3 different actions : combine them, resize and separate them again ?
Mark the objects in question, switch to vertex mode, resize.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
And also : would it be possible to resize a model, while keeping centered on the origin (0) point ?
No idea.
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 05:34 PM   #14
Jeff-Groves
Go ahead. Make my day!
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,685
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0


Default

I want the 1939 Langley!
How the heck do you DL them?
__________________
Best friend you could ever have.
Worst enemy you can ever meet.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 05:46 PM   #15
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
I want the 1939 Langley!
How the heck do you DL them?
Hey ! I'm glad to see you ! It has been a while !

To download a model, click on the large square with a arrow and text "CKAHATb YDALEHHO", then in the next window wait for a few seconds until you have a new square with a arrow again with text "CKAHATb FAUL" and click on it to download.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim