SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2017, 02:17 PM   #16
hauangua
XO
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 437
Downloads: 926
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Tyco... i have a problem

Where i wrong?...i think colour problem.... or this colour is good? .i play with NYGM
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup

Last edited by hauangua; 05-06-2017 at 02:41 PM.
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 04:31 PM   #17
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hauangua View Post
Hi Tyco... i have a problem
If you don't like colors of the map, disable the mod, delete the Terrain folder from the mod, and enable the mod again with JSGME.

The problem may be that you don't see very well the grids, this is my case (even with stock colors as on the pic below).


Last edited by Kendras; 05-06-2017 at 04:46 PM.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 05:59 AM   #18
Tycho
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 343
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
One question : How do you convert a specific color into bytes ?
Most graphic editors have field for the colors in hex values. If not, the net is full of such converters.
 

The words in .exe are reversed, you need to read backwards.
So, if your color is RGBA: 1F45B4FF
In .exe it must be ABGR: FF B4 45 1F
Be careful to not revers a byte value itself, B4 must stay B4 not 4B.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hauangua View Post
Where i wrong?...i think colour problem.... or this colour is good? .i play with NYGM
I do not understand exactly what colors you target, grids or terrain or water, but:
All colors are as I like. I even don't have relief for terrain, this is my personal variant:

I search for feeling of nautical charts, not a geographic map.
I play without my boat on map, so I do a lot of drawing/ploting, and I need clean map without distractions.
But, the point is, that all these are easy customisable and everyone may do their own variants.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 08:37 AM   #19
hauangua
XO
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 437
Downloads: 926
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Tyco
I understand and you are right ... no need geographic map!! me too wanted play "real nav" without sub or contact on the map... and I ask you... you how do you triangulate your position? using "lighthouse mod for nygm"?... or?
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 01:29 PM   #20
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
Most graphic editors have field for the colors in hex values. If not, the net is full of such converters.

The words in .exe are reversed, you need to read backwards.
So, if your color is RGBA: 1F45B4FF
In .exe it must be ABGR: FF B4 45 1F
Be careful to not revers a byte value itself, B4 must stay B4 not 4B.
Roger that ! Thank you !

Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 06:35 AM   #21
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
This is my personal variant:

I search for feeling of nautical charts, not a geographic map.
So, you have only 3 depth levels on the map ?

Here are the depth values I've found with the vanilla colors. In red are the values I've fixed for each depth color level.

 


And here is the result with 9 depth levels. I've also modified the dragable depth scale :

 

Last edited by Kendras; 05-08-2017 at 08:15 AM.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 09:46 AM   #22
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

And here a darker version, with more readable depth levels :



Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 10:17 AM   #23
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

In the readme, you wrote :

"You use "H.Sie fixes" and "Stiebler add-on": you take your original sh3.exe and patch it with "H.Sie fixes" and "Stiebler add-on", according to Stiebler's instructions. After that you copy this already patched sh3.exe file and patch it with Enhanced Map Drawing."


Is it possible to first patch Sh3.exe with Enhanced Map Drawing, and then patch it with H.Sie fixes and Stiebler add-on ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 01:18 PM   #24
Tycho
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 343
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hauangua View Post
Hi Tyco
I understand and you are right ... no need geographic map!! me too wanted play "real nav" without sub or contact on the map... and I ask you... you how do you triangulate your position? using "lighthouse mod for nygm"?... or?
Near the shore, I use dead reckoning and fixes by a whole set of principles for coastal navigation, that I know. You can teach yourself from the internet.

Far from the shore I use pseudo navigation. Dead reckoning again, plus making fixes through ctrl+left click. If the weather get worse and I don't see the sky, I don't make position fix and continue with dead reckoning.
This requires self control, nothing can stop you to make the fix, but don't do it.

And, the most fun part is the plotting of other ships.
Here you come to the world of Relative motion.
Learn things like, Maneuvering board and Radar plotting (even without radar it have all bunch of applications).


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
So, you have only 3 depth levels on the map
Yes, completely enough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
And here is the result with 9 depth levels.

And here a darker version, with more readable depth levels
I don't like dark for the deeper, the feeling of nautical chart is lost, and is impractical for drawing/plotting.
But, if you are happy with this, all is good. I don't impose my opinion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Is it possible to first patch Sh3.exe with Enhanced Map Drawing, and then patch it with H.Sie fixes and Stiebler add-on ?
No, don't do that. H.Sie patch will not recognize the sh3.exe after that.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 01:26 PM   #25
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
I don't like dark for the deeper, is impractical for drawing/plotting.
It depends on the color of the lines !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
Near the shore, I use dead reckoning and fixes by a whole set of principles for coastal navigation, that I know. You can teach yourself from the internet.

Far from the shore I use pseudo navigation. Dead reckoning again, plus making fixes through ctrl+left click. If the weather get worse and I don't see the sky, I don't make position fix and continue with dead reckoning.
This requires self control, nothing can stop you to make the fix, but don't do it.

And, the most fun part is the plotting of other ships.
Here you come to the world of Relative motion.
Learn things like, Maneuvering board and Radar plotting (even without radar it have all bunch of applications).
One day, you should make a video about all that.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 02:23 PM   #26
Tycho
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 343
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
One day, you should make a video about all that.
I can't express myself in english. And honestly, lately I only dream how I play.
A little time that I have was spend for changing things in my installation.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 02:58 PM   #27
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,104
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 11
Default

Hi Tycho,

- deleted because I found the information -

great work! It helps a lot for playing with real navigation (you can now use the course line to keep your course without showing your position)!

Best, LGN1

Last edited by LGN1; 05-08-2017 at 03:08 PM.
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 03:55 PM   #28
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LGN1 View Post
great work! It helps a lot for playing with real navigation (you can now use the course line to keep your course without showing your position)!
What do you mean ???
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 05:07 AM   #29
Tycho
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 343
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LGN1 View Post
Hi Tycho, great work! It helps a lot for playing with real navigation (you can now use the course line to keep your course without showing your position)!

Best, LGN1
Hi LGN1, glad to see you.
Good idea, will make it for myself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
What do you mean ???
In SH3 there have some kind of drift. If you are sailing only with course tool, you will not notice, because the boat follow the line.
But, if you sail without the tool, you will notice, that after time the boat deviated from that course.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 11:27 AM   #30
Kendras
Duplicate account

Not Allowed
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,546
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

So, how is it possible to not show your position (if your u-boot icon is hidden on the nav map) if you're using the course tool ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim