SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 ATO Mods
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2017, 06:12 PM   #3571
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,439
Downloads: 222
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark bonamer View Post
to answer your original question, yes, i am referring to the area just West of Ireland, where all the routes converge to / from Ireland / England. talk about a spaghetti bowl of route packages....geeez.

i was browsing through Lant_convoys_44 and saw 37 groups and i swear half them go through that area.

so, let me see if i understand what happens when a convoy meets a player's sub:
convoy is a single entity on a certain course and speed when it meets the player's sub.
it then spawns into the various ships that compose it according the parameters set forth in the DOT.mis file in the Group and Unit sections?
if that is true then only a percentage of the ships defined in the Group section will spawn due to the spawn percentages present?
this seems terribly computer-like computing...why would the app take a dive? i have written more CPU-centric programs and "the spawn" is not very complex when compared to other programs. just thinking.......
You've got the general idea correct. The game doesn't "draw" any 3D artwork until it has to. So, while you're cruising about the ocean, and are outside of what we guess is about a 30k radius circle, the game just tracks the RGG Groups as a whole, as numbers, not as individual ships in those groups. Once you get inside that "drawing" radius, then it will do the necessary calculations as found in the RGG Properties page and the "Define Group Contents" settings in the ME. If you look at the file in a text editor, you can see it all in one place. This "technique" is one of the reasons SH4 runs better than SH3, and even the earlier versions of SH4 (v1.3 and earlier). The game will then draw the vessels as necessary to be seen by the player at the horizon (20k). However, a bad "call" to one vessel in the whole group can and does bring the whole game down. Narrowing down the possibilities is key to finding an issue. If it crashes every time at the same place every time, then you'd look at all of the 80-100% generating ships - OR - something to do with the land, if you're withing 30k of the land mass, say a gun emplacement... but I don't think you're within that range... maybe... What we've found with FotRSU is that the amount of vessels and / or airplanes generated can definitely affect your computer. When Truk was all messed up in earlier versions, there would be 100 plus vessels all congregated in the atoll, from about 4 or 5 groups, and it didn't crash on my computer, but it sure was slow, to the point that one airplane may well have crashed me. I'd say one airplane is worth four ships as far as computer-intensive goes, just my guess. So look for airbases nearby also, that might have a bad plane call or CFG...
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 09:45 AM   #3572
mark bonamer
Son of a hellava Sailor
 
mark bonamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoarea
Posts: 199
Downloads: 227
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
You've got the general idea correct. The game doesn't "draw" any 3D artwork until it has to. So, while you're cruising about the ocean, and are outside of what we guess is about a 30k radius circle, the game just tracks the RGG Groups as a whole, as numbers, not as individual ships in those groups. Once you get inside that "drawing" radius, then it will do the necessary calculations as found in the RGG Properties page and the "Define Group Contents" settings in the ME. If you look at the file in a text editor, you can see it all in one place. This "technique" is one of the reasons SH4 runs better than SH3, and even the earlier versions of SH4 (v1.3 and earlier). The game will then draw the vessels as necessary to be seen by the player at the horizon (20k). However, a bad "call" to one vessel in the whole group can and does bring the whole game down. Narrowing down the possibilities is key to finding an issue. If it crashes every time at the same place every time, then you'd look at all of the 80-100% generating ships - OR - something to do with the land, if you're withing 30k of the land mass, say a gun emplacement... but I don't think you're within that range... maybe... What we've found with FotRSU is that the amount of vessels and / or airplanes generated can definitely affect your computer. When Truk was all messed up in earlier versions, there would be 100 plus vessels all congregated in the atoll, from about 4 or 5 groups, and it didn't crash on my computer, but it sure was slow, to the point that one airplane may well have crashed me. I'd say one airplane is worth four ships as far as computer-intensive goes, just my guess. So look for airbases nearby also, that might have a bad plane call or CFG...
BTW, what does ReportPosMin=-1 do? does that mean SH4 will never report the convoy's position or that it will constantly update the position?
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
mark bonamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 10:06 AM   #3573
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,439
Downloads: 222
Uploads: 0


Default

That's a "dual-purpose" setting. The -1 is basically a "No" setting. Anything zero or above sets the ReportPosProbability= into motion. Those together then report in your text box and show on the Nav Map, where the group is, and the direction headed, with a time delay for the report from the ReportPosMin(utes) setting. You want a few set to show, such as might be seen by a "spy" or coastwatcher, but not too much, or it'll look like stock, with 50 groups a minute being reported...
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 04:32 AM   #3574
Kakopis
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 25
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default

I have a question to creator this big mod. Why are enemy harbours not defended? There are no destroyers around the harbour, no land battery. You just going to any harbour and get free tonnage. It's a cool that there are some different merchants or other vessels, but no defence, why?
Kakopis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 04:35 AM   #3575
Kakopis
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 25
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default

Is there some mod where harbours have a traffic and good defence?
Kakopis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 11:30 AM   #3576
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,439
Downloads: 222
Uploads: 0


Default

Lurker assumed you would play the mod "fairly and squarely" - but he probably got tired of editing the mod. I mean, after all, there are thousands of ports out there... Read-up some in that PDF file that I sent you the link to, and see if you can determine how to do it yourself. By the time you do about 20 of the ports, you'll forget what you did in the first one, and it'll be a surprise next time you go into that port... Do one hundred ports, and you'll forget them all within a few days... - at least, I forget things quickly...

Traveller's Mod probably has the most "harbor patrols" and gun installations in it, but it is a Fleetboat side mod that sits on top of TMO / RSRDC. You could use it to get ideas from, though.
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 11:25 AM   #3577
Tarakanische
Stowaway
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
Default

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 08:28 PM   #3578
trigger2k16
Nub
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Diving in the Mountains ;-)
Posts: 4
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default Happy New Year & i cannot find my home port..

Hello Subsimmer,
first of all a happy new year 2018 and happy hunting !

i'm playing OM in it's latest version and managed stay alive within this campaign :

2nd (subs assigned Type IX / IXB / IXC)
[Homeports: Wilhelmshaven 1939-01-01 to 1940-06-30, Lorient 1940-07-01 to 1944-09-01 transfer to the 33rd in Flensburg]

But it's now 18th October 1944 and the map shows me no more "home base" after the fall of France... and i cannot therfore end the operation...
Flensburg is unfortunatly not activated as an home base, what can i do ?

Please help & regards,
trigger2k16
trigger2k16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 11:00 AM   #3579
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,439
Downloads: 222
Uploads: 0


Default

According to what my CareerStart and Flotillas files show for the game, the 33Flotilla and Base are active 1944-06-15 through 1945-05-15. All four subs (F14VIIC, IXC, IXC40 & IXD2) show NULL-NULL for their active dates (they all transfer in from elsewhere), which means that they're available the same as the Base and Flotilla dates. All four of the boats also show a Transfer setting of NULL, which means they do not automatically transfer anywhere, so unless you requested a transfer, Flensburg should still be your home port. However, other things can influence that. ie: What other mods have you got active? Did you request a transfer?
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 11:18 AM   #3580
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 7,833
Downloads: 931
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > trigger2k16
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
Tutorials And Other Information Links In My Signature Below
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 09:38 PM   #3581
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 13,277
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

trigger2k16!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 06:45 AM   #3582
trigger2k16
Nub
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Diving in the Mountains ;-)
Posts: 4
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default My subsim career and lost homebase

Hello all, thanks for the warm welcome !

to my career, i do occasionally hunting since the old days when GATO was availble on the IBM PC ;-)... i startet to play with SHIII, now capaingning trough OM (the reason i am doing SH4 !!!) and dreaming of a crash free modern OM/SH4 with graphics beyond SH5 and real data (convoy, waether) as well as with all relevant nations like UK or France in WW2 !!! And WW1 as an variant of that game....

Regarding the homebase i tried to get an tansfer thoughout the career but never a transfer was offered to me.... Can i tweak a configuration file to force having Flensburg as a home base ? Could be my GME modlist be a problem? BTW any suggestion appriciated to enhance the mod list, beside the mandatory mods and the german translation (i am austrian)...

PS. Also i lost the stopwatch displaying in the mid of the career....

regards and thank a lot Sascha

trigger2k16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 03:33 PM   #3583
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,439
Downloads: 222
Uploads: 0


Default

The files to do that are in the Save folder, and I can't recall off the top of my head which ones you'd have to alter.

It would be a good idea for you to open JSGME, click on "Tasks..." and then "Export activated mods list (to)". If you've got v2.3, it'll now be on the clipboard. If you've got v2.6 (which you should - it's better), click on the "Clipboard" choice, and then "Paste" (<Ctrl><V>) that in the text box here for your next post.
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 05:39 PM   #3584
trigger2k16
Nub
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Diving in the Mountains ;-)
Posts: 4
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default Export activated mods list

There you go:

Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4 Wolves of the Pacific\MODS]

OpsMonsun_V705
OMv705_to_V720
OMv720_Patch5
OMEGU_v300
OMEGU_v300_Patch7
OM-OMEGU-Deutsch
Magnified Hud Dials for OM+OMEGU_Medium
OM_Med_Env
OM_Harder_Escort_L2
Befehle
TorpedoFix
WaBoWarnung
BoldFix
AOBF 16-9 Res
AS_for_OMv103

Thanks for having a look !
trigger2k16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 07:21 AM   #3585
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,439
Downloads: 222
Uploads: 0


Default

I do not recognize some of your mods. I assume you've gotten them from other sites. From what I could find on one of them (might not be the same mod), it is for old versions of SH4. Just be sure that what you're loading is in fact, compatible with OM. Lurker was rather adamant about what he considered "compatible", so if something doesn't specifically state it is compatible, de-activate it, and see what you get. The specific ones I can't find are:

1. Befehle (stock game language fix? If so, it's pre-v1.5)
2. TorpedoFix (there are a several of these - which one and why?)
3. WaBoWarnung (?? "WaBoWarning"...)
4. BoldFix (the name is familiar, but I cannot fully remember it)

As for the crew fully speaking the German language (other than "Passing thermal layer"), Brigodoon tried this one German Speech Fix in the thread:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...96#post2534896
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim