SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sonalysts Combat Sims > Sub Command, Fleet Command, & Jane's 688(I)
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2017, 08:27 AM   #1
searanger50
Nub
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Icon9 688i - stuck at end of campaign mission

Does anyone have a fix for the missing button on the campaign mission ending? The video plays okay and the screen for the review etc pops up but there is no way to close it and progress to the next mission. I am running on a 32 bit windows 10 PC.

Thanks for any help.
searanger50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 03:48 PM   #2
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 17,045
Downloads: 388
Uploads: 195


Default

Oh man, it's been so long. Is this a CD version or Steam version? And which campaign mission? First one, Sealing their Fate? Are you sure you completed the goals, including getting to the launch point before 04:00 ?
__________________
.


It works for me
Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 07:27 AM   #3
searanger50
Nub
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

It's the original version. I'm running the original disc as an ISO image in low resolution screen. I also have the original manual. All the training and single missions play okay. After the first campaign mission with all goals complete the video plays but I cannot progress to the next mission as there is no "continue" (or whatever it is) button. I've tried clicking in the area I think it should be and elsewhere but nothing happens.
searanger50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 07:33 AM   #4
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 7,687
Downloads: 928
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > searanger50
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 09:55 AM   #5
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 17,045
Downloads: 388
Uploads: 195


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by searanger50 View Post
It's the original version. I'm running the original disc as an ISO image in low resolution screen. I also have the original manual. All the training and single missions play okay. After the first campaign mission with all goals complete the video plays but I cannot progress to the next mission as there is no "continue" (or whatever it is) button. I've tried clicking in the area I think it should be and elsewhere but nothing happens.

I've contacted Sonalysts, they said they will have the dev team review the bug.
__________________
.


It works for me
Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 04:24 PM   #6
ataribaby
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Liberec, Czech Republic
Posts: 14
Downloads: 293
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi,
Just encountered same problem with Steam (Win 10) version so I tried install PCem emulator (it is real emulator not just virtualization) and installed Win 98 and original Jane's 688 + 1.07 patch and replayed first camp mission.

Just noticed in steam version UI screen backgrounds between missions are black and missing UI element.

This is how I got it in PCem with original CD version + 1.07



As you can see there is switch on right that I marked red and this one is used to continue.

In Steam version graphics is missing there but maybe area is still clickable. I not replayed yet with Steam version to confirm. Anyway if Sonalyst can get this fixed (what I do not hold breath for as it is ancient game) it will be nice.

Game works perfectly under PCem. Just you need set it up and install Win95/98 by yourself like on real old PC what is bit of work. I set CPU to Pentium 166Mhz and it is enough. Anything higher than 200Mhz is too much for my i7 as it is full CPU emulation.
ataribaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim