SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2018, 08:20 PM   #1
Pranne
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 43
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default Diving Problem.

Hello,

i have now SH5 with TWoS and i have a massive Problem to get this Thing under Control while diving.

First, i cannot use crash dive manover because when it starts to dive, than i can not hold it.

Second, its hard to Change Depth f.e. from 80-40 meters---it goes trough and to periscope Depth.

Any ideas? This Problem clearly kills the fun.
Pranne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 04:33 AM   #2
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,256
Downloads: 950
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi P
Use the shortcut key "A" to control depth.
There are 2 vertical depth gauges in the Advanced SH5 GUI
Pressing X 5 switches between the two gauges.




Selecting a comfortable depth should see the boat respond to that ordered depth as long as the boat is not damaged and auto dive planes is used.
Crash Ddive IIRC is pre-selected to 70 meters.

I assume that you have enabled the gps snapshot file in the Generic Patcher from the installing instructions?

Peter

Last edited by THEBERBSTER; 11-10-2018 at 04:42 AM.
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 06:08 AM   #3
Fifi
Admiral
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,213
Downloads: 291
Uploads: 0


Default

To crash dive in shallow water, after clicking the crash dive icon, i usually set speed to slow immediately after submerging, and jump on the depth gauge to set new depth according to what you have under keel
If you keep full speed, sub is diving to quick for fine control.

Quite easy to control the dive; it’s working in any SH btw...
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 06:51 AM   #4
Pranne
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 43
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER View Post
Hi P
Use the shortcut key "A" to control depth.
There are 2 vertical depth gauges in the Advanced SH5 GUI
Pressing X 5 switches between the two gauges.




Selecting a comfortable depth should see the boat respond to that ordered depth as long as the boat is not damaged and auto dive planes is used.
Crash Ddive IIRC is pre-selected to 70 meters.

I assume that you have enabled the gps snapshot file in the Generic Patcher from the installing instructions?

Peter
Hello, yes i used this gauges to set the Depth.

About this patcher, what is he doing?

Redone that with him today, maybe i have forgot to choose "RESTORE SNAPSHOT".

Thank you all by the way.
Pranne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 09:30 AM   #5
fitzcarraldo
Argentinischer Kaleun
 
fitzcarraldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Arrived in U-977 after 60 days below
Posts: 3,483
Downloads: 1623
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pranne View Post
Hello, yes i used this gauges to set the Depth.

About this patcher, what is he doing?

Redone that with him today, maybe i have forgot to choose "RESTORE SNAPSHOT".

Thank you all by the way.
You NEED to restore the snapshot....

BTW, I use the SH3 style GUI (changeable trough OFEV; you should have an icon on your desktop for it).

SH5 is difficult to manage at depths > 160 mts. Change to manual dive planes, use speed, and pilot the sub yourself. Your crew is very inept to mantain those dephts...

Good luck and be more agressive!

Fitzcarraldo
fitzcarraldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 09:34 AM   #6
fitzcarraldo
Argentinischer Kaleun
 
fitzcarraldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Arrived in U-977 after 60 days below
Posts: 3,483
Downloads: 1623
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
To crash dive in shallow water, after clicking the crash dive icon, i usually set speed to slow immediately after submerging, and jump on the depth gauge to set new depth according to what you have under keel
If you keep full speed, sub is diving to quick for fine control.

Quite easy to control the dive; it’s working in any SH btw...
That´s the way! I use it with SH3 style GUI.

Crash dive with TWoS works well. Going to preset 70 mts, at flank speed and the boat stabilizes automatically.

Regards.

Fitzcarraldo
fitzcarraldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim