Old 03-25-18, 07:40 PM   #1
SurfnSea3
Watch

Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default Rookie Kapitan Cannot Manage Crew

Before they mutiny I need to figure out how to:
1. Manage crew.
Pressing G does not call up screen. Indeed the icons I should have in the upper right of my screen are not showing while the icons for map etc. in the lower left do show.
2. No watch crew on bridge with me while surfaced.

I've done some searching on the forums but have not found the solution yet. So any help is appreciated. I do have experience with Silent Hunter 3 & 4. In fact I first came to SubSim back in the Silent Hunter 2 days. So i'm not a total newbie. However my crew apparently is not impressed. Besides the brig is not big enough for those who refuse to do their job...that is if I can figure out how to get them to do their job and figure out how to throw someone into the brig.
My SH5 install is a Steam install.

Thanks in advance.
SurfnSea3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-18, 04:13 PM   #2
XenonSurf
Sea Lord

Downloads: 107
Uploads: 4

Hi SurfnSea3,
I'm not pleased to reveal it to you, but in SH5 there is pretty nothing to do to 'manage' your crew. What you can do is distribute them more points for their capabilities (I don't recall the shortcut, I think it's I). You earn these points by succeeding missions.
Also if your sub is in big trouble like flooding, the only thing you can do is talk to the engineer to speed-up repairs and set the crew to Battlestations Level 2 (for that you need to play TWoS and talk to the Watch Officer). Don't forget to revert these orders else the crew will stay on alert and be less effective elsewhere.
For torpedos, there is a "Pre-heat" order to give to the torpedo man, but you need to travel all the way to him to give this order.
AFAIK, that's pretty it for crew management.
If you miss crew management a lot then I advice you to play SH3/SH4 instead, there is much more to it.