SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2019, 04:55 AM   #1
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,482
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default 3D help request for New Unit

Hi everyone!

While working on a general refit to italian fleet in my shipyard, i've started works on Trento class heavy cruiser.
This will feature a realistic skin and more 3d details; also will solve a lot of UV-map glitches.

This is an up-to-date pic:



Btw, there are some faces who create this problem (they're located on round surfaces, specifically bow, stern and funnels):





This bug was present in previous version and is caused, i think, by SH5 model conversion.

Is there someone interested in help me in solve this bug?

Thanks everyone and best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 11:39 AM   #2
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,234
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 2


Default

Can't you smooth the model in 3D max? Also, maybe just smoothing the normals will do the trick.
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 04:18 PM   #3
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,482
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
Can't you smooth the model in 3D max? Also, maybe just smoothing the normals will do the trick.
Hi Hitman, and thanks for your reply!
Well, i haven't 3D Max and i'm not able to use it.
I've read a manual and tested some solutions in Maya 2018, but everytime i've a fail
So, i'm open to every help
Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 09:23 AM   #4
Wise
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: St.-Petersburg
Posts: 215
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Smoothing is meaningless, because SH3 does not read smoothing groups. There are vertices shattered in these polygons. They need welding.
Wise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 03:44 PM   #5
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,482
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wise View Post
Smoothing is meaningless, because SH3 does not read smoothing groups. There are vertices shattered in these polygons. They need welding.
Hi!
How can this be done please?
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 12:24 AM   #6
Wise
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: St.-Petersburg
Posts: 215
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi.
1. Import the model from the file *DAT into the 3D-editor (mode - Editably Poly).
2. Select the "bad" polygons and also the neighboring ones with them.
3. Convert the selection of polygons in the selection of vertices.
4. Apply the command "Weld" with a tolerance value of 0.01.
Wise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 04:35 AM   #7
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,482
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you again for your reply. Just another question: what 3D editor do you use / refer to? :-)

Best regards
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 04:57 AM   #8
Wise
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: St.-Petersburg
Posts: 215
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
what 3D editor do you use / refer to? :-)
The one, that you do not have.)
3ds Max.
Send the file *DAT of the ship in a private message.
This is done faster, than we talk.)
Wise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 01:54 PM   #9
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,482
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wise View Post
The one, that you do not have.)
3ds Max.
Send the file *DAT of the ship in a private message.
This is done faster, than we talk.)
Thank you Wise, i'm sending you PM.
Looks like i need this program

Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim