SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop > SH4 Mission Designers' Forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2007, 04:06 PM   #1
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default Trigger help?

This stuff is confusing.

I was looking at patrol objectives inside the campaign. Some we get are patrols, that's easy. There are a class of "sink" missions where you "deploy" to the patrol area, then get a mission update radioed saying ' ENGAGE ENEMY SHIPPING" or something like that. That part I get.

What I'd like is for that message to say that intel has determined that a target will be at place X at time Y where Y is some time after you get the message.

Ie: "A japanese troop transport is steaming at top speed and is scheduled to put in to Davao harbor in 28 hours." I'd then like the liner to actually do that in ~28 hours.

Is that possible?
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 04:14 PM   #2
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

I have been toying with that idea in some of my custom missions to get
TF arriving at a certian place at a certain time. As far as I can tell, it is
a matter of how far away they start and how fast they are going. Of course,
this will be a big trial & error sort of solution but I have got it working fairly
close to what I want. I had a DD show up about 8-9 minutes later of when I was
attacking a lone merchant....

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 04:56 PM   #3
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

How does the game link a particular ship or group to the trigger?

tater
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 06:41 PM   #4
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Triggers & events are a hard one to figure out. Been trying to use them
since SH3 but they don't always do what they are supposed to do.
The devs never put out a detailed read-me on the editor so I have just
been trying different things....

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 09:00 PM   #5
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

I now know when the Yamato TF will show up at a location on its route in
my "Sink the Yamato" patrol. If I knew just how to use the triggers, I could
put a radio message warning the player sub about the scheduled stop.

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 12:40 PM   #6
Ducimus
Rear Admiral
 
Ducimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,996
Downloads: 67
Uploads: 2


Default

The best way ive found messages to appear, is by either
A.) the player entering a zone, which you lay down on them map for them to "step in" specifically to trigger a message, or

b.) objective completion of some sort.
Ducimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 12:56 PM   #7
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

The "b" might be the one to use as there are 2 main objectives in the patrol.
The first is to "Sink the Yamato" so it is not the one. The second is
to "sink merchant tonnage" which I achieved long before the Yamato TF was
due at where I was waiting. The best way to test would be to set the tonnage
low so that I achieved that objective early to see if the trigger message worked.
Just how would I go about setting up that trigger?

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 01:00 PM   #8
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

The more fleshed out this thread gets, the better, lol.

As an aside, does anyone understand the dynamic campaign.cfg file?

I notice several patrol objectives have 2 versions, one with a d at the end (d=dynamic?). I'm trying to make sense of it.

I have yet to figure out how or if you can make a unit appear with a trigger. Without being able to do that, I will be forced to rely on missions with start dates such that you'd only ever see them VERY rarely, so I'd need TONS of such missions.

Ie: ULTRA points you at a TF. If I can create the TF on the fly by a trigger, I can have it happen on any old patrol in the area somewhat randomly. Without that, I have to script the TF, and set the patrol such that you'd have to be in the patrol area at the right time.

I really want the patrols to be more interactive in that way. Instead of chasing "contact reports" out of your patrol area (entirely on your initiative), you could be ordered around to chase them.
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 01:03 PM   #9
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

There is another way to get a seemingly random trigger.

Set a SMALL zone within the patrol area. THAT triggers it. If the player never patrols there, tough. (that obviously makes more sense for a campaign).

Alternately, you could be explicit in the patrol orders to patrol for X days at the point marked, then proceed to some other point and the hidden zone is there or en-route (in which case it could be bigger).

tater
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 01:07 PM   #10
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

Is it possible to set a trigger based upon you sending a status report?

So you could require the player to go to a spot, then broadcast?

tater
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 01:19 PM   #11
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

It would be nice to get some Dev help on the triggers makup. A readme on how
all aspects of the editor worked was never made by them. Since there are no
posts in this thread other than the few of us asking questions, I wonder if anyone
outside of the Dev team knows any answers...

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 01:33 PM   #12
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

Right now (based on the Mare Island stuff) I say Ducimus is the leading expert.

heheh.

I have looked t at them in detail, I just need to figure out how to connect them. I need a flowchart, lol.

tater
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 03:46 PM   #13
Ducimus
Rear Admiral
 
Ducimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,996
Downloads: 67
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tater
Right now (based on the Mare Island stuff) I say Ducimus is the leading expert.
Oh god, please don't ask me to explain what i did, im not even sure *I* know how i did it. I just muttled thorugh it, it got easier after the 2nd and 3rd mission, but admittidly theres triggers that i dont understand. Time based triggers for instance, or that option to "refresh instance".
Ducimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 06:56 PM   #14
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

OK, with no readme on the editor, its up to the trial & error test missions.
I just made one called the "Yamato trigger". Just 3 platforms are included.
Player sub, a single merchant and the yamato. I did 2 objectives, one being
the sunk tonnage (meaning the merchant) and the second being to sink the
yamato (really not needed for test). I set up the trigger for the tonnage
objective with the event being a message sent to the sub upon completion
of the first objective (sink tonnage). The message said "Yamato due in your
area in 24 hrs." It Worked GREAT !! After the destruction of the merchant
and the objective met, I received a radiogram with my message. So I know
that it works with a completed objective. Other types of triggers & events
need to be tested too but I think once we have it all figured out, we are going
to kick ourselves on how easy it was all the while....

JIM.
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 07:51 PM   #15
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

Does the trigger CAUSE Yamato to appear in 24 hours, or will she show up anyway (meaning the trigger only triggers a message)?



tater
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim