SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop > SH4 Mission Designers' Forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2007, 04:08 PM   #1
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default Coral Sea Patrol

I am just finishing a "Coral Sea" patrol where your sub leaves Port Moresby
on the 5th of May. I have tried to make all the TFs original but the game
just doesn't have some of the ships needed so I did the best I could. I set
the routes as close to historical as I could from pics in my extensive WW2
library of books. Since aircraft won't attack other aircraft and the carriers
don't have the large air flight formations, I had to fudge on some of that too.
All in all, despite some of the shortcomings, it works out fairly well. If you patrol
in the area I have marked, you should see some air & naval battles. Best of all,
you can join in to sink or damage some of them yourself....

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 05:19 PM   #2
ReallyDedPoet
Canadian Wolf
 
ReallyDedPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The one and only East Coast
Posts: 10,483
Downloads: 891
Uploads: 5


Default

Very nice, look forward to it

RDP
ReallyDedPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 07:11 PM   #3
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok, did a little more fudging with the larger air formations by putting in
some random air flights of from 6 to 12 planes. I set them all to 75% so
that they will not appear 100% of the time. Put some minefields in the
shallow waters to give the appearence of the enemy invasion forces
having to go around the land tip and not take any shortcuts. It should
be almost finished. I will test it tonight and hopefull if all goes right, I
can post if for DL sometime tomorrow....

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 04:35 PM   #4
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok, the patrol works fine but I can't get the TGA pic file to load when
the game is at the opening screen (no pic). Othwise it is way better
and much more historical than the "Battle of the Coral Sea" the devs
put in as a mission. All they did was to put ships/planes from both
sides in the Coral Sea....

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 09:04 PM   #5
dean_acheson
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 1,057
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default

where do we d/l this?
dean_acheson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 09:51 PM   #6
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

I will set it up here thru Filefront when I get it completely done...

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 12:15 AM   #7
tater
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,058
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
Default

It would be cool to replace the campaign coral sea with this, possibly
tater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 04:29 PM   #8
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

That might work !! Since Port Moresby is not a regular resupply port for
American subs, I put an American sub tender ship there docked with 2
Clemson escorts also docked. I even added 2 docked (next to tender)
older S-Boats to add some flavor. I put a Tambor class boat in for the
player but the mission always give me a P-class. I don't know what's up
with that?? I have everything done and working except for the dumb
TGA file from the SCDsee program. It just won't display for some reason.
I guess I could release it without it, it's just for show on the opening
screen anyway...

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 04:44 PM   #9
dean_acheson
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 1,057
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default

to me a historically correct campaign would be lovely.
dean_acheson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 05:26 PM   #10
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

OK, here are the 2 files for the single patrol (not single mission)
Make a folder with the same name and place files into it.
Place the folder into the "Single Patrol" folder. You should see the
mission when you load the game....

http://hosted.filefront.com/FAdmiral/

Download the 2 files from the URL above.

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 11:51 AM   #11
clayp
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,554
Downloads: 340
Uploads: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAdmiral
OK, here are the 2 files for the single patrol (not single mission)
Make a folder with the same name and place files into it.
Place the folder into the "Single Patrol" folder. You should see the
mission when you load the game....

http://hosted.filefront.com/FAdmiral/

Download the 2 files from the URL above.

JIM
Did all of the above and it wont show in game..All of the other folders in there have 3 files in them..So what do I do??
__________________
clayp

clayp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 08:46 PM   #12
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Make sure that the name of the folder that you put the 2 DLed files into
has EXACTLY the same name. Make sure you put that folder into the
"Single Patrol" folder and not the "Single Missions" folder. The 3rd file
is just the TGA pic file and only is a display at the opening screen of
where the battle takes place.....

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 08:51 PM   #13
ReallyDedPoet
Canadian Wolf
 
ReallyDedPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The one and only East Coast
Posts: 10,483
Downloads: 891
Uploads: 5


Default

Thanks again for this, d\l now

RDP
ReallyDedPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 10:08 PM   #14
clayp
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,554
Downloads: 340
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAdmiral
Make sure that the name of the folder that you put the 2 DLed files into
has EXACTLY the same name. Make sure you put that folder into the
"Single Patrol" folder and not the "Single Missions" folder. The 3rd file
is just the TGA pic file and only is a display at the opening screen of
where the battle takes place.....

JIM
I did that sir and it wont show up...I'm running RFB 1.28 is that stopping it??
__________________
clayp

clayp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 10:30 PM   #15
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

I wouldn't think that RFB would stop it from showing up but may stop it
from completing the load of the patrol. Can you name some of the other
folders that are in where you have the "Coral Sea" folder? At the opening
screen when you load the game, are you clicking on "War Patrol"?

JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim