SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-17, 04:43 PM   #16
AllenZ1Sgt
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17
Downloads: 454
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for your reply RR, I did look through your bat files and I wouldn't want to mess with it. The megamod choices you have in CMS are fine (at least for me)
AllenZ1Sgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-17, 07:42 PM   #17
Rockin Robbins
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 8,899
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 52


Default

Announcing!

SH4CMS v1.5 is hereby released! Some goodies I've added:
  • It can now make or fix an Op Monsun installation
  • It can make or fix a We Dive at Dawn installation
  • It makes or fixes a custom ModTest installation
  • It can now repair your original Wolves of the Pacific directory, since many players use that exclusively
  • I have substituted MultiSH4 v1.5 for the old version formerly used.
Enjoy everyone and thank you for all the great suggestions!
Rockin Robbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-17, 07:20 PM   #18
J0313
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 870
Downloads: 1783
Uploads: 0
Default Where did my mods go!

Howdy RR. I've got a little problem. When I run a fix on the game it restores the game back to a pristine state but it deletes my mod folder. I thought it wasn't suppose to do that?
J0313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-17, 08:30 PM   #19
Rockin Robbins
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 8,899
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 52


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J0313 View Post
Howdy RR. I've got a little problem. When I run a fix on the game it restores the game back to a pristine state but it deletes my mod folder. I thought it wasn't suppose to do that?
It's not supposed to do that. It moves the mods folder outside the game directory, mirrors the game directory with SH4Pristine, then moves the mods folder back into the game folder.
Rockin Robbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-17, 08:47 PM   #20
Rockin Robbins
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 8,899
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 52


Default

Here's the code that restores game directories (or creates them if they don't exist):
Code:
@echo off 
If exist ..\%destiny%\mods robocopy ..\%destiny%\mods ..\MODS /move 
robocopy "..\Sh4 pristine" "..\%destiny%" /mir 
attrib -R "..\%destiny%\*.*" /S /D 
if exist ..\MODS robocopy ..\MODS ..\%destiny%\MODS /move 
@echo on 
menu.bat
So first it looks up a directory and then to a subdirectory named %destiny%, a variable which contains the name of the directory you want to restore. If it has a directory named \MODS, it moves it up beside SH4CMS. In other words, if it finds \SH4TMO\MODS, it moves mods up a directory to \MODS, which sits beside \SH4TMO.

Then it mirrors \SH4Pristine against \%destiny%, in this case \SH4TMO. It removes any files not found in \SH4Pristeen. And it copies any files from \SH4Pristine which are not identical with the file of the same name in \SH4TMO. If it finds a file in \SH4Pristine which is not found in \SH4TMO it copies it there. When that operation is done, \SH4Pristine and \SH4TMO are identical with SH4Pristine being the master copy.

The the line starting with attrib -r sets all the files and directories in \SH4TMO, which are write protected to a read/write state so the game can be played.

Finally, if the \MODS directory exists, (it does if it existed above!) SH4CMS moves it back into the game directory.

Four lines of code do a tremendous amount of work. If you do not interrupt the script during execution it basically cannot fail.
Rockin Robbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-17, 10:29 AM   #21
J0313
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 870
Downloads: 1783
Uploads: 0
Default

I don't know what is going on then.

Just figured it out RR. I was screwing the pooch on this one. I had forgot to uninstall the mods before using the fix/make. Sorry about that.

Another question though. How do you point the Webster fix to the correct install for it to work?

Last edited by J0313; 02-16-17 at 10:38 AM.
J0313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-17, 03:29 PM   #22
Rockin Robbins
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 8,899
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 52


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J0313 View Post
I don't know what is going on then.

Just figured it out RR. I was screwing the pooch on this one. I had forgot to uninstall the mods before using the fix/make. Sorry about that.

Another question though. How do you point the Webster fix to the correct install for it to work?
Same kind of menu that I..........didn't update to the new options with the new version....

Looks like I have a little work to do!
Rockin Robbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-17, 03:53 PM   #23
Rockin Robbins
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 8,899
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 52


Default

Ummmmmm........ Silent Hunter 4 Corruption Management System v1.5 has been quietly fixed so Webster's fix works as intended. If you downloaded yesterday you'll have to redownload if you want to be able to use Webster's fix on Op Monsun, We Dive at Dawn or a custom directory for mod testing.

Thanks to J0313 for the kick in the hind quarters there!

And yes, the Webster Fix module has a menu for you to choose the installation to perform it on.
Rockin Robbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-17, 06:57 PM   #24
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 9,735
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockin Robbins View Post
Same kind of menu that I..........didn't update to the new options with the new version....

Looks like I have a little work to do!
dontcha just ~hate~ it when that happens?...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-17, 07:24 PM   #25
J0313
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 870
Downloads: 1783
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm glad I helped out. I thought I was probably screwing that up too.
J0313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-17, 07:27 PM   #26
Rockin Robbins
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 8,899
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 52


Default

You get too close to blocks of code and you just go codeblind. Hard stuff works great and the simple stuff is just rotten!
Rockin Robbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-17, 01:25 PM   #27
Alstack
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 12
Downloads: 51
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Excellent app! Makes backing out of over aggressive modding a breeze.
__________________
"If we weren't crazy we would all go insane"Jimmy Buffett
Alstack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-17, 03:09 PM   #28
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,605
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Highly recommended as a Companion to SH4CMS for all your multiple game installations being played.
Can be installed anywhere.
Will randomize your gramophone files in all your different SH4 games.
Just point it to your SH4.exe
Randomizes and starts your selected game.
SH4 Gramophone Randomiser By Shakje > Install Anywhere
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-17, 03:59 PM   #29
Red Devil
The Old Man
 
Red Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sutton Coldfield England
Posts: 1,515
Downloads: 258
Uploads: 0
Default

Can I have a dope test please, this could be the work of a genius.



Not done anything yet, going to uninstall everything and install a virgin copy before I even look at the instructions.
__________________
>
>
Captain!, there's a destroyer on the por........ periscope is flooded Sir!
>
Darkness is only the absence of Light; Ignorance is only the absence of knowledge ©

www.worldwartwo.uk
www.captainwalker.uk
Red Devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-17, 05:01 PM   #30
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 9,735
Downloads: 439
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Devil View Post
Can I have a dope test please, this could be the work of a genius....
Careful there... we're already having a time of it keeping Rockin within the lines... yer gonna give him a complex!...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.