SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2008, 12:20 PM   #556
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

DeepIron, can you have a look if it provides a similar function to save the UVW-data into a single (binary) file? Or even if it loads .UVW files? (doubt it, I think it's just yet another proprietary Max-only format)

It's alot easier to just import the UV-data directly into the actual model in Max, than having to copy it from model A to model B.

Anyway, I'm really interested to hear if you can finally start importing some of your models into the game
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 12:28 PM   #557
DeepIron
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Too far from the Pacific right now...
Posts: 1,634
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skwasjer
DeepIron, can you have a look if it provides a similar function to save the UVW-data into a single (binary) file? Or even if it loads .UVW files? (doubt it, I think it's just yet another proprietary Max-only format)
I believe your correct on that. However, W3D allows one to "break apart" a model into it's constituent objects and then UV map each one separately, a somewhat lengthy process. W3D is written in Erlang and has a very extensible plugin interface so I think I'll investigate that avenue. I might be able to automate the process somewhat... or possibly a script that will read .uvw files directly for importing...

Quote:
It's alot easier to just import the UV-data directly into the actual model in Max, than having to copy it from model A to model B.
No doubt about that. I'm wondering how GMAX might be employed, possibly through a Maxscript... hmmm...:hmm:

Quote:
Anyway, I'm really interested to hear if you can finally start importing some of your models into the game
You bet. I'll be getting started here soon and keep you in the loop...
__________________
RFB / RSRDC Beta Tester
RFB / RSRDC Modding Forum: http://forum.kickinbak.com/index.php
RFB Top Post link: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=125529
RFB Loadout: RFB_V1.52_102408: RFB_V1.52_Patch_111608: RSRDC_RFBv15_V396
DeepIron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 12:54 PM   #558
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikhayl
First feedback : it rocks :p
I didn't try to import some "all new" models yet because I suck at this, I don't even know how to do some lightmaping or stuff. Anyway, I exported a few game models (interiors, nothing fancy), remapped some bits, resized another bit, rotated another, and everything works perfect. For this kind of task I don't even have to bother about the load/save UV channels with 3ds, that's perfect.
I'll post some type II interior pics in a few minutes
Thanks, that's good to hear
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 01:11 PM   #559
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepIron
I believe your correct on that. However, W3D allows one to "break apart" a model into it's constituent objects and then UV map each one separately, a somewhat lengthy process. W3D is written in Erlang and has a very extensible plugin interface so I think I'll investigate that avenue. I might be able to automate the process somewhat... or possibly a script that will read .uvw files directly for importing...
The UVW format is pretty simple, it took me one hour to debug it. I you decide to script it, let me know and I'll write the spec down. This will probably take me more time than it took me to debug it :rotfl:
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 02:22 PM   #560
M. Sarsfield
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,016
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

It sounds like the GWX guys are starting to look at the SH4 code and develop importing tools. Are they aware of your handiwork, skwasjer?
__________________
MJS
USS Batfish Volunteer/Reenactor
www.ss310.com
www.ussbatfish.com



Communism killed over 100M people and all that I got was this lousy signature.*

*http://www.hawaii.edu/powerkills/COM.ART.HTM
M. Sarsfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 03:15 PM   #561
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Sure they are. Ref and privateer already use it, and also have assisted in a couple of features, most notably the animations part
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 03:31 PM   #562
M. Sarsfield
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,016
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Cool. I consider what you've done to be a huge break through and I don't even mod - but I read a lot of the modding posts.
__________________
MJS
USS Batfish Volunteer/Reenactor
www.ss310.com
www.ussbatfish.com



Communism killed over 100M people and all that I got was this lousy signature.*

*http://www.hawaii.edu/powerkills/COM.ART.HTM
M. Sarsfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 07:44 PM   #563
Snaptrap
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 224
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skwasjer
:rotfl: That cracked me up guys...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaptrap
Is it possible to get this editor as a rar or zip instead of an installer. I'm not a fan of betaware and I prefer to use it with all it's contents in one folder.
No.
That's ok, I did it myself. No more installer.
Snaptrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 08:35 PM   #564
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default


Don't come to me when it screws up your game, mods or just doesn't run. You are taking some required steps away, both during installation and uninstallation, not to mention when I have updates available you are going to run into problems. Hell, if it does run, you shouldn't trust that it runs as 'designed'. Stop screwing with the installer, I made it for a reason...
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 09:32 AM   #565
UBOAT234
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Repubblica di San Marino (Italy)
Posts: 362
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

THANKS SKW

A very good work

Many many thanks!
__________________
BEST REGARDS
UBOAT234



www.uboat234.com
UBOAT234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 09:47 AM   #566
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Hi UBOAT234, let me know if you run into problems. It's still a 'first release', so make sure to back up your work. Have fun!
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 11:57 AM   #567
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Yes please

Some basic questions:
- Did you export it from the .dat using S3D as well?
- Has it been previously imported with Pack3D?

Give me the relevant chunk index as well so I know which one to look at...


[edit] I've already seen two other issues, so I'll update the importer/exporter and provide an update somewhere tonight.

Last edited by skwasjer; 04-18-2008 at 12:13 PM.
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 12:27 PM   #568
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Thanks, I'm on it!

[edit] Ok, internally the texture coordinates were not optimized for the main obj-file, only for subsequent channels and this caused that error. Your test.obj file contains 14018 texture coordinates but is not optimized (duplicates removed), this can be reduced to 1889. If this was the original model (from Ubi), then they haven't optimized it real good If this was imported with Pack3D earlier, maybe it was responsible for it.

I will let the optimization feature run on the main model as well in next release. I just did that locally and I got the same number of texcoords (1889). In the mean time, you can try if your 3D studio can remove the duplicates.

Last edited by skwasjer; 04-18-2008 at 01:20 PM.
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 04:34 PM   #569
keltos01
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: piétrebais belgium
Posts: 4,990
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 18
Default token

i tried to replace the 9dx2 3d model with the sen toku one, it didn't work and I got this screen :

[URL=http://g.imageshack.us/g.php?h=501&i=tokenvv1.jpg][IMG]http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/1202
keltos01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 05:06 PM   #570
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Yes, I'm aware of this, but thanks for the heads up...

The current release contains 3 bugs, which I'm fixing as we speak
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim