SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2008, 02:34 PM   #421
longam
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,014
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skwasjer
Thanks to privateer for providing me the format of keyframe animations

No release date yet, but well, won't be long

Keyframe hexcode collada iterger frame state hooda waada thingamabob?
longam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 02:53 PM   #422
Ducimus
Rear Admiral
 
Ducimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,996
Downloads: 67
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by longam
Keyframe hexcode collada iterger frame state hooda waada thingamabob?

:rotfl: That, is a quote and picture worth saving - classic!
Ducimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 03:13 PM   #423
Wilcke
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,442
Downloads: 207
Uploads: 0
Default

It sure is....and Ducimus I am still looking for your Capt. Kirk with his depressed head in his hands!
__________________
Wilcke


For the best in Fleet Boats go to: Submarine Sim Central. http://forum.kickinbak.com/index.php
Check out: A Brief Introduction to the Pacific Submarine War by Ducimus
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=128185
Operation Monsun plus OMEGU, the #1 ATO Solution for SH4!

Signature Art by Gunfighter
Wilcke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 04:50 PM   #424
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
skwasjer, would you happen to know which file(s) control the sound file that is played when the deck and flack guns are fired? I'd really like to create a separate sound file for the 37 mm and 40 mm guns, if possible.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 05:04 PM   #425
Madox58
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9,578
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 12
Default

Check the particals.dsd
All gun sounds are controlled by this file if I'm not mistaken?
Madox58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 05:10 PM   #426
Ducimus
Rear Admiral
 
Ducimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,996
Downloads: 67
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by privateer
Check the particals.dsd
All gun sounds are controlled by this file if I'm not mistaken?
I was thinking an associated DSD file if it exists or sh.SDL , but privateer's probably right.
I know things like depth charges hitting the water are in the particles.dsd file, so why not gun sounds too.
Ducimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 05:46 PM   #427
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

lol longam

@LukeFF: Yea, I think they are in particles.dsd. Look for a SoundSource controller or something like that. If you're gonna add a new sound, you'll also have to add an entry in the sh.sdl file.
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:01 PM   #428
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skwasjer
@LukeFF: Yea, I think they are in particles.dsd. Look for a SoundSource controller or something like that. If you're gonna add a new sound, you'll also have to add an entry in the sh.sdl file.
Yeah, I've looked at that file, and I know what sound is used for the flack guns and which one is used for the deck guns. Question is, how do I assign those sounds to a particular sound? From the looks of the file it doesn't look like it's possible.
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:08 PM   #429
Madox58
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9,578
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 12
Default

Oh yes.
It is possible!!
I have edited the SH3.sdl files many times.

Depending on what you want to do?
You may need to rework several files.
You may need to create new files also.
It all depends on what you want to do.
Who would have thought Air Raid Sirens were possible?
Madox58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:25 PM   #430
Ducimus
Rear Admiral
 
Ducimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,996
Downloads: 67
Uploads: 2


Default

I could be mistaken, but i think sounds need:
- a node in a dat
- a controller in a said dats sim file, DSD file, or both
- an entry in the sh.sdl


At least thats what ive observed when working with sub interiors. Ive thought about adding more atmospheric sound sources in the interiors, but was afraid of generating undue lag. Engine/gun sounds are a different thing though.
Ducimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:37 PM   #431
Madox58
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9,578
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 12
Default

You don't always need a node in the dat.
Again, it depends on what and how you want the sound to come across.

For an example I'm looking at in SH3.

On the Turm, you hear the desiel engines.
Go to the interior and the desiel sound is not there.
If we add the aud_Desiel node with corrected ID's
Will it work?
Of course we need look at all dsd files and sdl file also.
Madox58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 06:57 PM   #432
Ducimus
Rear Admiral
 
Ducimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,996
Downloads: 67
Uploads: 2


Default

Node in dat - i was probably thinking of sounds sources. Such as water or steam pipes. I only looked at this stuff in passing, so im probably way off base. Edit: Its worth noting that stock fleet boat interior files have no sounds to them at all. SteveTRM added them in. I dont remember if he use an aud_node or not. anyway, ill shut up. Now im curious as to what else is in some of those dsd files. (not that i havent looked already) Think i figured out why my earlier attempts at getting band music on the docks failed.
Ducimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 07:54 PM   #433
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

LukeFF, it's possible. Go to the properties of the wpn_Cannon controller in the sim file. Open up the Fire-node, and there you see a property 'effect'. It has an id. Select 'effect', and copy the value to the clipboard (in hex format!). Now, open up the particles.dat, and do CTRL+F, and paste the id into the textbox and hit Find. You'll see that the node will be selected either $MGun_muzzle_flash or $Big_muzzle_flash, or some others, depending on the gun. These are shared muzzle flashes by all (most?) guns. In the particles.dsd you will find the associated muzzle sound. To make a unique sound for a different weapon you have to clone a few nodes in both particles.dat and .dsd (to create a new effect+sound), a sound entry to the sdl-file (which defines the actual soundfile to be played), and lastly assign the newly created effect id to the weapon.

Hope this makes a bit sense Just try

[edit] I'm not sure if there are tricks to do this easier (without cloning nodes), maybe someone else knows.

Last edited by skwasjer; 03-07-2008 at 08:14 PM.
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 08:34 PM   #434
LukeFF
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 3,610
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 5
Default

I'll give that a try, skwas. Thanks!
__________________


ROW Sound Effects Contributor
RFB Team Leader
LukeFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 08:43 PM   #435
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Oh, and one trick to make cloning of a bunch of nodes easier (you need to redo all the id's!) is to remove all the other chunks from the file so you only are left with the chunks that need to be cloned. Then, use the remap function to assign new id's to all nodes in one go. Then export and import.

Saves the trouble of fixing up the nodes after import and manually changing all the id's.
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim