SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Subsims & Naval Games > Indie Subsims > Sub Commander
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2017, 05:24 PM   #601
toothandnail
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: New York City
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Pump operation at depth

First, can I say I love love _love_ this game.
And that comes from a guy who basically only ever plays Nethack, Dwarf Fortress, and Tracon II.

While I think there is still plenty of room for growth in this game (and I do hope it does grow!) there is only one feature that I so wish were incorporated now: an option to allow the pumps to continue to work at depth.

I realize that it may not be realistic for the bilge pumps to work below 90 meters or so, and maybe defaulting to realism is fine. But it would be so much fun to battle the incoming water and try to make repairs as the sub sinks toward crush depth. I've lost many many subs that could have been saved if the pumps even partially worked below 90 meters. (My lame solution right now is to fast-drive the sub into shallow water, and get magically snapped up above 90 meters when it hits the shallow bottom. It's not like that's realistic either.)

This problem actually got me interested in how deep bilge pumps actually work on real subs. Turns out, this is not something easily google-able.

TL;DR: Add an option to allow the pumps to work continue working at any depth. I wouldn't care if they continued working minimally below 90 meters, or if it's easier, just an option to disable the pump depth limitation altogether.

Thanks so much!



Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGeoff View Post
EDIT: Latest Version: 0.28


Sub Commander is a free, independently developed roguelike submarine simulator with an emphasis on realism and freedom of choice. Originally, the game was envisioned to be a kind of cross between Dwarf Fortress and the film K-19 The Widowmaker but it is rapidly growing to a full featured submarine warfare simulator. Eventually I plan to simulate all aspects of cold war era naval and aerial combat, so the player's submarine will be in the midst of a dynamic, procedurally generated global war.
toothandnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 05:40 PM   #602
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 11,845
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

toothandnail!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick

Last edited by Aktungbby; 01-15-2017 at 07:12 PM.
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 04:55 AM   #603
TheGeoff
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 37°47'S 144°58'E (Melbourne, Australia)
Posts: 194
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toothandnail View Post
First, can I say I love love _love_ this game.
And that comes from a guy who basically only ever plays Nethack, Dwarf Fortress, and Tracon II.

While I think there is still plenty of room for growth in this game (and I do hope it does grow!) there is only one feature that I so wish were incorporated now: an option to allow the pumps to continue to work at depth.

I realize that it may not be realistic for the bilge pumps to work below 90 meters or so, and maybe defaulting to realism is fine. But it would be so much fun to battle the incoming water and try to make repairs as the sub sinks toward crush depth. I've lost many many subs that could have been saved if the pumps even partially worked below 90 meters. (My lame solution right now is to fast-drive the sub into shallow water, and get magically snapped up above 90 meters when it hits the shallow bottom. It's not like that's realistic either.)

This problem actually got me interested in how deep bilge pumps actually work on real subs. Turns out, this is not something easily google-able.

TL;DR: Add an option to allow the pumps to work continue working at any depth. I wouldn't care if they continued working minimally below 90 meters, or if it's easier, just an option to disable the pump depth limitation altogether.

Thanks so much!
You have a great point here, would be better if the pumps never quite cut out completely so there is still a (slim) chance of recovery. I've made a small modification so that this is possible -

First, download the new .exe file here and put it in the main Sub Commander folder: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8sx2qzoncw...0_28b.zip?dl=1
Then, for each sub you want to use, go to the /subs/[sub name]/performance.ini file and add the following lines at the bottom:
Code:
[ SYSTEMS ] 

min_pump_flow_rate_limit = 150
This will mean the pumps will always be able to operate at up to 150 litres/minute, regardless of depth. The performance will still be better at the surface and drop as you dive down towards 90 metres, but this means they will never become completely useless. You can tweak this value to your liking. Let me know how it goes!
TheGeoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 06:33 AM   #604
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
Subsim.com
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 120,039
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 11


Default

Welcome to SubSim toothandnail
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 08:51 PM   #605
toothandnail
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: New York City
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default pumps working

This is so great!
I have not yet successfully put a sub through crush depth, repaired it and pumped it out, and brought it back up yet. But I intend to keep trying.

Thanks so much!
toothandnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 01:04 PM   #606
toothandnail
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: New York City
Posts: 3
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default crush depth

Update: I did successfully push both November and Typhoon class subs down below their crush depths (collapse depths?), sustained damaged, repaired and pumped them out, and brought them back to the surface. If the pressure hull cracks relatively shallow (above 300 meters or so), it's not too hard to make the repairs and get back to the surface with these pump limitations. (As long as you do everything perfectly.) If the pressure hull holds out to below 300 meters, you take too much damage too quickly to save the boat.

Conclusion: these pump settings definitely add fun to the game. Thanks again!



Quote:
Originally Posted by toothandnail View Post
This is so great!
I have not yet successfully put a sub through crush depth, repaired it and pumped it out, and brought it back up yet. But I intend to keep trying.

Thanks so much!
toothandnail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 07:19 AM   #607
Torrance-Smith
Nub
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello,

During torpedo attack on large taskforce, torpedo hits trigger change in diplomacy several times during attack. So taskforce don't fight back efficiently, if at all.

So I have request. Could you remove trigger on torpedo hit, that change diplomacy? Or maybe add option to turn it off?

Sorry for my english.

Cheers.

Last edited by Torrance-Smith; 02-10-2017 at 08:06 AM.
Torrance-Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 11:39 PM   #608
ChristopherTarana
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 31
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Default

Very Cool, I was commanding a Japanese 688 sub out of Tokyo and there was a leak in the Fire Suppression system in the forward torped0 room. Took me awhile to fix that one, couple of crew almost asphixiated from lack of air. Next mission the entire crew died from radiation do to a leak somewhere! This software is a keeper!

Christopher Tarana
ChristopherTarana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 09:04 PM   #609
TheGeoff
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 37°47'S 144°58'E (Melbourne, Australia)
Posts: 194
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torrance-Smith View Post
Hello,

During torpedo attack on large taskforce, torpedo hits trigger change in diplomacy several times during attack. So taskforce don't fight back efficiently, if at all.

So I have request. Could you remove trigger on torpedo hit, that change diplomacy? Or maybe add option to turn it off?

Sorry for my english.

Cheers.
Thanks for pointing out this bug, I'll take a look. Diplomacy changes shouldn't happen that regularly.
TheGeoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 06:17 AM   #610
Torrance-Smith
Nub
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGeoff View Post
Thanks for pointing out this bug, I'll take a look. Diplomacy changes shouldn't happen that regularly.
Thanks for your answer

Cheers
Torrance-Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 08:46 PM   #611
phd45
Nub
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

This game is amazing. And I want to said good job for that
phd45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 02:35 AM   #612
succerpunch
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Africa, Cape Town
Posts: 39
Downloads: 223
Uploads: 0
Icon9

I believe it is dead.
__________________
No amount of experimentation can ever prove me right; a single experiment can prove me wrong. - Albert Einstein
succerpunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 03:43 PM   #613
idl0r
Nub
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Downloads: 96
Uploads: 0
Default

First of all, great game, thanks!
Do you have some original sounds/alarms for USSR boats by chance?
idl0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim