SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sonalysts Combat Sims > DW Mod Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2018, 09:22 PM   #31
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,991
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0


Default

So far doing a check does jump the header and get me right to the faces section.
Another odd file is the airdepthcharge.j3d
3D Object converter does not like that one.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 09:36 PM   #32
Polak2
Planesman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 183
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

Another thing is that in the example of type 212 which we have started this very intriguing conversation, animation parts like 212 periscope 1,2 , snorkel, radar or mentioned ecm antenna are not part of the main 212.j3d model . The sail is empty inside. Those parts seem to be called once the appropriate command is issued.
I believe this happens throughout all other models.
Polak2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 07:12 AM   #33
Polak2
Planesman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 183
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Another odd file is the airdepthcharge.j3d
3D Object converter does not like that one.
Not that this is of most importance, but I think that airdepthcharge.j3d is not used in the game. DWEdit has some nifty feature linking entities to their j3d models. Air deptcharge according to DwEdit uses depth.j3d and depth3.j3d which looks like the same models to me.
Polak2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 12:21 AM   #34
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,991
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0


Default

As I get the time I'll write a script to export the info from the j3d files as is.
3D Object Converter just does not export all the info and I'd like to know the reason behind that.

I may wipe the old NoteBook and re-install Win 95 or so.
Then I could run the old 3D Studio and j3d exporter to see what the export options are.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 06:59 AM   #35
Polak2
Planesman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 183
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
3D Object Converter just does not export all the info and I'd like to know the reason behind that.
I think 3DObject Converter takes all animated parts of surface units (usually guns, radars, torps) and bunches them to one single coordinate ....usually inside the hull so unless one switches to wireframe mode, one may never know that they are there...lol.
Polak2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 06:56 PM   #36
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,991
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polak2 View Post
I think 3DObject Converter takes all animated parts of surface units (usually guns, radars, torps) and bunches them to one single coordinate ....usually inside the hull so unless one switches to wireframe mode, one may never know that they are there...lol.
3D Object Converter seems to be skipping some verts in some cases.
Or maybe just optimizing them and condensing the files.
That's fine for what it does but does not help when looking at a possible new way to convert to the j3d format.

And I have seen the way things may be out of place in the files.
It's much like SH3/4 where the location connection to parent location is ignored by every exporter ever written.

That's due to the way any given exporter is coded.
If a part is assigned as a child of a part at say 1, 5, 9 in the X, Y, Z? Then it inherits that position in the Games.
IF that is not coded into the exporters? You get the true X Y Z but not the inherited position so the weird placement thing.

Last edited by Jeff-Groves; 11-21-2018 at 07:06 PM.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 05:21 AM   #37
Battlewagon3
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default Thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
Here's the start of the 010 template for j3d files.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/f93une...bz/j3d.7z/file

This template will take you to the start of the faces.
It reads the file just as is!

I'm replying to thank you now before I forget. It could be a few months before I chase this down properly. I've been very busy learning how to code (really) for my studies, so games modding has taken a backseat. As you'll see from my other posts, though, every few months I come back with questions and try a few more things. I'm not ignoring you!
Battlewagon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
j3d

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim