SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2019, 05:31 AM   #1
jason210
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden / UK
Posts: 383
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default Ran aground and stuck!!

Using the TWoS mod.

The U-boot ran aground just outside Malmö harbour, damaging it in a way that I ought to be able to get out of but cannot. The starboard shaft and prop are ok, but the starboard engine is out. That leaves just starboard electric engine to save the sub. However, I can't run it on the surface. Is there a way out of this?

J
__________________
Intel Core i7 @ 2.8GHz
nVidia GeForce GTX 1060
16GB memory
Windows 7 64-bit.
jason210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 07:02 AM   #2
XenonSurf
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,016
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Verify the damage screen of your sub and wait until the critical repairs are done, but do not use TC higher than 16.
If you see red zone damages with less than 20% status, then assume it's destroyed and cannot be repaired. Other things can only be repaired when surfaced. Read description.


If you don't have compressed air left, then that's too bad if you are too deep and cannot emerge normally because too many destroyed components, RIP...Use the gramophone until batteries run out, or use the command 'all crew on the bridge'
Otherwise use the command Blow All Ballasts once repairs are done, you can do this only once, so chose the right moment...

Everytime your sub gets damaged and you are underwater, don't use TC>16.
With TC>16 this will increase the damages , so you are in the situation you are now.

Disable Battlestations and command your chief engineer to accelerate the repairs, you can do that 1 time every 2 hours I think. Revert this command once repairs are done, else your crew will not perform well elsewhere.

Last edited by XenonSurf; 04-16-2019 at 07:39 AM.
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 08:08 AM   #3
jason210
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden / UK
Posts: 383
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for the help. However the sub is on the surface, just immobilised with the control room flooded. What I want to know is, is there a way to use the electric engine on the surface? The starboard electric engine and the starboard propeller and shaft are all intact. Sorry for not making this clearer in my original post.
__________________
Intel Core i7 @ 2.8GHz
nVidia GeForce GTX 1060
16GB memory
Windows 7 64-bit.
jason210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 08:46 AM   #4
XenonSurf
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,016
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Try the commands 'Decks awash depth', maybe this will run with electric engines too, i don't know.
You have also manual control of the dive planes, try it out, maybe your sub is not entirely on the surface.



You can also command your engineer for better flooding managment.


If still you are stucked, I recommend you make a save/reload, this will at least make game malfunctions go away, but normally you wouldn't save game in these conditions.
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 10:19 AM   #5
bstanko6
The Old Man
 
bstanko6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Some where in the Atlantic
Posts: 1,591
Downloads: 386
Uploads: 13
Default

Decks awash will not allow electric motors...

You have TWoS 2.2.10?

Move your mouse to bottom of screen... your officer faces will appear.

Click on chief, click on the propeller icon, and all the way to the right is the E-Motor button.

Press that and you will operate the E-Motors on the surface. Good luck!
__________________

BSTANKO6'S NAVAL ACADEMY
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPbe...W2NArCA/videos
bstanko6 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 11:33 AM   #6
jason210
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden / UK
Posts: 383
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks again!

I tried the decks awash command and the ship just sank to the seabed, and got even more damaged so that's not going to work. Blowing the tanks brought it slowly back to the surface again.

I have "The Wolves of Steel 2.2_SH5 Expansion Pack_v2.2.11_Full.exe" installed. I know about the "E-Motor" button, but it's greyed out. I don't know why.
__________________
Intel Core i7 @ 2.8GHz
nVidia GeForce GTX 1060
16GB memory
Windows 7 64-bit.
jason210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 12:36 PM   #7
bstanko6
The Old Man
 
bstanko6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Some where in the Atlantic
Posts: 1,591
Downloads: 386
Uploads: 13
Default

if you have tried everything, I would say time to scuttle the boat!
__________________

BSTANKO6'S NAVAL ACADEMY
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPbe...W2NArCA/videos
bstanko6 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 03:21 PM   #8
XenonSurf
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,016
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstanko6 View Post
if you have tried everything, I would say time to scuttle the boat!

bstanko6, do you know if in TWoS there is something like ordering all men to leave the boat?



Not that I'm eager to do this, but maybe your campaign would continue with some sort of screen like "Hero Commander XY has evaded prison camp..." or similar ?
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 03:55 PM   #9
bstanko6
The Old Man
 
bstanko6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Some where in the Atlantic
Posts: 1,591
Downloads: 386
Uploads: 13
Default

I don’t think so. If there is I do not know it.

@Jason210...

Is your chief hurt?

I would not know why you cannot activate your e-motors unless the damage is soooo great you can’t use them.
__________________

BSTANKO6'S NAVAL ACADEMY
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPbe...W2NArCA/videos
bstanko6 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 04:49 PM   #10
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,154
Downloads: 541
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jason210 View Post
Using the TWoS mod.

The U-boot ran aground just outside Malmö harbour, damaging it in a way that I ought to be able to get out of but cannot. The starboard shaft and prop are ok, but the starboard engine is out. That leaves just starboard electric engine to save the sub. However, I can't run it on the surface. Is there a way out of this?

J
Just restart your campaign and be more careful next time...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim