SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Old 05-29-14, 12:53 PM   #1
Pistitom
A-ganger

Downloads: 155
Uploads: 0
Default Help absolute beginner with sub interior creation

Hey guys, since there's no ,or very little chance of a modern day submarine game SH5 style, I started wondering about creating new interiors for these awesome cold war/modern day submarine mods. Played through SH3, SH5, so want to try sg. new ( DW proved to be too much of a challenge )
So, I've never done anything related to 3D modelling nor textures, mip-map, render etc, and other alien things, so, need a little help here...with the basics, some tutorials, video, or pdf, etc...
I guess 3ds max (or sg. else ) and photoshop are necessary ?
thank You all in advance for any info, help on this.
This will be the rabbit's hole for me.
cheers
Pistitom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-14, 04:39 PM   #2
Snarf
Officer

Downloads: 22
Uploads: 10

Wings 3d is free (3d modeling), Gimp 2 (photoshop) is free also. If you have pictures of the interiors you can put the picture into wings 3d and start building all the bits to the picture, but it needs to be a direct view of what you want to build. I am building a useable in game Phalanx CIWS from scratch using said method. An interior will take a rediculous amount of time, but it certainly is doable. BTW you just have to start, immersion and youtube videos are the best way to learn this 3d software, once you start getting a feel for how the commands work it will start getting easier. The texture files are created with Wings 3d, then you add your patterns and colors to that file with Gimp. You will also need Silent 3ditor to import the model into a .dat file, and create your .sim .zon and .cam files.
Old 05-29-14, 04:52 PM   #3
Pistitom
A-ganger