SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Killerfish Games > Atlantic Fleet / Pacific Fleet
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2017, 06:44 AM   #1
CharliChoppa
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default Am I cheating?

Hello all... First post , eeek!

I'm just after some advice on a feature I've found in Atlantic Fleet and not sure if it's a bug or intended... And as the title says it feels a bit like a cheat!

Been playing the game for a week or so (bloody addicted he he!), and have really got into the dynamic campaign as Allies... I do tend to press things a lot to see what they do and I've found that on a new turn when you get a battle screen pop up showing for example I have two DDs with a huge convoy Vs five enemy subs I've found that if I click on a different region with say for example four of my DDs in then they can enter the battle rather than the original two DDs & convoy...

Does that make sense? Now obviously that can be very advantageous as you can avoid tricky confrontations where maybe you get caught off guard...

I have two theories as to why this can be done...

It's s bug...

It's intended as the original fleet disengages & the other fleet steams in to engage... Although I'm sure I did have a fleet two regions away take on a battle and that does feel unrealistic!

I have on the whole been refraining from using this tactic as it feels cheap but must admit last night when trying to get a heavily damaged Nelson back from South Atlantic for repairs and was ambushed by a Wolf Pack I did swap fleets in the battle screen to protect her...

So! Any thoughts? Bug or intended?

Cheers, Charli...

Also just to note I am on PC if that's relevant...
CharliChoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 07:40 AM   #2
Julhelm
Cold Waters Dev
 
Julhelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Icy North
Posts: 589
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 0
Default

Sounds like a bug to me.
Julhelm is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 04:55 AM   #3
Skwabie
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 12
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 1
Default

LOL I actually like this

Contact an enemy BB with subs where I stalk for 1 hour to get into position... extremely boring. Maybe not at first but 2nd and 3rd battle... enough already

But I can select another zone with a surface group and yay, got a BB duel.
Skwabie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim