SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2018, 07:43 AM   #16
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 4,566
Downloads: 245
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
It seems a pandora box you just opened

Of course community would be very grateful if you could manage to reduce mega mods loading time and probably avoid some CTD linked to them.

I’ve tried almost all the super mods present here on subsim, and the longer/heavier to load on my old gaming machine are in this order:

- GWX Rework Rus (always CTD on launching career - at least 8mn load)
- WAC5 (often CTD on loading save - almost 8mn load)
- TWOS (never CTD - around 3mn load)
- LSH (very few CTD - around 2mn load)
- GWX3 (never CTD - around 2mn load)
- NYGM (never CTD - around 1mn load)

Also get some occasional stuttering on TC with WAC5 and TWOS, very few with LSH and GWX, almost never with NYGM, but that’s an other story...

Sounds have a huge impact on loading times too. Probably N1 hit
And WAC5 has a nice sound folder...
Ahhh but Fifi, this would help ~close~ the lid on Pandora's Box...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 08:09 AM   #17
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,232
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 2


Default

Jeff you have raised one of the most important points ever here. So many years we have been following the inertia and ignoring how the snowball became ever bigger while rolling. There is no doubt the 3D part is a huge hit for our processors - having gone to much more modern PCs since 2005 has masked it but still on old game engines like SH3 becomes noticeable. Yes, shared resources in the 3D part are key to solve many problems but we have a formidable number of scattered units around, some in super mods, others in single unit mods/addons

Therefore the best way to do an optimization that works for everyone would probably be to list the units and proceed in a collaborative effort to slowly make our way through it. I guess that IABL merchant fleet mod is one of the most spread around mods, but I have no idea if he already did that optimization.
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 08:47 AM   #18
Blackswan1940
Sailor man
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 50
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
- TWOS (never CTD - around 3mn load)
Since when is WOS available for SH3?
I thought it is a mod for SH5!?!?
__________________
if my question has been answered before, i will be happy when you give me a link 150
Blackswan1940 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 09:41 AM   #19
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,662
Downloads: 376
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackswan1940 View Post
Since when is WOS available for SH3?
I thought it is a mod for SH5!?!?
Was talking about mega mods im Using on my computer
Not only SH3.
And i know Jeff is also SH5 user
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 01:13 PM   #20
ETR3(SS)
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Too far from the sea...
Posts: 2,811
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 15


Default

I started doing this in SH4 with some of the mods I released once I got a better understanding of how the game worked. One of the added unintended effects was better mod compatibility because less files were used. Case in point is the UnitParts files for all the different Conning Towers in SH4. If you only used a single CT, you could combine all the files pertaining to the CT and hull into one. So not only is removing unused nodes beneficial, but removing redundant file structure is as well.
__________________


USS Kentucky SSBN 737 (G)
Comms Div 2003-2006
Qualified 19 November 03

Yes I was really on a submarine.
ETR3(SS) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 01:20 PM   #21
ETR3(SS)
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Too far from the sea...
Posts: 2,811
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 15


Default

And on the subject of useless entries...any ideas what the dmy_soclu entries are for? Soclu translates to pedestal in Romanian and the nodes seem to be positioned along the deck.
__________________


USS Kentucky SSBN 737 (G)
Comms Div 2003-2006
Qualified 19 November 03

Yes I was really on a submarine.
ETR3(SS) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 03:18 PM   #22
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swindon, England
Posts: 10,142
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Hmmm, so in the MFM there are a few ships that are basically 3 copies of the same unit.

M**A for America
M**B for Britain
M**X for neutrals

And you're saying you only need one model to be called for in the other cases as in SH5 ?

GWX 3 plus the Schleuse mod with AOTD_Maxs units plus MFM and Von Dos's ships really stretches my load times
__________________


My mediafire page http://www.mediafire.com/?11eoq19bq9r41

Last edited by bigboywooly; 11-26-2018 at 03:36 PM.
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 03:41 PM   #23
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 2,216
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0


Default

BBW,
Take a look at the NBB_Nevada in the SH4 sea folder.
(I can send it to you if you don't have SH4)
You might recall I tested this just after SH4 came out as We were putting the BuV_Dock1 and BuV_Dock2 into GWX.
__________________
I have not failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 03:51 PM   #24
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 2,216
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETR3(SS) View Post
And on the subject of useless entries...any ideas what the dmy_soclu entries are for? Soclu translates to pedestal in Romanian and the nodes seem to be positioned along the deck.
I know on the Turms the crew is positioned on the DMY_Soclu_xxx
They may be left over from a never implemented use?
Remove them and see what happens is all I can suggest.
Or maybe assign something to one with the eqp file?
__________________
I have not failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 03:57 PM   #25
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 2,216
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
Jeff you have raised one of the most important points ever here. So many years we have been following the inertia and ignoring how the snowball became ever bigger while rolling. There is no doubt the 3D part is a huge hit for our processors - having gone to much more modern PCs since 2005 has masked it but still on old game engines like SH3 becomes noticeable. Yes, shared resources in the 3D part are key to solve many problems but we have a formidable number of scattered units around, some in super mods, others in single unit mods/addons

Therefore the best way to do an optimization that works for everyone would probably be to list the units and proceed in a collaborative effort to slowly make our way through it. I guess that IABL merchant fleet mod is one of the most spread around mods, but I have no idea if he already did that optimization.
I believe a program written to scan every dat file and remove the useless stuff would be the way to go. Then anyone could download it, run it, and carry on without the hassle of reinstalling and so forth. No MFM has not been optimized. It has 125 Units with the stuff.
__________________
I have not failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 04:08 PM   #26
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 2,216
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0


Default

For converting SH3 units to SH4? There is a program that will do all the hard work for you.
It converts the unit completely! only thing it does not do is create the AO mappings.
All dynamic shadow stuff is ripped from the file along with the 3D models,
Unifiedrender is installed, textures are converted to dds, val and other files fixed also.

So it NEARLY readies SH3 units for SH5 also!
__________________
I have not failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 04:56 PM   #27
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 2,216
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0


Default

I just scanned the complete data folder of GWX.
I found 244 files with dynamicshadow.


My scan lists the names and locations of every file found also.
I'm adding to the script to give me exact locations in each file.
From there I should be able to build up to removing things.
__________________
I have not failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 05:16 PM   #28
HanSolo78
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 1,825
Downloads: 100
Uploads: 3


Default

Your programme would do a hell of work!

If you have a look into the WAC full interior you will notice that there is also a lot to optimize.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/jlrdsd...terior.7z/file

I started with remeshing 3d meshes and reducing triangles, etc.
Also.. very time consuming... I only got 1 interior done (not published yet).
__________________
HanSolo78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 05:21 PM   #29
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 2,216
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0


Default

WAC scan of data folder shows 236 files total. So yes. Could be cut way down.
__________________
I have not failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 10:34 PM   #30
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,226
Downloads: 600
Uploads: 0
Default

Jeff, give instructions and together we can work on perspective in my opinion project WAC v5.02.
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2019 Subsim