SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2019, 12:06 PM   #1
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,653
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default What can be this graphical problem?

Hi,

All is in the title!



I get this quite often now...Any idea?
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 12:30 PM   #2
hauangua
Grey Wolf
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 780
Downloads: 1241
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
Hi,

All is in the title!



I get this quite often now...Any idea?
Great graphic problem!!
wats yor mod list Fifi?...
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 01:35 PM   #3
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,653
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default



WarAceCampaign 5.0
WarAceCampaign 5.0 Patch_5.01
WarAceCampaign 5.0 Patch_5.2_RC1
WAC5.01 H.sie Supplement to V16B1_Atlantic_Baltic_Campaign
Optimized ARB-Ahnenerbe WideGui 1920x1080 for WAC5
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 01:50 PM   #4
Niume
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 1,033
Downloads: 320
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post


WarAceCampaign 5.0
WarAceCampaign 5.0 Patch_5.01
WarAceCampaign 5.0 Patch_5.2_RC1
WAC5.01 H.sie Supplement to V16B1_Atlantic_Baltic_Campaign
Optimized ARB-Ahnenerbe WideGui 1920x1080 for WAC5



All the patches are commulative i am pretty sure(ask hansolo) so you only need one ,remove the patch 5.01. I sometimes get the graphic glitch too but only in ports. It fixes if you go to control room and again to conning tower
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 03:42 PM   #5
blackswan40
Steel Sharks Bdu
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 422
Downloads: 405
Uploads: 20


Default

I think its known as the x ray spex the world turned dayglo SH3 Bug



blackswan40 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 04:37 PM   #6
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,653
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niume View Post
All the patches are commulative i am pretty sure(ask hansolo) so you only need one ,remove the patch 5.01. I sometimes get the graphic glitch too but only in ports. It fixes if you go to control room and again to conning tower
I’ll try to remove 5.01.

What is strange is first patrol i didn’t have this at all.
Second patrol, i get this more and more.
I thought my graphic card was heating, but after control, it’s not. Temperature is normal.
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 05:52 AM   #7
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,653
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default

Ok, 5.1 is not needed for game.
Works fine with 5.0 and 5.2 on top.

But my weird graphical glitch is still there, and every time now...
To avoid it, I have to transit by control room each time i want to go to deck view

Tried plenty different settings, even everything on low, even without WAC crew folder...no joy.
Driving me mad, i deleted everything, and will be back on GWX.
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 10:47 AM   #8
ericlea
Weps
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Strasbourg F
Posts: 351
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 0
radar

Fifi,

You are trying a wac5.2 test version. It is not the definitiv wac5.2 patch...
Testing need time, patience and persistence. :-)
And this video problem (beautiful Rio carnival crew lol) can perhaps come from your personnal nvidia settings too.

In WAC5, there are so many interesting things and great stuff besides that in GWX3, that it is a shame to give up :-)

Last edited by ericlea; 01-13-2019 at 11:01 AM.
ericlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 11:20 AM   #9
nik112
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 387
Downloads: 269
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi all
i had this glitch before 5.02 was out. I think that is a video card issue-or video card settings


cheers
nik112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 11:55 AM   #10
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,653
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default

Guys, it can’t be a video card problem.
I reinstalled GWX fully modded, it’s running very fine without any visual issue nor CTDs with exact same video settings.
I have this issue only with WAC, and i’m Sorry for that.
It could be a memory issue though...but my GWX is quite heavy too !

I think i will wait for official 5.2 release. Maybe all my problems would be solved...
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...

Last edited by Fifi; 01-13-2019 at 12:48 PM.
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 07:26 PM   #11
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,540
Downloads: 699
Uploads: 10


Default

I think it is a know incompatibility issue between the buggy SHIII shadows (disabled by default with patch 1.4b) and normal maps used on crew models.
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 02:26 AM   #12
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,653
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
I think it is a know incompatibility issue between the buggy SHIII shadows (disabled by default with patch 1.4b) and normal maps used on crew models.
And can i do something to solve it?
Could it be also related to volumetric clouds WAC have?
It could be linked to an external environment (always on deck but never other place) that my GC doesn’t like...

The strange thing is it didn’t affect the game at first, but sometime later on second or third patrol, not that often at start but suddenly more and more to the point at each time i go on deck
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 07:34 AM   #13
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,540
Downloads: 699
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
And can i do something to solve it?
Could it be also related to volumetric clouds WAC have?
It could be linked to an external environment (always on deck but never other place) that my GC doesn’t like...
You should ask Hans, but provided that my guess is correct, I am afraid that the one solution would be disabling the dynamic shadows (as in unmodded SHIII v1.4b). Try reading this thread:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...350#post135350

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
The strange thing is it didn’t affect the game at first, but sometime later on second or third patrol, not that often at start but suddenly more and more to the point at each time i go on deck
That's odd indeed. Might it be because of a weather/season change from your first patrol?
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 12:45 PM   #14
Fifi
Ocean Warrior
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,653
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default

Incredible...

My computer has 2 drives, one SSD and one traditional mechanic.
I made a full reinstall this time not on the SSD but on the other one, and result is good!!!
(Exact same installation, same mods order)

So far no graphical issue, and i even have splendid sun back!!
I had the golf ball sun on the SSD with the same settings

I am definitely a computer’s mysteries subscriber and don’t understand lot of strange thing happening sometime...

Anyway i keep my fingers crossed, and see if everything keeps going well along the patrols coming
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 02:27 PM   #15
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,540
Downloads: 699
Uploads: 10


Default

Whatever the problem was, I am glad that now it is gone
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim