SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Old 03-04-18, 09:06 PM   #1
4Shades
Swabbie

Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default Is there a way to extract mission results to a file?

Hello everybody.

I am new to SHIV and I am doing a survey of its functions with a view to integrating SHIV with several other titles to form a combined operations WW2 campaign system (already working with IL2 1946 and Arma 2/Iron Front). If that concept interests you, you can find a little more about it at http://seowhq.net/seowwiki-en/index....s_meta-SEOW%3F

Be that as it may, my present question is this. Is it possible to use scripting or some other means to extract SHIV (or SH5) mission data (objects, locations, damage states) into a readable text file, e.g. at the end of a mission or save time? I see the game produces binary save files (yuk).

I have looked at Kim Ronhof's SH4Report tool which looks fabulous and easy to use, but there is no documentation of the methods he employed, just the .exe file. I would like to be able to extract the mission data myself somehow if I can - this helps with the integration stage.

Any tips or pointers would be helpful to me!

Cheers,
4Shades
4Shades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-18, 09:27 PM   #2
cdrsubron7
Sink'em All

Downloads: 305
Uploads: 1

Welcome to Subsim, 4Shades. Happy to have you with us.

Head Deep and Keep'em Astern" - LtCDR Samuel D Dealy
SHIV Guide | Imperial Japanese Navy | US Submarines

cdrsubron7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-18, 10:58 AM   #3
aanker
Pacific Thunder

Downloads: 236
Uploads: 14

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Shades View Post